Central contract: Is performance taken into account?

Feed

Pathan was included the last time on the back of good domestic performances from Baroda but he screwed up completely again. He was given chances in the ODI game so it's not that he just plays T20s. He's had every chance to become a better bowler but even though he has great skills he doesn't use them on the pitch when bowling. He gets too involved in trying to bowl a dozen different variations, none of which he can bowl accurately. So far he's publicly given every excuse in the book about his performances and to be honest I think the guy really needs to get his head right because physically there was nothing wrong with him when he was bowling crap.

Irfan's name was 'erroneously' left: BCCI MUMBAI: The Indian Cricket Board on Wednesday created a flutter by inadvertently leaving out struggling all-rounder Irfan Pathan from the list of Twitter Facebook Share Email Print Save Comment contracted players for the 2009-10 season. While releasing the 40 names who were offered contracts for the period October 1, 2009 to September 30, 2010, the Baroda player's name was left out by BCCI secretary N Srinivasan in a media release. Within an hour, Srinivasan issued a clarification that Irfan's name was "erroneously left out of the Retainership list that was sent to the media earlier today", adding "he is part of the list, and figures in Grade C". The inclusion of Irfan's name from the list took the number of players given contracts to 41. The complete list: Grade A (Rs 60 lakh): Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, V V S Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan and Harbhajan Singh. Grade B (Rs 40 lakh): Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Munaf Patel, R P Singh, Ishant Sharma, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra. Grade C (Rs 25 lakh): S Badrinath, Wasim Jaffer, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, S Sreesanth, Dinesh Karthik and Amit Mishra. Grade D (Rs 15 lakh): Piyush Chawla, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Parthiv Patel, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mohd Kaif, Virat Kohli, Ashok Dinda, Wridddhiman Saha, M Vijay, R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Sudeep Tyagi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Ajinkya Rahane and Manoj Tiwary. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/Irfans-name-was-erroneously-left-BCCI/articleshow/5268431.cms :hysterical:

It was really disappointing to read the OP, but glad to know it has been rectified. The entire purpose of central contracts is to help players through these phases of injury and to drop him from the list would have been a mockery of the contract system. Nice to see Rahane, Kaif, and Pujara in the list - at least someone in the BCCI is not getting completely swayed by T20 cowlashers and this serves as an indication that even players who have done little in T20 are somewhere on the radar.

I'd do away with grade C and D and have only A and B. we are already wasting so much money on these grade C and D player contracts who don't even carry drinks. 15 lakhs is too much for scrub players.
What the point of being the richest board in the world when you cant even sponsor 40 odd players? What about the talented players who have not been selected for IPL? What motivation do they get to continue with cricket as a carreer?
dude that's exactly whats stopping these guys from performing, they are already assured cushy contracts so will not put in the hard yards. on the other hand if you have to work your way into the indian team you tend to do well, why do you think ishanth, rohit etc performed so well in the beginning? once they are given contracts their performance fades away.
dude that's exactly whats stopping these guys from performing' date=' they are already assured cushy contracts so will not put in the hard yards. on the other hand if you have to work your way into the indian team you tend to do well, why do you think ishanth, rohit etc performed so well in the beginning? once they are given contracts their performance fades away.[/quote'] Rs.1 lakh per month is a cushy contract :laugh:
dude that's exactly whats stopping these guys from performing' date=' they are already assured cushy contracts so will not put in the hard yards. on the other hand if you have to work your way into the indian team you tend to do well, why do you think ishanth, rohit etc performed so well in the beginning? once they are given contracts their performance fades away.[/quote'] Ishant and Rohit earn ten times as much money from IPL as contracts. But we do need ocntratcs for the fringe players. The one in the A and B category already earn enough from IPL and sponsors. the C and D actually need the money. the Ojhas and the Pujaras are hard workers and need the encouragement

@nballa ^bull*****. Contracts means safety against injuries. If you look at the names, most of them have been in the squad. So that means all of them are capable of representing india. Contract system is their security against injuries. Everyone's aim is play for country. What you are suggesting is this in a company, lets not pay mid level and low level guys, only pay top level, managers and CEOs. the logic is that this mid level guys will get complacment and will never work their ass off

