Jersey #10 Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 Mr two cents, Don't put words into my mouth I din't blatantly say that SRT is " greedy and selfish " the way you have put it. But the fact is when you sign 5 year contract with 10-12 companies - most of the intent is directed towards the adverts during more popular ODIS ( atleast far more popular than than tests) The money in T20 is in playing leagues not international T20. In any case.. How many T20 internationals do we play in a year ? How many ODIS do we play in a year ? Thank you. Byebye Any third party would clearly see that ( inspite the ratio being like 1:20 atleast) -but our back patting pacifists majority right wing SRT supporters would always try to convince themselves otherwise to feel happy with their pet words "pwn"' date=' "own". LOL. :winky:[/quote'] Lets talk real cricket ..hmm Test runs ? Test tons ? Pwnting. I hope not - but I would put my money on him "owning" those. You could'nt be more wrong. We have played 8 T20Is this year , just 1 in 2008 and 8 in 2007. SRT has played 33 ODIS in 2007, 12 last year and 9 already this year. Clearly havn't been following the same game have you ? Is it not common sense that playing a key role in winning a cricket world cup - the first after 24 long years would open many endorsement doors ? Again, you seem to love putting words in peoples mouth. This is what happens when you barge into a conversation headon without knowing where it started from. If you see the trail - it was in response to why Sachin wasn't retiring from ODIS or atleast playing only big tournies to preserve himself for tests and the WC 2011. What I merely said was - that Sachin cannot pull out of ODIS wantonly playing very sparsely because that would sort of be a breach of trust with his sponsors who sign contracts with him based on his appearances. Sure if he is dropped or injured or unfit its fair game but he can't decide to " rest " as and when he wants for however he wants. So now you have resorted to lying through your teeth , eh ? :hysterical:. Show me where I said that - lets see if you can get away without exposing how you have micheviously tried to play with words above. LOL..what did you expect ESPN to ask for your vishesh tippani ? :hysterical:. The fact that not a single wicketkeeper was even mentioned by a myraid of his contemporaries, historians and other players of various eras and all other teams - let alone the distinguished panel, is good enough. Samajdaar ko ishara he kaafi hota hai. Sorry bhaiyaa..really ignorant of me not to know such a " mahaan" , " popular" wicket keeping hasti like " Don Tallon " LOL. Really, if Bradman even kept his favorite net bowler on that list because he felt troubled by him - you would also argue about him being an all time great legend.:winky: Believe me..I understand it better than you ever would. Heard about the concept of moving averages ? Do you know whats that got to do with the algorithm of all time ratings ? :sarcastic_blum: :girl_haha: What a waste of time, baharwale. Talk about ignorance. LOL Yoda, My brother happens to work for Percept d'mark sports management office at Mumbai as a marketing guy - Believe me I know a fair bit about how sport endorsement deals work when you sign up for an agency to handle your endorsements. Heres' a piece on SRT's latest partnership: http://www.televisionpoint.com/news2006/newsfullstory.php?id=1146446444 When you are so particular about what you want to endorse - you can't say f*** off to hot property like ODIS. Client will get put pressure on his management company and therefore him for breach of deal. :winky: Agyaani baba, Don't make me laugh so much.:hysterical:. A bit of gyaan: If you notice SRT's top rating of 898 is against Zimbabwe in 2002. If you are wondering how ..that is the moving avg ( only the progammers know how many years/tests moving avg they use) of his performance before his poor patch in 2003. http://www.cricketpulse.com/Rankings/ Eggjactly...ab aaya na unth pahaad ke neeche. Watch - /batting/?id=1905"]http://www.iccreliancerankings.com/playerdisplay/Array['url']/batting/?id=1905 ...and then /batting/?id=2122"]http://www.iccreliancerankings.com/playerdisplay/Array['url']/batting/?id=2122 And make a decent " guess " about which has a larger area beneath. Yoda, Sachin's is far more valuable to us in test matches rather than ODIS - We have quite a few decent guys - All considering that the WC is at our home. Nothing against him playing big tournies. But for me our test batting with him injured will become vulnerable with Dravid not being the same he once was. Apart from that, believe me, no sports company will appreciate a cricketer " retiring" from ODIS at will after signing a deal. RANDOM WORDS WITH NO PROOF/FACT/EVIDENCE TO PROVE THESE WORDS...IT WILL BE VERY SMART OF EVERY ONE TO JUST IGNORE THIS KID
DomainK Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 He is like those kids who ring the bell and run away. Annoying attention seekers, but difficult to ignore.
