CricketGirl Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Its taroo Aprticularly wiith older people- my Grandma for instance, very keen on a 'gori' biwi etc. Dark girls can be very nice looking... Kajol, Rani spring to mind- not the fairest. Indians were racist toward Andrew Symonds- says it all really. Despicable Good to see you back Il P.. glad to hear the exams went well. Got hols and chilling now then? abhe bhootnike!! we're talking about skin colour we're talking about indians wanting to marry anything but indian!! keep up sooods!! :icflove:
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 I think thats a terrible thing to say to be honest!! oh well i guess those people see the grass as greener on the other side! On the contrary, many of the Indians born abroad might be fairly correct in their estimation that they would not be able to get along with a person born in India due to differences in life experiences and perspectives. Don't you think?
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Yeh a fetish for 'white wimminz' is very common with black males. But you rarely see black women go for white men. It may happen, but when you compare it to black men - white women, its pretty much non-existent. Coming to Indians. I'm not too sure, I personally don't have no white women fetish. Its interesting you bring up the racism point, because I have seen it 1st hand quite often, even myself I used to get bothered if I saw an Indian girl with a white guy. Like its some big disgrace, now I'm not too bothered, its their personal choice, if they're happy with that person, good for them. The first point related to fetish, I just have a fetish for women in general. I find women good looking in all shades and hues. I can't understand how anyone can say one hue is better than the other. They are all bloody damn good. The highlighted point, I have to say that initially when I was much younger I was never able to understand that. Any interracial relationship per se was beyond my understanding. As I gre older and got into my twenties I got to understand human relations a lot better. Now I know and appreciate that people are with eachother for money and good looks (90% of the time) and true love (say 10%). This is the simple equation.
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Quoted by my dear padosi friend that sits next to me: Gori's are for xmas desis are for life! Completely disagree. I have met so many western women who are so bloody nice. Many of them a lot nicer than most of the Indian girls you see these days. This is of course not applicable to everybody.
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Its taroo Aprticularly wiith older people- my Grandma for instance, very keen on a 'gori' biwi etc. Dark girls can be very nice looking... Kajol, Rani spring to mind- not the fairest. Indians were racist toward Andrew Symonds- says it all really. Despicable Good to see you back Il P.. glad to hear the exams went well. Got hols and chilling now then? Agreed with that post Sooda.
CricketGirl Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 On the contrary' date=' many of the Indians born abroad might be fairly correct in their estimation that they would not be able to get along with a person born in India due to differences in life experiences and perspectives. Don't you think?[/quote'] call me cynical for saying this but my feeling is that those of us that migrated around the 40's/50's almost still live in that era where as indians in india have moved on their attitudes have (and in most cases) changed for the better where as many of the BBCD's are still stuck in that time zone - that is what i believe makes us different to be honest on the other hand i can tell you some of those differences compliment each other well i wasnt born in england but i've been here since i was a baby where as Mr CG came here from Kenya about 12 yrs ago our differences worked for us!!
CricketGirl Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Completely disagree. I have met so many western women who are so bloody nice. Many of them a lot nicer than most of the Indian girls you see these days. This is of course not applicable to everybody. lol i know it was my post but not my views as i said that was quoted by my padosi colleague then again what more can u expect from the padosi's anyway!
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 call me cynical for saying this but my feeling is that those of us that migrated around the 40's/50's almost still live in that era where as indians in india have moved on their attitudes have (and in most cases) changed for the better where as many of the BBCD's are still stuck in that time zone - that is what i believe makes us different to be honest on the other hand i can tell you some of those differences compliment each other well i wasnt born in england but i've been here since i was a baby where as Mr CG came here from Kenya about 12 yrs ago our differences worked for us!! I agree with the highlighted part, I did find many british born Indians to be stuck in the same time warp the English seem to be trapped in as well in relation to India. I think the English media serves to reinforce that image in the minds of the people. However I would also like to point out that from a purely thought process perspective many Indians have not evolved much either. The average Indian still thinks that his wife should be a "vergen". Its a mix of several things. I don't really find it shocking if a British born Indian girl wants to be treated as British rather than Indian. It is perfectly logical. OTOH, I don't like it when someone born in Britain automatically assumes that since I was born in India I am such and such. In terms of appreciating differences, the era of the 70s, 80s and 90s were more comfortable with that. In the last 10 years we have all become a bit too racist, religious and nationalistic in my opinion. I don't appreciate any of those qualities. I honestly wish I could have the world back as it was 15 years ago. People then were a lot more open. Its a pity that with all the technology we have at our disposal we have managed to regress.