problem with irfan was overconfidence in his abilities. i exactly remember when his demise started' date=' it was right after that hatrick against pak.[/quote'] why do you bring in Pakis so much in your posts and the last post to scrap Group C and Group D would not have been spoken by an Indian. It was a ridiculous suggestion. :--D
why do you bring in Pakis so much in your posts and the last post to scrap Group C and Group D would not have been spoken by an Indian. It was a ridiculous suggestion. :--D
how is it ridiculous? yeah lets have contracts till the letter Z, maybe you and I can be in them too. hey BCCI has money to spend and seem to be freely giving away to charities so why not? right?
Piyush Chawla, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Parthiv Patel, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Ashok Dinda, Wriddhiman Saha, M Vijay, R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Sudeep Tyagi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary.
are above Irfan Pathan??? It almost feels like someone's just pulled out the names from a hat.
Nope. BCCI later clarified that it was a mistake. These players are in Group D while Irfan is in Group C. The contracts are now ok. The only one wrong is Munaf Patel who is being given a Grade B contract whereas he does not deserve that. Munaf should have been in Group C with Irfan or in Group D with the players you mentioned.
how is it ridiculous? yeah lets have contracts till the letter Z, maybe you and I can be in them too. hey BCCI has money to spend and seem to be freely giving away to charities so why not? right?
Its not about money. It is about reputation. The Indian players earn a lot more than this in IPL itself but it is just about reputation and encouragement to play for Indian domestics and international teams. Just to give you an example of the payments the players receive in IPL, I will give you some Group C and Group D players: Irfan Pathan - 3.7 crore every year Robin Uthappa - 3.2 crore every year Manoj Tiwary - 2.7 crore every year Sreesanth - 2.5 crore every year Dinesh Karthk - 2.1 crore every year Yusuf Pathan - 1.9 crore every year Parthiv Patel - 1.9 crore every year Piyush Chawla - 1.6 crore every year Wasim Jaffer - 60 lakhs every year I dont know the IPL contracts of the rest as they were made after the auction but almost all of them get in crores. So, what difference would these few lakhs make. It is more about encouragement rather than money. As you rightly said, BCCI makes enough money to throw some away but these are not throwing away but encouraging players with national contracts. Grade C (Rs 25 lakh): S Badrinath, Wasim Jaffer, Yusuf Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Sreesanth, Dinesh Karthik, Amit Mishra. Grade D (Rs 15 lakh): Piyush Chawla, Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Parthiv Patel, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mohammad Kaif, Virat Kohli, Ashok Dinda, Wriddhiman Saha, M Vijay, R Ashwin, Shikhar Dhawan, Sudeep Tyagi, Dhawal Kulkarni, Abhishek Nayar, Ajinkya Rahane, Manoj Tiwary.
they either give it to these players or eat it. which do you prefer?
problem with irfan was overconfidence in his abilities. i exactly remember when his demise started' date=' it was right after that hatrick against pak.[/quote'] tats ridiculous , previous trainers and physios had once commented about the way he practices .. he was a hard worker at the nets .. he had to be dragged out before he is exhausted completely .. its just a case of playing too much at a young age ,.. he dint get the time to recover from injuries and bad form..

Central contract: Is performance taken into account? The first-class cricketers in the country and many stakeholders have a legitimate right to know how the BCCI’s special committee picks players for the annual retainership, also known as the central contract, writes G Viswanath. More... Central contract: is performance taken into account? G. Viswanath Mumbai: The first class cricketers in the country and many stakeholders have a legitimate right to know how the BCCI’s special committee picks players for the annual retainership, also known as the Central Contract. There are cases where no explanation is needed, however, in several cases the BCCI has to make a convincing statement. The chief selector, the captain and coach of the national team and the secretary are part of the special committee. It’s not known whether Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Gary Kirsten were asked to give their inputs; however, K. Srikkanth must surely have consulted his colleagues. The yardstick To start with, performance with the bat/ball in the previous season is the only yardstick the special committee can consider while awarding contracts. If performance for the national team in Tests or One-Day Internationals is the basis, then one is left wondering why Mumbai’s Rohit Sharma figures in Grade ‘B’. He has not been capped in Test cricket so far. In the previous contractual period Sharma played against England, Sri Lanka, New Zealand and West Indies and he scored 152 runs in 11 innings in which he remained not out five times. His scores were 11 not out, 3, 28, 8 not out (against England), 25 not out, 4 not out, 15 (against Sri Lanka), did not bat and 43 against New Zealand and 4, 0, 11 and 1 against the West Indies. Thereafter, he was dropped for the tri-series in Sri Lanka and for the ICC Champions Trophy and he did not figure in the seven-match one-day series against Australia. He had suffered an injury during the Buchi Babu Tournament in Chennai. He has since recovered, as evident from the selectors’ decision to name him captain of the BCCI President’s XI match against Sri Lanka. Now, Sharma may be one of the brightest talents, but he doesn’t seem to have fulfilled the potential. He has played 41 matches and scored 695 runs. This, in itself, tells the story. Fortunate Sharma must regard himself fortunate to be in the second rung, more so on the day when he made his first meaningful contribution for Mumbai in four Ranji Trophy matches of the ongoing Super League. S. Badrinath was awarded the Grade ‘B’ Contract (Rs. 40 lakh) last year, but he did not play a single match for India. This time, he has been relegated to Grade C that carries a retainership of Rs. 25 lakh. Why? There are a number of cricketers who have not represented India in the 2008-09 period and almost all of them have been retained. Notable among them is S. Sreesanth. It’s time the BCCI makes public the criteria or honest cricketers like, for example, Karnataka’s R. Vinay Kumar and more of his ilk would begin to wonder whether he’s not as good as Bengal’s Ashok Dinda. Two years ago Rajasthan’s Pankaj Singh was in the Test squad in Australia, now he’s been forgotten, but Mohammad Kaif has made the Grade ‘D’ cut. A few years ago, three senior cricketers opposed the high sum awarded to Grade ‘A’ cricketers and an amount of Rs. 10 lakh was transferred to Grade ‘B’ and Grade ‘C’. Thereafter the BCCI introduced Grade ‘D’ that included players performing in the Ranji Trophy and those picked in the India ‘A’ and under-19 sides. Time-bound contract The BCCI also decided to award Grade ‘D’ for a specific time frame to a player selected for a Test or ODI from outside the select group. The BCCI has embarked on a number of projects and schemes for the development of cricket and it has been transparent to an extent. It’s on the aspect of the annual retainership, for which it sets aside 13 per cent of its gross revenue, that the BCCI has to divulge to the sport’s fraternity how it goes about the business.