veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 These days I am looking for a bride for my younger brother soon to be Dy. S. P. . My father since can't handle the alliance offer from shady characters like politicians so he has passed the baton to me. Polticians are thugs in general most corrupt that is well accepted truth. I don't get dazzled when they out of turn without being solicited send offer of ungodly sum in name of dowry on the right side of 1 crore. What makes me sick is your usual govt employee S.P , DM even Engineers and Doctors coming up with similar kind of offer. Even bank employee quotes 30-40 lakhs. Where do they get these sort of money from even after working here in canda after all these years I never had and most propbably will never have that kind of money. BTW in most of the cases I have noticed these parents are trying to compensate for their good for nothing daughters. Good thing is I am not personally accessible so can't be put under undue pressure through those socalled respected ( read equally corrupt people with connections) individuals of society. I have come to the conclusion that we are bloody corrupt people to the core and our politicians are mere reflection of what we are in general.
cochise Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Is this dowry stuff still going on? You should stipulate...no dowry. As for corruption...I think it is endemic and systemic (almost a parallel economy). But there is petty corruption by the lower levels of society in order to make ends meet due to inadequate remuneration in their normal jobs...and then there is corruption of a much more serious nature. It exists in the West too...on a larger, higher and more subtle level. Check out the financial crisis we are in now for example...waddya reckon...any corruption involved there?
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 Is this dowry stuff still going on? You should stipulate...no dowry. As for corruption...I think it is endemic and systemic (almost a parallel economy). But there is petty corruption by the lower levels of society in order to make ends meet due to inadequate remuneration in their normal jobs...and then there is corruption of a much more serious nature. It exists in the West too...on a larger, higher and more subtle level. Check out the financial crisis we are in now for example...waddya reckon...any corruption involved there? Nobody asks them.. these guys keep offering these unsolicited..
cochise Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Ya, I gathered that...but that's why you should stipulate categorically...no dowry...then you "probably" won't get these kind of offers.
Lurker Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Yeh sab Ganga paar ki mahima hai :haha: Mahatma Gandhi Setu ke dakhin (Patna, Gaya, Jehanabad) mein rishta talaash karo. Stop looking at Purnea, Madhepura, Saharsa belt. Kidding of course, hamare taraf its the same story. Although I have to say Bihar is not as bad as many other states in dowry. Still that doesnt make it any better obviously.
The Outsider Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 It is naive to assume that only politicians would be corrupt - how is that possible? If there are kickbacks and bribes involved on any project, it is but natural that there will be a trickle down effect of some sort. But it's not only the corruption - which of course is rampant - it is the complete lack of remorse shown by anyone for anything. I am yet to see a single instance where someone has had a guilt pang after or before he has been caught and has confessed to a crime in India - be it corruption/bribery or murder/assault etc. People get caught in the US and Europe as well, but there are many incidents where the perpetrator confesses and apologizes. I have not seen anyone in India doing it. Perhaps it's because of a lower moral standard or maybe because of our ineffectual judicial system where everyone knows that nothing is going to happen for the next 20-25 years at least and the advantage gained by lying far outweighs the advantage of coming out and possibly receiving a lighter sentence by confessing.
cochise Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 But Shwetabh, In the West, remorse can be seen as a mitigating factor in sentencing too...so it may not always be sincere. Whereas remorse in India may be felt and not shown, because it is tacit acknowledgement of the crime. Strange, but the system seems to breed it in both instances. As for shame,guilt and stigma as induced by society, I think India would probably figure far ahead of the West, once gulit is proved...or does it?
The Outsider Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Yeah, I agree cochise, hence the last sentence of my post, Perhaps it's because of a lower moral standard or maybe because of our ineffectual judicial system where everyone knows that nothing is going to happen for the next 20-25 years at least and the advantage gained by lying far outweighs the advantage of coming out and possibly receiving a lighter sentence by confessing. The judicial system in India is so screwed up that there is nothing to be gained by confessing and everything to be achieved by denying - let's say you are charged at the age of 40 and by the time you are actually and finally convicted after all the appeals, you are 65. You have already lived the best years of your life outside prison and even then the sentence you will receive will be lowered because of your age. It's a bit like Manmohan Desai movies where the villian lives his best years dining, wining, and whoring around for the hero to kill him 25 years later to avenge a wrong and the audience applaud. It will make for an interesting Sociological study and I am sure there are at least a few out there, but I don't know of any.
