Brainfade Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Now, let's add another question to this debate - do we really *need* a national language? What does it do to strengthen us? How does it help bring us together? And if we do have one, how do we get our entire populace to embrace it with pride (and not derision)?
fineleg Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Now' date=' let's add another question to this debate - do we really *need* a national language? What does it do to strengthen us? How does it help bring us together? And if we do have one, how do we get our entire populace to embrace it with pride (and not derision)?[/quote'] Like ViruRulez said - English should be taught in schools. It is the international language and more useful in today's world. Having one national language like Hindi won't work in India.
riya Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 As far as i know Hindi is our national language.i l learned it in school and in college upto degree as second langauge.I love hindi too.It is a wonderful language.
veeru_rocks Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Nope totally disagree. Poetry is lot deeper a subject than merely communication. Every Indian, well most Indians, who love ghazals will have spend more than a few evenings just listening to Jagjit Singh and soaking away their ghum. That is not communication mate. Communication is buying goldaari from mohalle ki dukaan. Tum aise hi hawa diye jaa rahe ho :finger: You have very parochail concept of communication to me even shayari is communication.. Anyway meri baat aur hai main to aajkal persin poetry parh riya hun roman script mein.. I asked my colleague from iran the same guy who eats pork despite being muslim about Hafes Shirazi's popularity in Iran. His words verbatim were " Well his books are more popular than Quraan. Every household owns one they may or may not own Quraan." Poetry remains a form of communication in some way it transcends even language barrier. Anyway enjoy this couplet.. Man tarke ishq baaz-o-saaghar nami kunam Sad baar tauba kardam-o-deegar nami kunam ( I tried to forsake my passion for love and wine. I tediously swore 100 times to give them up. But enough is enough , I am not trying any more.)
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 You have very parochail concept of communication to me even shayari is communication.. Bahut hi rookhe insaan ho bhai tum. No wonder you are a technologist :((:(( Coming to Persian poetry now. Persian does encompass a lot of wonderful literature genius as such. I think this may be a reason why Iranians are generally more open in matters of religion. The more open your language would be the more the open the thoughts would be. Khair thats another discussion for another time.
triam Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Great Post Lurker Miyaan - so in fact Hindi IS a democratic choice !! There are some things you cant force on the minorities just cos the majority finds it ok. For example if the majority of Indians agree on female infanticide would you say it IS the democratic choice and go ahead with it? I know the analogy is OTT but I am just giving an example.
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 There are some things you cant force on the minorities just cos the majority finds it ok. For example if the majority of Indians agree on female infanticide would you say it IS the democratic choice and go ahead with it? I know the analogy is OTT but I am just giving an example. It is not the case of forcing at all. It is the case of looking at an issue in a logical manner. One of the oft mentioned argument is "English is an International language and we need to encourage it". Oh yeah? So why was English being encouraged in 60s and 70s when Indian economy was totally insular?? Easy answer is because Indians, or specifically South Indians, had the paranoia about another Indian language (Hindi) but were totally comfortable in imposing an otherwise foreign language (English). Personally I find it appalling that bulk of Indians would much rather spend their entire life completely oblivious to how the majority of their fellow countrymen converse, and instead choose to learn a language to communicate Internationally! :giggle:
ViruRulez Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 No. Tiger is our national animal but that doesnt mean everyone should keep a tiger as a pet.. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Now' date=' let's add another question to this debate -[b'] do we really *need* a national language? What does it do to strengthen us? How does it help bring us together? And if we do have one, how do we get our entire populace to embrace it with pride (and not derision)? Common language, whether you call it National or otherwise, leads to its own benefits. As an IT folk I can tell you Indian software guys would love to take a project in US/UK/Australia but totally balk at taking a French, Japanese, German assignment. The key reason of course is language. Now expand that argument all over a country and see the benefits. From a personal experience, once again, many of the South Indians that ended up at my REC came simply because they did not have a better choice. The ones with better rank took Trichi and Calicut etc. Purely from intellactual perspective every institute should attract the best of talents and not worse obviously. And I have not even brought up the whole communication issue yet.
ViruRulez Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 As I said in a previous post too, the best thing all Indian govt and state govts. should do is to teach English as the primary language in schools and then teach Hindi or local language as the second language Because either you accept it or deny it English is the language used by most educated Indians and it is the only common language in India. So, it should be made the primary language in schools so that almost all Indians know it better including village guys. Anyways English is much easier in writing than most regional languages :hatsoff:
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 As I said in a previous post too, the best thing all Indian govt and state govts. should do is to teach English as the primary language in schools and then teach Hindi or local language as the second language Because either you accept it or deny it English is the language used by most educated Indians and it is the only common language in India. So, it should be made the primary language in schools so that almost all Indians know it better including village guys. Anyways English is much easier in writing than most regional languages :hatsoff: Reminds me of a fantastic article by Deepankar Gupta the other day whereby he mentioned how IT/ITES service industry comprises of less than 2 million folks in India and still the folks in this industry choose to see the entire nation from that gamut only. English used by most educated Indians?? Thats hilarious. I suggest you compare the number of state run schools in Hindi states(forget non-Hindi states). That will be like 750 times more the number of English missionary schools in the nation. Unless of course you think students coming out of state run schools/colleges are illiterate :winky:
triam Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Why are South Indians so insecure about the unique status Hindi enjoys in India as one of two official languages with the long term constitutional goal of being the only one. I would like to attempt a logical answer to this question. The roots can be traced to the whole aryan/dravidian divide, even after the whole aryan invasion theory has been cast with a big question mark, this kind of thinking exists at a subconscious level among many of us. The north indians feel superior towards the south indians due to their fairer complexion and better physiques, in turn south indians turn over zealous and protect their identity and culture and do notwant any assimilation with the north indian culture.