Mr. Wicket Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 so this patriot dude is ignoring posts which prove him wrong Didn't you see how long he took to even acknowledge my response to him calling a well known and highly respect cricketer of the past an unknown nobody, while still trying to avoid that topic?
Anakin Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 All this is based on his personal opinion, really don't see why he's being taken seriously. I know some guy in this business, I have an opinion about something in that business, therefore I'm correct, no matter what, and trust me, or make up some opinion about some players, stick to it no matter what and therefore I'm right - basic principles behind this dude's posts.
The Outsider Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 LOL..at your hilarious logic. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: I mentioned the peaks purely to mention that SRT's peak in the 90's ( that his fans keep claiming was when he was practically untouchable) - has been emulated and more by Juwaari's bull run of the 2000's and that shows in the difference in their peak ratings. You never tire do you....:hysterical:. Guess who wrote these in this very thread. Not for nothing was he rated by Wisden as the greatest ever bowler. He also holds the number 4 position in all time greatest ICC test ratings . Ponting and Murali both top 900 performance points , whereas their other beloved contemporary has never touched 900, ever. Above statements were clearly made when discussing the overall stature of these cricketers and not their peaks. *Waits for more sophistry* Hypothetically ..assume they are even close to being the same area - why such hype and hoopla about SRT ? People argue that since 2000's wickets have eased out , bowling standards have declined - yet they have no justification why SRT would be outdone comfortably by Ponting in this period as a whole - when on the contrary he should be doing as good if not better than what he did in the 90's. Emotions, blind patriotism and the fact that SRT is a sober, modest family man without any controversies, whilst Ponting is a brash, uncouth scumbag who's had drinking problems/brawls in the past and generall y disliked -no doubt seem to cloud honest opinions. You need to watch, read, and follow cricket to understand the hype behind Tendulkar. Cricket cannot be confined to some graphs and numbers. Some of the innings played by Tendulkar over his career just cannot be replicated and that can never be reflected in the rankings and averages. Forget the ESPN selections as they were too old, but Ponting does not even find a spot in the recent Aussie XI selected by the cricinfo panel. I am yet to see any decent all time world XI in which Ponting figures - Tendulkar makes it to quite a few of those selected by experts. But of course it's all about endorsements. Once you start looking at just numbers to look at cricket, you are bound to come up with ridiculous results where Akram lags behind Harmison, Clark, Lawson, and Akhtar in some rankings. Please read my Agarkar vs. Akram thread for more enlightenment on the topic. That is a fair point - SRT for atleast 10 years was 750 and above which is stunning and a testimony to his consistency. But Juwaari batted at No.6 for nearly 33 tests since his debut in 1995, when the Waugh brothers were still playing. Hardly a spot to become a run machine . It was when he became a number 3 bat that his amazing bull run started. :hysterical::hysterical: Bhaiyye Tendulkar also batted at number 6 at the start of his career. His first innings at number 4 was on the lightening fast WACA where the rest of the Indian line up crumbled and had the Aussies gushing about that innings. Chappell and Benaud earmarked him after watching that innings and Merv Hughes after being hit for yet another boundary told Border, "This b.astard is going to score more runs than you, AB". That's called grabbing an opportunity. What did Juwaari do when he first batted at number 3? Score in the teens at Delhi in line with what the future would hold for him in the country which has handed him one pwnage after another. Juwaari was not good enough to cement his spot up the order and that has to be held against Tendulkar I suppose. :hysterical:
patriot Posted September 24, 2009 Author Posted September 24, 2009 You never tire do you....:hysterical:. Guess who wrote these in this very thread. Above statements were clearly made when discussing the overall stature of these cricketers and not their peaks. LOL..berather..whats so diffilcult for you to understand - It's obvious intent was to point that SRT's great hay days in the 90's ( the effect of which should reflect on his peak ratings ) have been bettered by Juwaari. You need to watch, read, and follow cricket to understand the hype behind Tendulkar. Cricket cannot be confined to some graphs and numbers. The same hype where our hype obsessed shameless media heckles each and every foreign cricketer relentlessly to comment on SRT's greatness - failing which they make massive headlines and the poor visitor gets into all kinds of ******. Programs and debates run during prime time on how blasphemy has been commited , how the national hero has been " humiliated". The same hype where the murder of Moody, Kasprowicz and Fleming on a tradional belter in the pocket sized stadium at Sharjah in some Cola Cup might have hogged zillion times for limelight than Pontings far more aggressive knock( 8 towering sixes in a Joburg stadium, and innings strike rate of 120 ) and bigger century, in the World Cup finals against an inform pace attack of Srinath, Zakky and Nehra that had blown apart other teams in the competition. What did Juwaari do when he first batted at number 3? Score in the teens at Delhi in line with what the future would hold for him in the country which has handed him one pwnage after another. Juwaari was not good enough to cement his spot up the order and that has to be held against Tendulkar I suppose. :hysterical: LOL..this is ridiculously insane.:hysterical:.:hysterical::hysterical: For the record " not able to cement his place at 3" Ponting averages 50 at NO.6 in 33 tests, while SRT averages 43 at NO 6. in 14 tests And at their "cemented" places NO.3 and No.4 , Juwaari averages a stunning 60.54 in 95 tests, SRT averages 56.5 in 136 tests. I see that I am not the only person sharing the views that I do. http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=26717 There is no doubt in my mind however that Ricky Ponting can stake his claim to the sobriquet of the greatest batsman of the modern era when it comes to performing under pressure. To head one list is tough, but to appear ahead of his contemporaries on two of them, one by a proverbial country mile, is a phenomenal achievement, one that doesn’t deserve to be belittled by fence sitting. Really good one. Ponting really does stand out. Luzzlers!! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: See dude, I got nothing against our national treasure - But: 1) I don't believe in the ludicrious hype that he commands. Maybe it's just a personal preference - but even figuratively for someone to command that kind of hype - either his test average must be outlandish like Bradman ( or atleast way ahead of his peers) or he must average 50+ at a blistering strike rate to command awe and fear - like Viv did or what Sehwag has been doing for a period of time. With SRT's average, and his strike rate in tests ( which at 54 which way below his other great contemporaries - Ponting and Lara) - there is nothing absolutely exceptional as is made out to be. 2) I am not too fond of his absurd conciousness and love for the 3 figure mark and personal landmarks in general. What he did by conveying his "grievance" on not being allowed to register a double ton in Pakistan in 2004 in front of the media - when the focus should have been on India's historic win, was pathetic to say the least. IN any case, I think one is entitled to ones views and beliefs. Lets just agree to disagree on this one shall we.
patriot Posted September 24, 2009 Author Posted September 24, 2009 He is like those kids who ring the bell and run away. Annoying attention seekers' date=' but difficult to ignore.[/quote'] LOL..speaking for yourself ? Zilch intellect or analytical abilty - just enter a thread to make one liner personal offensive remarks and then f*** off. Really very symtomatic of a kid who rings the bell and runs away.:hysterical:
SachDan Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 It seems patriotic is ready to go any extend to prove he is right all the time.How easily he excluded Shane Warne from the bowler's list for the Cocacola cup held in Sharjah to call that bowling line-up mediocre !!
Sachinism Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 It seems patriotic is ready to go any extend to prove he is right all the time.How easily he excluded Shane Warne from the bowler's list for the Cocacola cup held in Sharjah to call that bowling line-up mediocre !! Something thats been all too common in this thread. He dresses statements and facts up to make his point seem sensible
Anakin Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 Isn't that the whole basis of this garbage spewed up so far? Just make up mind about anything and everything and then act as if it's the fact.
patriot Posted September 24, 2009 Author Posted September 24, 2009 LOL. Wishful to expect anything but rationality in discussing SRT with names like " SachDan" "Sachinism" and another one with a Sachin avatar. Its like trying to explain a maulvi that Vedas and Shastras are supreme.
Anakin Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 LOL. Wishful to expect anything but rationality in discussing SRT with names like " SachDan" "Sachinism" and another one with a Sachin avatar. Its like trying to explain a maulvi that Vedas and Shastras are supreme. You should have a tiny bit bigger ego bro, too much humility, knowledge and brilliant insights there.
DomainK Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 LOL..speaking for yourself ? Zilch intellect or analytical abilty - just enter a thread to make one liner personal offensive remarks and then f*** off. Really very symtomatic of a kid who rings the bell and runs away.:hysterical: I have seen you reply to intelligent posts and I tell you what, its a wastage to even think on what you have to say. You can't wake up someone who pretends to be asleep.
The Outsider Posted September 24, 2009 Posted September 24, 2009 LOL..berather..whats so diffilcult for you to understand - It's obvious intent was to point that SRT's great hay days in the 90's ( the effect of which should reflect on his peak ratings ) have been bettered by Juwaari. At least don't ignore the statements made by yourself!:hysterical: "Not for nothing was he rated by Wisden as the greatest ever bowler. He also holds the number 4 position in all time greatest ICC test ratings ." The same hype where our hype obsessed shameless media heckles each and every foreign cricketer relentlessly to comment on SRT's greatness - failing which they make massive headlines and the poor visitor gets into all kinds of ******. Programs and debates run during prime time on how blasphemy has been commited , how the national hero has been " humiliated". The same hype where the murder of Moody, Kasprowicz and Fleming on a tradional belter in the pocket sized stadium at Sharjah in some Cola Cup might have hogged zillion times for limelight than Pontings far more aggressive knock( 8 towering sixes in a Joburg stadium, and innings strike rate of 120 ) and bigger century, in the World Cup finals against an inform pace attack of Srinath, Zakky and Nehra that had blown apart other teams in the competition. Dadaji the same attack with the addition of McGrath won the WC next year. And obviously nothing can be done about you if you believe the likes of Bradman, Richards, Lara, Chappell, Benaud etc. were baying for Indian endorsements by praising Tendulkar. Here is one I would appreciate you answer - as of today Dhoni is the most popular cricketer in India going by endorsements. How many people do you see praising him to be an all time great batsman or wicketkeeper to win million dollar contracts. I am sure if Bradman was alive he would have replaced Tallon with Dhoni. :hysterical: LOL..this is ridiculously insane.:hysterical:.:hysterical::hysterical: For the record " not able to cement his place at 3" Ponting averages 50 at NO.6 in 33 tests, while SRT averages 43 at NO 6. in 14 tests And at their "cemented" places NO.3 and No.4 , Juwaari averages a stunning 60.54 in 95 tests, SRT averages 56.5 in 136 tests. Tratiot bhai, both Tendulkar and Juwaari got an opportunity to bat up the order early on in the career. One smashed a century gushed upon by everyone who did and did not watch the match and the other set the tone for his pitiful average of 20 in the only country to have challenged him during his batting era.:hysterical: I see that I am not the only person sharing the views that I do. http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=26717 Luzzlers!! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Errr....how does acknowledging that Ponting is a very attacking and confident batsman who tried to stamp his authority on the game and has been largely successful mean he can be in the same league as Tendulkar? See dude, I got nothing against our national treasure - But: 1) I don't believe in the ludicrious hype that he commands. Maybe it's just a personal preference - but even figuratively for someone to command that kind of hype - either his test average must be outlandish like Bradman ( or atleast way ahead of his peers) or he must average 50+ at a blistering strike rate to command awe and fear - like Viv did or what Sehwag has been doing for a period of time. With SRT's average, and his strike rate in tests ( which at 54 which way below his other great contemporaries - Ponting and Lara) - there is nothing absolutely exceptional as is made out to be. 2) I am not too fond of his absurd conciousness and love for the 3 figure mark and personal landmarks in general. What he did by conveying his "grievance" on not being allowed to register a double ton in Pakistan in 2004 in front of the media - when the focus should have been on India's historic win, was pathetic to say the least. IN any case, I think one is entitled to ones views and beliefs. Lets just agree to disagree on this one shall we. Let's talk about our discussion and ignore the "fanboys" on whom you have already passed judgment - or maybe I am one of them! Traitriot dada if you keep on looking into averages and SRs only for an understanding of cricket you might as well proclaim Kambli to be better than Gavaskar and Richards. Point 2 is so despicable and twisted it's not even worth commenting - sounds like coming out of the mouth of a true Tratriot.