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 Yeh sab Ganga paar ki mahima hai :haha: Mahatma Gandhi Setu ke dakhin (Patna, Gaya, Jehanabad) mein rishta talaash karo. Stop looking at Purnea, Madhepura, Saharsa belt. Kidding of course, hamare taraf its the same story. Although I have to say Bihar is not as bad as many other states in dowry. Still that doesnt make it any better obviously. yeah andhra is worse but we are not much better either.. Dude no-dowry banner is pasted through my marriage people around know this yet those who have money will throw money to make up for their good-for-nothign daughter even otherwise some of the girls are quite good but their parents behaviour particualrlry this money flaunting puts you off.. Talking of ganga paar my sister-in-law got married ganga paar dthe kind of tamasha that happened for dowry despite my brother-in-law putitng his foot down with no-dowry banner.. man the emotional blackmail by his parents were a sight to be hold.. BTW we have a very good offer from Siwan.. everyone else vetoed just because Siwan is considered latth-maar place.. Looking for someone who talks as gently as we Mithilabasi :-) Gaya mein rishta sala barat ko hi loot lega MCC wala sab
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 It is naive to assume that only politicians would be corrupt - how is that possible? If there are kickbacks and bribes involved on any project, it is but natural that there will be a trickle down effect of some sort. But it's not only the corruption - which of course is rampant - it is the complete lack of remorse shown by anyone for anything. I am yet to see a single instance where someone has had a guilt pang after or before he has been caught and has confessed to a crime in India - be it corruption/bribery or murder/assault etc. People get caught in the US and Europe as well, but there are many incidents where the perpetrator confesses and apologizes. I have not seen anyone in India doing it. Perhaps it's because of a lower moral standard or maybe because of our ineffectual judicial system where everyone knows that nothing is going to happen for the next 20-25 years at least and the advantage gained by lying far outweighs the advantage of coming out and possibly receiving a lighter sentence by confessing. So true I still remmeber that match fixing episode Cronje and Azhar both were involved.. Cronje at least had epiphany and accept his guilt.. till today azhar mian is shoouting he was targeted because he is minority and he did nothing wrong..
cochise Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Dude no-dowry banner is pasted through my marriage people around know this yet those who have money will throw money to make up for their good-for-nothign daughter even otherwise some of the girls are quite good but their parents behaviour particualrlry this money flaunting puts you off Oh, I see...there is no detering them. Pity, as you say, their daughters may be good but their actions spoil it for them...still, I suppose it's also a good way to find out what kind of people you are dealing with straight off the bat rather than down the line....this gives you immediate insight.
cochise Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Cronje at least had epiphany and accept his guilt.. till today azhar mian is shoouting he was targeted because he is minority and he did nothing wrong.. You mean that infamous episode where Cronje re-coined those evergreen words "The devil made me do it"? That is a form of a cop out too... And Mark Waugh and Shane Warne accidentally giving pitch info to bookies etc...they are alll quite the same...
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 Yeah, I agree cochise, hence the last sentence of my post, The judicial system in India is so screwed up that there is nothing to be gained by confessing and everything to be achieved by denying - let's say you are charged at the age of 40 and by the time you are actually and finally convicted after all the appeals, you are 65. You have already lived the best years of your life outside prison and even then the sentence you will receive will be lowered because of your age. It's a bit like Manmohan Desai movies where the villian lives his best years dining, wining, and whoring around for the hero to kill him 25 years later to avenge a wrong and the audience applaud. It will make for an interesting Sociological study and I am sure there are at least a few out there, but I don't know of any. I disagree if you accept the guilt court does factor in that remorse in awarding the punishment.. so there is reward of admision fo guilt . ..... I still remember when I confornted a guy indulged in cheating in exam his reply was see you don't need to cheat that's why you are speaking against it..
The Outsider Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 I disagree if you accept the guilt court does factor in that remorse in awarding the punishment.. so there is reward of admision fo guilt . ..... I still remember when I confornted a guy indulged in cheating in exam his reply was see you don't need to cheat that's why you are speaking against it.. Yeah...there is a lower punishment if you accept guilt, but by not accepting you have much more to gain in the Indian judicial system. Say, you are given a choice between : 1. 3 years in prison right now at the age of 35. 2. An unlikely 5 years in prison at the age of 60. Most people will obviously go for the second choice.
Gambit Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Is your brother a UPSC selection or a BPSC one? If the former, Bihar cadre mila kya? :winky:
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 Yeah...there is a lower punishment if you accept guilt, but by not accepting you have much more to gain in the Indian judicial system. Say, you are given a choice between : 1. 3 years in prison right now at the age of 35. 2. An unlikely 5 years in prison at the age of 60. Most people will obviously go for the second choice. This Justice delayed is a huge issue.. Was just on phone with my mother she mentioned how my problematic parosi's wife was summoned to court and where she denied the charge.. I asked where was the witness from oour side my mother said they will be called on next hearing. When i asked when is th next hearing sh claims it has not bene fixed yet.. most probably next 5-6 months.. You wonder why the hell they do not summon all party one day and get it over with..
cochise Posted April 8, 2009 Posted April 8, 2009 Is your brother a UPSC selection or a BPSC one? If the former' date=' Bihar cadre mila kya? :winky:[/quote'] Wat dis? Me no understand.
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 Is your brother a UPSC selection or a BPSC one? If the former' date=' Bihar cadre mila kya? :winky:[/quote'] UPSC wale sidhe ASP banate hain Dy S P ka matlab hi hai state commission Bihar bhi nahin hai yaar doosara state hai himachal most probably he will end up not joining this job unless he gets into BPSC.. bihar wale ka hai sala phir se stay kar diya exam result...Meri samajh mein nahin aata why we can't hold an exam without question paper leaking out or in this case two question papers with same set of questions.. I was apalled to find out that this time they screwed up the questions and two different set of paper on two different centres had at least 20 questions which were not matching.... UPSC ki koi surity nahin hai ..GC ke liye ye mount everest ho gaya hai..
veeru_rocks Posted April 8, 2009 Author Posted April 8, 2009 Wat dis? Me no understand. UPSC = Union Public Service Commission BPSC= Bihar Public Service Commission