Off to WI in 10 days...what should be our squad?

Sooda

Guest gaurav_indian
My side would be ... Tendulkar Gambhir Raina Sehwag Yuvraj Dhoni Yusuf Pathan Harbhajan Ojha / Praveen Kumar R.P. Singh Zaheer
Sehwag at 4?Are you alright?
Guest gaurav_indian
stupid planning . why the hell r we playing tests one year n ODIs next year against same sides .. w-indies ' date=' aus ... yeh kya hai[/quote'] Na biwi na bacha na baap bara na bhaiyaa but the whole thing is that ke bhaiyaa sabse bara rupaiyaaa :cantstop:

yeah sure, let's bring back Gavaskar & everyone else and take a giant step backwards :rolleyes: :headshake: we lose one series, and everyone goes OTT * OTT at best, give chance to youngsters if the likes of Dhoni & co. can't (or don't want to) play. Dhoni NEEDS rest. Zak/Ishant SHOULD be rested for these masala ODIs. The rest can go play. Maybe Raina can be given a break long enough to practice against short pitch bowling (not practice/get out in India matches :hehe: :P).

Guest gaurav_indian
yeah sure, let's bring back Gavaskar & everyone else and take a giant step backwards :rolleyes: :headshake: we lose one series, and everyone goes OTT * OTT at best, give chance to youngsters if the likes of Dhoni & co. can't (or don't want to) play. Dhoni NEEDS rest. Zak/Ishant SHOULD be rested for these masala ODIs. The rest can go play. Maybe Raina can be given a break long enough to practice against short pitch bowling (not practice/get out in India matches :hehe: :P).
Bring Atul Sharma :dance:
Sehwag at 4?Are you alright?
Its just another option imo. Sehwag has said before he prefers to bat in the middle order, although I completely understand the advantages of Sehwag opening, in which case my top 6 would be Sehwag Tendulkar Gambhir Raina Yuvraj Dhoni For the lower order ... I think the key is that India need to get the balance right. I think they need 3 pacemen and 2 spinners. In the past, that has been the best balance for them in ODIs outside India. How they go about this I think should depend on the all-rounder selected. * If the all-rounder is Irfan Pathan: - Then the 2 spinners should be the specialists Ojha and Bhajji and the 2 pacemen should include 1 right armer and 1 left-armer, so probably Praveen and Zaheer. * If the all-rounder is Yusuf Pathan: - Then only 1 specialist spinner needs to be selected, and since Yusuf Pathan (and Sehwag aswell) brings the ball into the right-hander, you need a spinner who can bring it away. Thus ... Ojha should get picked over Bhajji. - In this case, 3 specialist pacemen should get picked and they should be RP, Praveen and Zaheer. * If the all-rounder is Ravindra Jadeja: - Then again only 1 specialist spinner needs to be selected, and since Jadeja brings it away from the right hander, you need a spinner who can bring it in. Thus ... Bhajji should get picked. Again, in this case the 3 specialist pacemen should be RP, Praveen and Zaheer. If we're looking at right-arm fast bowlers, I think the stock-pile is limited at the moment with just Praveen, Ishant, Munaf (depending on how he turns up)and possibly Balaji. I think its something that India need to look at.

Your squad for the Windies series? No Sachin, No Sehwag ... so what squad would you take over there now? It may not be the popular viewpoint (since some people on ICF love to change the side every 2 games), but I would actually take the same squad that went to England and lost over to the West Indies. I think its an important lesson in character for these young players, who have achieved a great deal of success in the past 2 years and havent really had to experience a crushing loss like this. Lets see how they respond to the defeat and how well they can comeback. My side for the first ODI would be: Gambhir Rohit Raina Yuvraj Dhoni Yusuf Irfan Harbhajan Ojha Praveen / Zaheer RP Singh Reserves: D. Karthik, Ishant, Kohli / Jadeja (I'd probably pick Kohli over Jadeja)