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 lol i know it was my post but not my views as i said that was quoted by my padosi colleague then again what more can u expect from the padosi's anyway! Most of the padosi guys are just cheap, very few of them are trustworthy. I remember my sister telling me that one of her classmates in the UK (Indian girl) was dating a Padosi. Well, he got her pregnant and then broke up with her. What more can I say?
Sachinism Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Most of the padosi guys are just cheap' date=' very few of them are trustworthy. I remember my sister telling me that one of her classmates in the UK (Indian girl) was dating a Padosi. Well, he got her pregnant and then broke up with her. What more can I say?[/quote'] Lets not go down that route. I know some terrible stories like that. Which have led to a errrmm lets say dislike for padosi's
Sooda Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Alot depends on family and upbringing. A lot of parents tend to be quite conservative and traditional which means their kids are broguth up that way. That makes getting along with someone from India easier. Most arent though and need someone from a similar background-i.e from this country. Particulaly if its for shaadi purposes The other thing of course is that India aint exactly no village these days. And people there are fairly sophisticated in their own right...
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Lets not go down that route. I know some terrible stories like that. Which have led to a errrmm lets say dislike for padosi's I am sure that it works the other way around too, doesn't it? My guess however would be probably not. Indian guys are not geared to think this way.
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 Alot depends on family and upbringing. A lot of parents tend to be quite conservative and traditional which means their kids are broguth up that way. That makes getting along with someone from India easier. Most arent though and need someone from a similar background-i.e from this country. Particulaly if its for shaadi purposes The other thing of course is that India aint exactly no village these days. And people there are fairly sophisticated in their own right... I think Parents are wrong in doing that. If my kids are born here i will let them live the life they want. They can very well be European. I am completely happy with that. My hope would be they would like to know about India.
ludhianvi Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 One shouldnt put all the stakes on hope. :regular_smile:
CricketGirl Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 I agree with the highlighted part' date=' I did find many british born Indians to be stuck in the same time warp the English seem to be trapped in as well in relation to India. I think the English media serves to reinforce that image in the minds of the people. However I would also like to point out that from a purely[b'] thought process perspective many Indians have not evolved much either. The average Indian still thinks that his wife should be a "vergen". Its a mix of several things. I don't really find it shocking if a British born Indian girl wants to be treated as British rather than Indian. It is perfectly logical. OTOH, I don't like it when someone born in Britain automatically assumes that since I was born in India I am such and such. In terms of appreciating differences, the era of the 70s, 80s and 90s were more comfortable with that. In the last 10 years we have all become a bit too racist, religious and nationalistic in my opinion. I don't appreciate any of those qualities. I honestly wish I could have the world back as it was 15 years ago. People then were a lot more open. Its a pity that with all the technology we have at our disposal we have managed to regress. i think its more to do with thought process than being a brit born desi or a desi desi! like u say some western girls are wonderful people even so that you went as far as saying they were nicer than desi- do correct me if i am below the belt for saying this the core of ur debate here seems to be the differences in the thought process between desis and non desis! 15 yrs ago? there was even more racism ask the girl who was the only asian girl in the school apart from her older brother then you will know what racism is! now there is much "PC" about racism- it still happens but there appears to be alot diplomacy about how racism is portrayed
Guest Gunner Posted December 10, 2009 Posted December 10, 2009 i think its more to do with thought process than being a brit born desi or a desi desi! like u say some western girls are wonderful people even so that you went as far as saying they were nicer than desi- do correct me if i am below the belt for saying this the core of ur debate here seems to be the differences in the thought process between desis and non desis! 15 yrs ago? there was even more racism ask the girl who was the only asian girl in the school apart from her older brother then you will know what racism is! now there is much "PC" about racism- it still happens but there appears to be alot diplomacy about how racism is portrayed you are probably correct on the racism angle. But people back then were also more interested in learning about other cultures. Nowadays we just have stupid stereotypes about different nationalities.