veeru_rocks Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 It pains me to say that I agree with Lurker mian's above post.. Could not you find some other bloke for quotation though.. Even gurumurthy talks exactly thesame langauge perhaps more vociferously why not quote Gurumurthy than this communist ideologue Dipakar Gupta Or you could have quoted this guy http://blog.anent.in/2008/06/global-imbalance-by-mr-venkatesh.html
suraj Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 I would like to attempt a logical answer to this question. The roots can be traced to the whole aryan/dravidian divide' date=' even after the whole aryan invasion theory has been cast with a big question mark, this kind of thinking exists at a subconscious level among many of us. [b']The north indians feel superior towards the south indians due to their fairer complexion and better physiques, in turn south indians turn over zealous and protect their identity and culture and do notwant any assimilation with the north indian culture. As a North Indian I feel inferior to many South Indians (almost every North Indian is inferior to Kamal Hasan, Narayan Moorthy & AR Rehman IMO), at par with some & only superior to a few (e.g. Rajnikanth & Silk Smitha:--D) I wud also love to be assimilated with Aishwarya Rai but its the UP bhaiya & not Southies who are stopping me from doing so:((
triam Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 As a North Indian I feel inferior to many South Indians (almost every North Indian is inferior to Kamal Hasan, Narayan Moorthy & AR Rehman IMO), at par with some & only superior to a few (e.g. Rajnikanth & Silk Smitha:--D) I wud also love to be assimilated with Aishwarya Rai but its the UP bhaiya & not Southies who are stopping me from doing so:(( I knew I was generalizing to a big extent, but I have seen a lot of people like this, maybe not in this generation.
punjabi_khota Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 I would like to attempt a logical answer to this question. The roots can be traced to the whole aryan/dravidian divide' date=' even after the whole aryan invasion theory has been cast with a big question mark, this kind of thinking exists at a subconscious level among many of us. The north indians feel superior towards the south indians due to their fairer complexion and better physiques,[b'] in turn south indians turn over zealous and protect their identity and culture and do notwant any assimilation with the north indian culture. Sooner or later, we are gonna hump you.:giggle::giggle:
ViruRulez Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Reminds me of a fantastic article by Deepankar Gupta the other day whereby he mentioned how IT/ITES service industry comprises of less than 2 million folks in India and still the folks in this industry choose to see the entire nation from that gamut only. English used by most educated Indians?? Thats hilarious. I suggest you compare the number of state run schools in Hindi states(forget non-Hindi states). That will be like 750 times more the number of English missionary schools in the nation. Unless of course you think students coming out of state run schools/colleges are illiterate :winky: Maybe it is taught in govt. schools but what is the language ultimately used in even govt. offices .. I have seen all govt. offices using English only ... Even most hindi school students forget to write Hindi after they pass out of their schools because it is not of their use anymore after they grow up.. I agree that there are a large porition of hindi or regional schools but that does not make sense because they are hardly used in further education .. that is why I am saying that English must be the first language taught in govt. schools because it is the only language which is quite easy yet it is common to a certain extent all over India from Kashmir to Kanyakumari :hatsoff:
fineleg Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 Sooner or later' date=' we are gonna hump you.:giggle::giggle:[/quote'] :aetsch:
Lurker Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 I would like to attempt a logical answer to this question. The roots can be traced to the whole aryan/dravidian divide' date=' even after the whole aryan invasion theory has been cast with a big question mark, this kind of thinking exists at a subconscious level among many of us. [b']The north indians feel superior towards the south indians due to their fairer complexion and better physiques, in turn south indians turn over zealous and protect their identity and culture and do notwant any assimilation with the north indian culture. Seriously who feels that way?? I mean I am sure there are jackasses in all cultures but it would be stupid to think in 21st century people feel that way. Truth be told in the last 2 decades South India has progressed at twice the rate North Indians have. The migration is more from North to South than other way around. I would be surprised like hell if a Bihari went to Chennai with a super complex of being better :hysterical::hysterical:
ViruRulez Posted May 6, 2009 Posted May 6, 2009 I would like to attempt a logical answer to this question. The roots can be traced to the whole aryan/dravidian divide' date=' even after the whole aryan invasion theory has been cast with a big question mark, this kind of thinking exists at a subconscious level among many of us. The north indians feel superior towards the south indians due to their fairer complexion and better physiques, in turn [b']south indians turn over zealous and protect their identity and culture and do notwant any assimilation with the north indian culture. I agree to this part .. it is quite pathetic but south Indians are over zealous to protect their culture etc. .. it does not make any sense of preserving a culture because it is a fact that culture cannot be defined .. and India has got various cultures and these cultures have transformed with time and circumstances .. so it seems foolish when many south Indians try to say they want to preserve the culture .. I feel especially bad when they went on to beat people saying that they had broken a culture by celebrating Valentine's day .. India is transforming and becoming a global leader and with such an attitude it would not be able to achieve the progress and position in the world that we are seeking :hatsoff: