Pooja, havan to pray that Ramalinga Raju comes out of the episode unscathed

12puja.jpg Some ardent followers of B Ramalinga Raju and some employees of Maytas are invoking the Almighty to come to the aid of the beleaguered IT strongman. These fans conducted a prayer and havan service to help the disgraced former chairman of Satyam Computer Services obtain bail. The prayers are being held so that Raju comes out of this entire episode unscathed. Image: Priests performing a havan in Hyderabad to help Satyam's founder Ramalinga Raju get bail.

I seriously doubt all these Maytas Infrastructure dealings with Andhra government. But given the Central and State both being ruled by Kaangress, CBI, IB, NSA chiefs appointed by the will, for the service of Sonia, who will investigate this Maytas shady dealings with Andhra government while awarding public works contracts?? Chief Minister YSR is a born again Christian stooge of Sonia, so forget neutral investigation, even Burkhaa Dutts of Padmashree Indian media will think thrice before debating Maytas Infra and AP government links.

Raju commits fraud leads to pooja Terrorist gets death sentence Suzanne roy has conniptions Ganguly is not selected.. Bengal burns effigies and protests soldier dies fighting terrorists in Kashmir..... who cares??? Mera bharat mahaan!!!

:two_thumbs_up:

Raju or no Raju state is pumping 2000 crore rupee in satyam and next thign they need to do is rope in Narayan Murthy as CEO .. This will restore credibility these bureaucrats as board member doesn't serve any purpose viz a viz credibility. Mind you Satyam was still making profit unlike enron . Raju inflated that profit in bopopks but it was profit for sure

If anything, the people who need these Pujas and Havans are the investors and employees Satyam. Whatever his crime be, Ramalinga Raju and his other cohorts in this fiasco will come out due to a combination of money power, political influence, or the loop-holes in the political system and will continue to live a comfortable life with all the crores of Benami assests that they have hoarded. I am more worried about that 27-year old, just married software developer from Satyam, who just bought a new house and a car on an expensive mortgage and is wondering how he is going repay them back if he loses his job, or that retired 60 year old ex-bank employee who spent valuable retirement savings to buy stocks in the Satyam, stocks that are worth next to nothing right now.

^ same as investors in US, fraud, subprime lending, poor corporate governance, indiscriminate focus on just short term quarterly results, etc etc have screwed investors and employees in US too. the same job market and housing fears have gripped US. In US too - like Ramalinga Raju - CEOs from Merrill, and Washington Mutual and AIG walked with hefty salaries and payments. Its always the average investor and lower level employee left holding the bag.

If anything, the people who need these Pujas and Havans are the investors and employees Satyam. Whatever his crime be, Ramalinga Raju and his other cohorts in this fiasco will come out due to a combination of money power, political influence, or the loop-holes in the political system and will continue to live a comfortable life with all the crores of Benami assests that they have hoarded. I am more worried about that 27-year old, just married software developer from Satyam, who just bought a new house and a car on an expensive mortgage and is wondering how he is going repay them back if he loses his job, or that retired 60 year old ex-bank employee who spent valuable retirement savings to buy stocks in the Satyam, stocks that are worth next to nothing right now.
Tis gentleman is screwed unless he has a son who works abroad.. Youngman of 27 will pick himself up since govt has pumped rs in the comnpany and it will surely survive
There are just too many software jobs in India. Too many clone companies popping up everyday.

Its actually shocking to think Corporate CEOs can mismanage their way to multi-billion dollar bonuses, implement one flawed business policy after another, yet keep collecting these monstrous pay-checks and when the fan hits the roof, can just stand up and simply walk away. These gentleman adversely impacted the livelihoods of millions of families by their failed policies and must tried in the Courts for criminal negligence.

