goose Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 The film Slumdog Millionaire stars Amitabh Bachchan playing himself, and also stars Anil Kapoor playing the host of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire ? Coincidentally, Amitabh happens to be the real life anchor of the quiz show and for most Indians remains the true godfather of Bollywood. Which brings me to the question. Name the film in which Amitabh Bachchan plays Anil Kapoor's father?
goose Posted January 23, 2009 Author Posted January 23, 2009 I was just about to say...not Armaan. Of course you are right but i want the other one.
Kartikey Posted January 23, 2009 Posted January 23, 2009 Here's a question for u guys: In which film did we see Aamir Khan in a Special Appearance before Luck BY Chance? Answer is not his roles as a Child Artist.
goose Posted January 23, 2009 Author Posted January 23, 2009 and carrying on from Shakti... this film starred Dilp Kumar, Anil Kapoor, and Amrish Puri. name the other film starring the above three.
goose Posted January 23, 2009 Author Posted January 23, 2009 Damn you might be right about Karma - i was thinking Mashaal. Concentrating on Shakti for a moment, this film gets me everytime. You know Amithabh is right, would Shakti get an Oscar? does it matter? if a billion Indians love a film who gives a fark about anyone else? it's not just our films that are special, our audiences are too. Give me the emotion and acting of Shakti over Slumdog Millionaire any day. Just check this cast... Amitabh Bachchan Dilip Kumar Smita Patil Amrish Puri Khulbushan Kharbanda Rakhee Satish Shah Anil Kapoor. And THAT scene at the end. Anyone seen DeNiro and Pacino in Heat? Enough said...
Lurker Posted January 24, 2009 Posted January 24, 2009 Concentrating on Shakti for a moment, this film gets me everytime. You know Amithabh is right, would Shakti get an Oscar? does it matter? if a billion Indians love a film who gives a fark about anyone else? it's not just our films that are special, our audiences are too. I think you are being harsh on SM. Concentrating on Shakti, it is one of the classics of course. It wont be counted amongst the top 25 Hindi movie of all times but is as good as any of those. In my opinion the stature of Shakti amongst Hindi movies is very much akin to its lyricist Anand Bakshi saab, someone who has given more hits and is the most easy on ears lyricist but someone who would never be considered alongside Gulzar, Majrooh, Shakeel. Sample this beautiful song. Pipal Ka Yeh Patta Nahin Kagaj Ka Yeh Tukda Nahin Is Dil Ka Yeh Arman Hai Isme Hamari Jaan Hai Aisa Gazab Ho Jaye Na Raste Main Yeh Kho Jaye Na Humne Badi Taqid Ki Daala Ise Jab Daank Main Yeh Daankh Babu Se Kahan Humne Sanam Ko Humne Sanam Ko Khat Likha Khat Main Likha gB3UGojCbMA On a very different, and yet related note, Shakti is the movie that triggered the entry of Underworld in Hindi cinema in some ways. After its stellar cast was announced the Pathan Gang(an affiliate of Karim Lala) kidnapped the producer Mushil Riaz. The gang was locked in a bitter battle with Dawood Ibrahim back then. Depending on whose version you listen to anything from 2 lacks to 50 lacks were paid(either of those amount was huge back then). xxx
The Outsider Posted January 24, 2009 Posted January 24, 2009 There was no Amrish Puri in Karma - it was Dang aka Anupam Kher.
The Outsider Posted January 24, 2009 Posted January 24, 2009 Kartikey, my guess to your question would be an obscure movie by Ketan Mehta, named Holi.
Sachin_Rulez Posted January 24, 2009 Posted January 24, 2009 ^^^^Do u know my Aamir Khan question? Damini?
goose Posted January 24, 2009 Author Posted January 24, 2009 I'm not having a go at Slumdog Millionaire - and don't think Big B was either. It's a shame it's been portrayed that away. I think Amitabh Bachchan merely chose this moment to remind the world Indian cinema didn't 'arrive' with SDM - it was flourishing long before. International exposure and recognition is not a prerequesite for quality cinema. There is so much to admire in Shakti. Compared to films like Deewar, Muqadder ka Sikander, and Sholay, it lacks that blockbuster glam dimension, and that's why i love it. No slapstick comedy, just layer upon layer of human struggle. Rakhee was outstanding in Shakti, reminded me of my mum.
Kartikey Posted January 24, 2009 Posted January 24, 2009 The Big B never had a go, he just posted a comment from one of his readers to start a debate and the media which licks anything made by a gora got on his back.
Lurker Posted January 24, 2009 Posted January 24, 2009 I'm not having a go at Slumdog Millionaire - and don't think Big B was either. It's a shame it's been portrayed that away. I think Amitabh Bachchan merely chose this moment to remind the world Indian cinema didn't 'arrive' with SDM - it was flourishing long before. International exposure and recognition is not a prerequesite for quality cinema. I am not sure if any half-sane Indian movie fan has claimed as SM as a sign that Indian movie industry has arrived. As far as I am concerned the Indian movie industry has been progressively regressing and nowhere is this more evident than the music of the movies. I do have a feeling that in recent years this trend has been bucked and we have started to see some good movies(although music still isnt a patch on the past). About SM, it is a beautiful movie and should be treated way. As far as the comparisons with Oscar winning movie goes, I can speak from xperience that the movies nominated from India are often cr@ps. I mean I have been following Oscars off and on for 15 years and I cant remember once where I felt Indian industry was shunned even though we had the best entry. From my memory these movies have been nominated and I dont see why they should have won - Hey Ram, Lagaan, Devdas, Indian and the best of them all Jeans :hysterical::hysterical: There is so much to admire in Shakti. Compared to films like Deewar, Muqadder ka Sikander, and Sholay, it lacks that blockbuster glam dimension, and that's why i love it. No slapstick comedy, just layer upon layer of human struggle. Rakhee was outstanding in Shakti, reminded me of my mum. Shakti is very quintessential Indian. You have answered your own point about why Shakti wasnt recognized Internationally. It is very hard for a non-Indian to understand the struggle, as you very eloquently mentioned. Even a Tamilian will find it hard to appreciate the movie if all he has to go by is the subtitles. This may also be the reason why SM scored the world over, and India, because it doesnt really require a language to transcend itself. Its just the nature of the content. xxx