patriot Posted September 25, 2009 Author Posted September 25, 2009 Dadaji the same attack with the addition of McGrath won the WC next year. Pakhandi baba, Even without his nemesis Mcgrath - Sharjah and England are chalk and cheese ain't it ? I see you are still mum about Pontings masterclass in a WC final. Maybe you really believe that a masala tri series in a place like Sharjah really holds more worth. :giggle::winky: Tratiot bhai, both Tendulkar and Juwaari got an opportunity to bat up the order early on in the career. One smashed a century gushed upon by everyone who did and did not watch the match and the other set the tone for his pitiful average of 20 in the only country to have challenged him during his batting era.:hysterical: LOL at the logic. :hysterical::hysterical: I never knew scoring a century early on means seal yourself as better than someone who ends up being more prolific. Going by this funny logic Andre Agassi for winning a complete slam must be better than Sampras who never won the French Open - the " only " open that was a challlenge for him throughout his career.:hysterical:. SRT must thank his gods that he din't have to face off his master Mcgrath in his last 2 trips to Ozland. Errr....how does acknowledging that Ponting is a very attacking and confident batsman who tried to stamp his authority on the game and has been largely successful mean he can be in the same league as Tendulkar? LOL..Afridi is the most attacking and confident and batsman in the world...so what.:D. What you were clearly alluding to was Dhondy's comment on Ponting being peerless under pressure as shown by his avg of 80+ when score was >80/4 -way way ahead of the SRT that you are hell bent on defending. Link: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=26717 Dhondy:There is no doubt in my mind however that Ricky Ponting can stake his claim to the sobriquet of the greatest batsman of the modern era when it comes to performing under pressure. To head one list is tough, but to appear ahead of his contemporaries on two of them, one by a proverbial country mile, is a phenomenal achievement, one that doesn’t deserve to be belittled by fence sitting. The Outsider: Really good one. Ponting really does stand out. Tab maan liya tha Ponting ki mastery ko over his peers like SRT. Abhi Kabool karne mein abhi sharam aati hai kya ??? :winky::--D LOL.. Traitriot dada if you keep on looking into averages and SRs only for an understanding of cricket you might as well proclaim Kambli to be better than Gavaskar and Richards. More excuses for someone who's not only averaged lesser than his peers but also scored at a lowly pace. But he's " god" , because i say so...:hysterical::hysterical: Point 2is so despicable and twisted it's not even worth commenting - sounds like coming out of the mouth of a true Tratriot. Don't even try because, it was a defenceless act by SRT. Having no hesitation in letting an army of mediamen know in live press conference how dissapointed :sniffle:he was in missing a personal milestone( double ton), when most importantly team India created history on Pak soil . And then during " happier" days he never forgets to say how victory mattered more than his ton. :yay: If " traitot" is a monicker for a kaffir in " Sachinism" , then yeah I am traitot. LOL. :hysterical:
The Outsider Posted September 25, 2009 Posted September 25, 2009 Pakhandi baba, Even without his nemesis Mcgrath - Sharjah and England are chalk and cheese ain't it ? I see you are still mum about Pontings masterclass in a WC final. Maybe you really believe that a masala tri series in a place like Sharjah really holds more worth. :giggle::winky: Ponting's WC hundred was superb, but the fact is he has got opportunity to perform in 4 WC finals, Tendulkar in 1. That's not a fair comparison for even someone with a logic like yours, I hope. Look at their numbers in all finals where Juwaari is blown away and the sample size is large enough. So now England has become some pinnacle of batsmanship? Check out Juwaari's average in England.:hysterical: LOL at the logic. :hysterical::hysterical: I never knew scoring a century early on means seal yourself as better than someone who ends up being more prolific. Going by this funny logic Andre Agassi for winning a complete slam must be better than Sampras who never won the French Open - the " only " open that was a challlenge for him throughout his career.:hysterical:. SRT must thank his gods that he din't have to face off his master Mcgrath in his last 2 trips to Ozland. Dadaji you are confused beyond help - you brought up Juwaari batting lower down the order as an excuse for his low ICC rankings. I proved with facts that Juwaari batting lower down was no one else's but his own fault because he floundered when given a chance up the order. BTW, loved the tennis analogy for the above. Shows you are reaching new levels of delusion.:hysterical: LOL..Afridi is the most attacking and confident and batsman in the world...so what.:D. What you were clearly alluding to was Dhondy's comment on Ponting being peerless under pressure as shown by his avg of 80+ when score was >80/4 -way way ahead of the SRT that you are hell bent on defending. Link: http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=26717 Dhondy: The Outsider: Tab maan liya tha Ponting ki mastery ko over his peers like SRT. Abhi Kabool karne mein abhi sharam aati hai kya ??? :winky::--D LOL.. Did you even read the article? Ponting and Tendulkar are not in even vying for contention on the parameters of that article since they bat at different positions. More excuses for someone who's not only averaged lesser than his peers but also scored at a lowly pace. But he's " god" , because i say so...:hysterical::hysterical: Do let's get this clear once and for all, so I can save my time later on. For you order of averages = order of performance? And the format of cricket in which SR does matter, Tendulkar leaves Juwaari in the wake yet again.