There are just too many software jobs in India. Too many clone companies popping up everyday.
And whats wrong with that? The supply will go where the demand is.
Nothing wrong' date=' but is it really sustainable in the long run?[/quote'] Maybe, maybe not. But if you want to take an educated guess, the demand for well-written software will only increase in the coming years, as more and more people in the developing world are lifted out of poverty and have access to sophisticated services. But one shouldnt forget that, fundamentally, well-written software will NEVER lose its demand. There is always the next best application to build, or a need to make the current application better.
And whats wrong with that? The supply will go where the demand is.
I wish it was as simple as that. In my opinion Indian IT companies are creating a huge problem for IT in general. I can tell you from personal experience that the quality of IT professionals in India is falling alarmingly. You can look around and see how it went down the tube after 2001 or so. That doesnt mean everyone from 2001 or earlier is an ace but pound for pound that is true. Two things are responsible for this. A) Since 2001, or thereabouts, Indian IT boomed thans to projects that started coming in due to Y2K success, not to mention improvements in networking and communications. Suddenly there was a need for people. When I joined TCS they only went to IITs, RECs and top state colleges. In 2001, the year when I left, I was given a team of 20 odd students straight out from a donation college from Belgaum. The number of engineers coming out of AP probably went from 5000 to 100,000 in less than 5 years. The bulk of these are cr@p. B) The softwares made tremendous improvements. So in Oracle 7 you had to be really good at DBMS to be a Database Administrator. Most of the DBAs were with years of experience and strong as nail. With each passing year softwares added stuff. Today I have seen people with 2 year experience, who have no freaking clue of the difference between bitmap and b-tree indexes, being DBAs. Naturally they are screwing things. So no I am not comfortable with companies popping everywhere. They may be getting people jobs, which is always a good thing, but it is adversly affecting IT as a whole. xxx
Its actually shocking to think Corporate CEOs can mismanage their way to multi-billion dollar bonuses, implement one flawed business policy after another, yet keep collecting these monstrous pay-checks and when the fan hits the roof, can just stand up and simply walk away. These gentleman adversely impacted the livelihoods of millions of families by their failed policies and must tried in the Courts for criminal negligence. And whats wrong with that? The supply will go where the demand is.
Arre bhai I am saying that he will find another job, so don't worry about him. :two_thumbs_up:
I wish it was as simple as that. In my opinion Indian IT companies are creating a huge problem for IT in general. I can tell you from personal experience that the quality of IT professionals in India is falling alarmingly. You can look around and see how it went down the tube after 2001 or so. That doesnt mean everyone from 2001 or earlier is an ace but pound for pound that is true. Two things are responsible for this. A) Since 2001, or thereabouts, Indian IT boomed thans to projects that started coming in due to Y2K success, not to mention improvements in networking and communications. Suddenly there was a need for people. When I joined TCS they only went to IITs, RECs and top state colleges. In 2001, the year when I left, I was given a team of 20 odd students straight out from a donation college from Belgaum. The number of engineers coming out of AP probably went from 5000 to 100,000 in less than 5 years. The bulk of these are cr@p. B) The softwares made tremendous improvements. So in Oracle 7 you had to be really good at DBMS to be a Database Administrator. Most of the DBAs were with years of experience and strong as nail. With each passing year softwares added stuff. Today I have seen people with 2 year experience, who have no freaking clue of the difference between bitmap and b-tree indexes, being DBAs. Naturally they are screwing things. So no I am not comfortable with companies popping everywhere. They may be getting people jobs, which is always a good thing, but it is adversly affecting IT as a whole. xxx
You're talking about the quality of the IT professionals that come out of Indian colleges and thats a different issue altogether. We can truly have a separate debate for that. But I cant possibly imagine how we could make a blanket statement like 'Indian IT companies are creating a problem for IT in general'. Clearly, if the Indian IT companies were that bad, they would have never been in business for so long. Sure, the lack of competition and cheap labor may have helped them, but in a global playing field, its free-market dynamics at work. No one is preventing a company from Vietnam from writing better software. No one stopping a East-European nation to have successful IT companies. The fact of the matter is, they dont and we do, full stop. But, if the demand for s/w is what we're talking about, then it is bound to be there in the near to long term future for sure.
Arre bhai I am saying that he will find another job, so don't worry about him. :two_thumbs_up:
Ohk..:giggle: P.S; That may not be that simple though. Infosys has just announced that it will not engage in large-scale poaching of IT professionals who may want to leave Satyam and join Infy, as a 'sign of support for Satyam in these troubled times'.
You're talking about the quality of the IT professionals that come out of Indian colleges and thats a different issue altogether. We can truly have a separate debate for that. But I cant possibly imagine how we could make a blanket statement like 'Indian IT companies are creating a problem for IT in general'. Clearly' date= if the Indian IT companies were that bad, they would have never been in business for so long. Sure, the lack of competition and cheap labor may have helped them, but in a global playing field, its free-market dynamics at work. No one is preventing a company from Vietnam from writing better software. No one stopping a East-European nation to have successful IT companies. The fact of the matter is, they dont and we do, full stop.
Thats a very fair question and yes we should be asking that question. The sign of a mature country, or organization for that matter, is that it questions itself without being insecure about the same. Coming to market at work. India enjoys certain benefits that other countries dont. We have a large, and young, employable crowd. This is important in IT where technologies are changing every day. I work in a company where the average age is 45 or thereabouts and everyone is frustrated because oldies dont want to learn, nor can I blame them really. An average Indian IT guy is much younger and hence you can see Indian IT person switch around with ease. India also enjoys a large market. Which means while a Vietnamese company can be extremely good there is little chance that 4 of them would be world class. On the other hand India with its sheer size enjoys those benefits. Then there is a matter of language(English) etc etc. I am not dismissing India's success in IT, I just want to raise some of these questions. xxx

I agree with many of the points Lurker has raised. To MM's question - then why not other countries? Its happening. Today the same companies that just went to Indian programmers by default, are turning towards Eastern Europe, Southeast Asian countries etc. (not to forget that big dragon - china) The shift has started. India will face global competition from intelligent engineers around the globe, who are also willing to work at lower salary than folks in India. English is not as big a barrier anymore, these other folks learn English too. Time for India to do more quality work and move up the value chain in IT to survive.