Indian team for the West Indies tour announced.

Guest gaurav_indian

This logic is completely convoluted. You have both players who have played the same number of List A games and average very close to eachother with almost similar strike rates. One has been given a chance and he is proved that he can do a good job, now you are giving the other one a chance. I still don't see what this has to do with regional bias which you keep parotting on and on. My dear sir methinks you have made up your mind that the Earth is flat and none of my debaating skills can change that. Gadhi pe dil aaya tho pari kya cheez hai!!
Yeah, try telling that to Kohli or use the same reasoning the next time you are due for a promotion and someone less deserving gets it because your company wants to "give him a chance" no matter you are more deserving.
Yeah' date=' try telling that to Kohli or use the same reasoning the next time you are due for a promotion and someone less deserving gets it because your company wants to "give him a chance" no matter you are more deserving.[/quote'] Kohli and Vijay werent competing for a place in the first place. Kohli and Badrinath were. Kohli isn't a specialist opener. The squad is 16 instead of 15 to fit in the specialist opener. So enlighten us on how virat kohli deserved his place ahead of badrinath rather instead of bringing vijay into it.
Kohli and Vijay werent competing for a place in the first place. Kohli and Badrinath were. Kohli isn't a specialist opener. The squad is 16 instead of 15 to fit in the specialist opener. So enlighten us on how virat kohli deserved his place ahead of badrinath rather instead of bringing vijay into it.
Kohli has already opened successfully against Sri Lanka in an entire series as Sehwag's replacement. Your turn to provide the enlightment now, I guess. And even with respect to Badrinath, Kohli outperformed him in Sri Lanka and then again in the domestic ODs averaging 90 with a SR of 110.

the recent u19's like jadeja or kohli are more immature and have more incomplete games.they have lot more work to do. there is no reason whatsoever to give chances to these kids unless they are tendulkar. even raina and rohit have work to do outside asia.then why people think kohli is ready is astounding.

Kohli and Vijay werent competing for a place in the first place. Kohli and Badrinath were. Kohli isn't a specialist opener. The squad is 16 instead of 15 to fit in the specialist opener. So enlighten us on how virat kohli deserved his place ahead of badrinath rather instead of bringing vijay into it.
Lolz, dude http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?id=4215;type=series
And even with respect to Badrinath, Kohli outperformed him in Sri Lanka and then again in the domestic ODs averaging 90 with a SR of 110.
they are not peers and equals first of all. badrinath is way more mature and his game is already set. kohli is growing up in his early years of infancy.its that simple.
And how does it matter if in all chances given together Kohli has proven himself to be a better performer than Badrinath or Vijay be it the Sri Lanka series or domestic OD cricket?
Kohli and Badrinath had more or less a similar kind of SL series.. Not bad, not too good, but ok. Kohli opened the innings whereas Badrinath was sent in at no.7. Thats why it seems as if Kohli performed better.

So lemme get this straight....You guys want nohit, the guy who everyone wanted to be dropped before the IPL, the guy who averages under 30 from nearly 40 games, open in an ODI, open and play in a position he doesnt normally play. Virat kholi averages about 31 in that series. Is that really special? Compared to the other it may be, but cmon 31 is just too low. He shouldnt have been dropped, rather should have played as a middle order batsman, which is his usual place. Murali vijay is a specialist opener who averages 44 in domestic ODI(though have played only 25 games but so has kholi). Kholi did not do well at opening.Instead of destroying him by making him play where he might not comfortable in, it is better a specialist opener is bought in.

Hmm alright. But i guess both Badri and Kohli deserve their chances. Kohli being much younger can wait a bit.
Its good Badri finally gets a chance to prove himself and all the luck to him, but there is no doubt it would be just a matter of a few series before Virat makes it to the ODI team, the guy is fantastic in the middle overs, he almost toys with the spinners, its just a pleasure to watch him bat against quality spin bowlers.

Pathetic team. 1.Dhoni n Yuvraj needed rest clearly.dhoni certainly. 2.why is Ishant getting selected despite his pathetic performances? 3.why isn't Irfan selected?he did reasonably well(atleast better then Ishant) .he wasnt selected for England game too.Dhoni created a furore over his selection earlier too.just feel he doesnt like Irfan's face. 4.why is Nehra selected?he bowled well in IPL but is 30 yrs old now n we all know his batting n fielding capabilities,younster like Sudeep Tyagi should have been in 5.n selection of Badri n Vijay lacks any common sense n like other said smacks of regionalism

So lemme get this straight....You guys want nohit, the guy who everyone wanted to be dropped before the IPL, the guy who averages under 30 from nearly 40 games, open in an ODI, open and play in a position he doesnt normally play. Virat kholi averages about 31 in that series. Is that really special? Compared to the other it may be, but cmon 31 is just too low. He shouldnt have been dropped, rather should have played as a middle order batsman, which is his usual place. Murali vijay is a specialist opener who averages 44 in domestic ODI(though have played only 25 games but so has kholi). Kholi did not do well at opening.Instead of destroying him by making him play where he might not comfortable in, it is better a specialist opener is bought in.
You can't just look at the averages without any context. It was a low scoring series and Kohli was the fourth highest run getter and had the fourth highest average from either side - yeah a series which had the likes of Dhoni, Sangakkara, Jayawardene, Yuvraj, Jayasuriya, Gambhir, Dilshan. He was a huge reason why we won that series specially after the pasting Murali and Mendis handed us in the tests. In the context, Kohli did exceptionally well while opening - everything else is just spinning numbers without context.
Virat kholi averages about 31 in that series. Is that really special? Compared to the other it may be, but cmon 31 is just too low.
Zap, there was hype surrounding the start of the ODI Series in Lanka, with M&M almost proving unplayably during the Test Series, SRT and Viru injured. We take a youngster, throw him at the deep end and he performs wonderfully, playing both Murali and Mendis with ease and then never gets a chance, is it fair on him ? btw, the series was a low scoring one and hence the lower averages.
No Virat is a big friggin joke or wat ? Kris is out of his mind to select non performing TN guyz :mad:
which TN players selected were non-performing. Badrinath has been prolific in domestics as do Vijay and DK DK was one of the best Indian players in this IPL Vijay played so well as the standin opener in a couple of test matches and scored many runs in Challenger trophy as well Its not like Kris picked some rookie from TN without any proven performance and injected him to the national team Agree Virat should have been selected, but calling these guys non-performers is way OTT
Guest Gunner
Yeah' date=' try telling that to Kohli or use the same reasoning the next time you are due for a promotion and someone less deserving gets it because your company wants to "give him a chance" no matter you are more deserving.[/quote'] You are making it sound as if Kohli will never by picked to play for India again. The situation is quite different. He has not been picked to play this series thats all.
Guest Gunner
Kohli has already opened successfully against Sri Lanka in an entire series as Sehwag's replacement. Your turn to provide the enlightment now, I guess. And even with respect to Badrinath, Kohli outperformed him in Sri Lanka and then again in the domestic ODs averaging 90 with a SR of 110.
You are now way in over your head. Badrinath has played 90 List A games and averages 41 as opposed to Kohli who has played just 25 games. Your point doesn't hold water. On a sustained basis over a period of time Badrinath has proved to be reliable and consistent. How many games did kohli play to average 90 and SR 110, please provide the data.