patriot Posted September 27, 2009 Author Posted September 27, 2009 Ponting's WC hundred was superb, but the fact is he has got opportunity to perform in 4 WC finals, Tendulkar in 1. Luzzlers..What a retarded logic :hysterical:...Janaab did you know that WC Finals is a once in a lifetime opportunity ? If your hero wanted more shots at the WC final he should have not choked getting a zero in the 2 knockout matches for India in World Cups to progress in the next round in 1999 and 2007. 1999 WC Needed to beat the Aussies to progress to the next round - Out for 0, by who else but Mcgrath http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/65223.html 2007 WC needed to beat the Lankans to progress out of the group stage - Guess what out for 0 again. http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/247476.html So now England has become some pinnacle of batsmanship? Check out Juwaari's average in England. What I meant was South Africa , Joburg- because you are " smart " enough to compare WC finals in South Africa to masalaCola finals in Sharjah :hysterical:. In any case Ponting averages 45 in England - which more than what SRT averages in South Africa ( 39) , Pakistan ( 40) and Zimbabwe ( 40) . So whats your point ? Did you even read the article? Ponting and Tendulkar are not in even vying for contention on the parameters of that article since they bat at different positions. Read it , but am not pretending to not understand it like you sirji :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:. Ponting has topped the averages for both batting postion # 3, and # 6. Whereas SRT who has batted at # 4 has been bettered by 5 other modern cricketers. http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=26717 Ponting is # 1- by far among modern cricketers in not 1 but 2 categories . Highest average when score is less than 20/1 ( avg of 61.67 ) and highest average by far when score is less than 80/4 ( avg of 80.84) SRT average of 48.33 when score is less than 40/2 is bettered by 5 others. Lara infact has played more innings when there is such pressure and still averages more 52.96 Could'nt have been put better than how Dr Dhondy put it in the article above: There is no doubt in my mind however that Ricky Ponting can stake his claim to the sobriquet of the greatest batsman of the modern era when it comes to performing under pressure. To head one list is tough' date=' but to appear ahead of his contemporaries on two of them, one by a proverbial country mile, is a phenomenal achievement, one that doesn’t deserve to be belittled by fence sitting[/quote'] Something that you also sheepishly acknowledged that time.:winky: Do let's get this clear once and for all, so I can save my time later on. For you order of averages = order of performance? And the format of cricket in which SR does matter, Tendulkar leaves Juwaari in the wake yet again. Nopes avg is not everything ..did I ever say that ??? FTBS like Jayawardene, Mohd Yousuf, and Younis Khan who have been utter butter failures outside subcontinental pitches have and will end up with better averages than a Dravid - but they are not good enough to tie Dravid's shoe laces -for he has done it overseas and that too when it matters most. But Ponting's only falilure has been in India. He has dominated in Sri Lanka and Pakistan as well ( as his averages and tons show) apart from his peerless domination elsewhere. You really show your utter lack of understanding ( or perhaps you are just pretending to ?) yet again if you think S/R - ie dominating does not matter. You might want to see the clip below why - none of the lumanaries below rate SRT as the greatest of even his own era when asked to name one. SRT has simply failed to dominate, for a period of time.. http://stats.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/records/batting/most_runs_career.html?class=1;id=200;type=decade SRT's avg in the last decade has been bettered by 10 others - and his strike rate ( 54.55) has been far bettered by his 2 other contemporaries Ponting ( 62.37) and Lara ( 59.23). You can't be less prolific and less dominant and still claim to be the best. Is it any surprise that Viv Richards and Gary Sobers head the all time list - they were a nightmare for teams right throughout their career. As Shastri put it - SRT would be remembered for what he did in those 3 golden years 96-98. Watch from 8.30 VIDEO http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=490978601065903138#
CSK Fan Posted October 6, 2009 Posted October 6, 2009 I think this thread needs to be bumped and replied to