It's become the refuge of the moneyed in South Bihar, Jamshedpur, Lurker. People moving into an ever expanding township in purpose built apartment blocks, many of them owning cars. The roads remain the same, so the main road in Bistupur, for example, resembles a car park. The last time I went to Dimna, there were around 5000 people there, and people have taken to driving to "resorts" outside the town to find a bit of a breather.
Yes it has become a refugee for moneyed Dhondy. The real estate price are really on the up. The thing about Jamshedpur is that there is a world of difference between the TATA areas and non-TATA areas and that just continues to get worse. However it is always a fun time to go visit the Jubilee Park. Bistupur is fun area. Probably spent at least a couple of evenings a week there. I wonder if they still have all those Food-Plaza etc there. PS: You seem to have lived in a lot of towns around Bihar/UP/Jharkhand area. How did that happen?
Haha! I've done that quite a few times. Hitched a ride on that from Dhanbad to Dumri. On some occasions' date=' it was so crowded that the poor driver had to ask the person sitting next to him to press the clutch when needed! :hysterical:[/quote'] :hysterical::hysterical: Another interesting experience back then used to be sitting in Driver's cabin a lot of times. Now it seems funny(back then it was not!) that you would run to catch the bus at Kantatoli Chowk(Ranchi) with the khallasi shouting, "aiye na Sir accha jagah hai" only for you to be made to sit in the Drivers cabin. Sona not allowed if you sat there. Sometimes a person also had to sit on the whole clutch/gear box waala area right next to the driver :haha::haha: Everybody looking in front while the poor sod looks backward. xxx

Passed out from Loyola, Jamshedpur, Lurks. Medical education, post graduation was by moving north to the cow belt, hence the hair raising commutes between the thrillingly urbane town of Mughalsarai and the set-your-pulse-racing Varanasi.

20 sections??? :confused_smile::confused_smile: Abbe Mamoo bana reha hai kya? That is like 1000 students in one class?(assuming 50 students per section)
yeah there were 2000 students in 11th and 12th alone.. also school use to get over for the day at different time for 11th and 12th( some 20 min gap) to avoid the massive rush of students
I think you would hard pressed to find a school in New Dlehi which doesn't have classes with at least 50 students.
larger number of sections were for 11th and 12th grade only. This is because of the large number of students being admitted in those grades from outside
Passed out from Loyola' date=' Jamshedpur, Lurks. Medical education, post graduation was by moving north to the cow belt, hence the hair raising commutes between the thrillingly urbane town of Mughalsarai and the set-your-pulse-racing Varanasi.[/quote'] Did you now? Thats good to know Dhondy. Loyola is a good school. Education wise Jamshedpur is pretty good, specially till Xth I would think. You should probably write about your Medical education sometimes. It would be rare for some of us, as most of us have a technical background. Would be fascinating to read. xxx
larger number of sections were for 11th and 12th grade only. This is because of the large number of students being admitted in those grades from outside
So you only had those oversized classes in 11th and 12th grade ? Weird. I went to the Air Force school at Lodhi Road from 6th to 9th, and in every year i was in a class with 50+ kids. There were 7 sections as well (up to G) and each one had at least 40 students. BTW, i hear that these days DPS only admits the kids of parents who can make massive donations to the school. Was that true back then as well ?
Ohhhh Lurks' date=' it was painful stuff, that. Believe me, you don't want to know a lot about the torture that went on!:haha:[/quote'] Which would make it more fun :wink_smile: My elder brother did his MBBS from PMCH, Patna. At the time he was in there I was in Patna too, and many a times I would end up staying overnight in his hostel. There used to skull and bones and what have you right under his bed(he is a Radiologist now). If I had a remote doubt whether to take Engineering or Medical that hair raising experience settled the decision. xx
So you only had those oversized classes in 11th and 12th grade ? Weird. I went to the Air Force school at Lodhi Road from 6th to 9th, and in every year i was in a class with 50+ kids. There were 7 sections as well (up to G) and each one had at least 40 students. BTW, i hear that these days DPS only admits the kids of parents who can make massive donations to the school. Was that true back then as well ?
they had a cutoff of 95 percent average in Science and Maths in 10th class when I applied for admission for 11th grade. Earlier they had English also in the consideration but when they saw that ICSE students got above 90 in English, they dropped English out of the criteria. That cutoff was only to appear for the interview and after you pass the interview you can get an admit. But when I started the 11th, I saw that there were students in my class who were studying in school since 6th but had 70% in tenth only. Some's dad was a lawyer in Supreme Court while someone's was an Income Tax commissioner

Good choice there, Lurker. By the time I started making a living I could get by on, my schoolmates who went into engineering, had been in jobs for 4 years, married and started a family.

Same thing my brother tells me Dhondy. His philosphy is - Do Medicine(or law) only if you have a family member with an already established practice. He is now slowly coming around though. I think it is tough for Doctors with so much studies and for so long a time. I suspect that a Doctor typically enjoys the fruits of his labour in his late 30's or so, as against Engineer which comes in early 30's. However once the hard work is done the returns are great. And dont forget that the respect factor would always be more for a Doctor than an Engineer. The latter is all about money, the former isn't..well theoretically.

I think you would hard pressed to find a school in New Dlehi which doesn't have classes with at least 50 students.
my school Vasant Valley we had an average of 22 students to each class.
Did you now? Thats good to know Dhondy. Loyola is a good school. Education wise Jamshedpur is pretty good, specially till Xth I would think. You should probably write about your Medical education sometimes. It would be rare for some of us, as most of us have a technical background. Would be fascinating to read. xxx
yeah... i have an immense admiration for medical students and others in the medical profession. i dropped out of med school in my first semester when i could just not keep up with it, and since then, my admiration has grown.
Is DPS acronym for Delhi Public School ? If so' date=' count me in as one of your alumni ( even if i only did KG & class 1 in DPS :haha:)[/quote'] DPS ?? :hysterical::hysterical: Sallle sab losers [koi aur modernites nahi hain yahaan par ?]
DPS ?? :hysterical::hysterical: Sallle sab losers [koi aur modernites nahi hain yahaan par ?]
Modern - [ Where the boys are bores and the girls are wh*res ] - Volume 1 There exists a sad excuse for a school, Tucked somewhere in the realms of VV... It was undoubtedly started by a fool, Or some astronomically sadistic loony... Modern- The Educational Hellhole, Modernites- A whole mutated race.. And if society was a supermodel; Modern would be the blemish On her otherwise perfect face... Modernites play an indispensable role, In this wonderful world of ours.. Who else would bang into a pole, And knock people off with their cars?! Who would get drunk and dance and spew on the road, And keep us entertained for hours?! Oh if not for marvelous Modernites, We wouldn't know that there is, indeed, life on Mars... Modern-Mecca Of Dumb, Extremely Rankling Neanderthals... Its a haven for those rich, spoilt brats. Converse with a Modernite, and you'll be convinced, That he posesses the IQ of a cap. The boys are far from virile, The girls are bereaved of their wits, The teachers are largely strange and senile, And instead of brains; everyone's got bricks. The babe brigades discuss only globally vital things, Namely lipstick and eyeliner and their numerous pairs of shoes... And the boys-they act like bloody pompous kings, As they guzzle down their seemingly infinite bottles of booze... Oh and now that I'm on such a roll, I simply must felicitate... Modernites for not scoring a solitary goal, Or for that matter, not winning a single debate. Alright, so some Dipsites might not be, Too easy on the eyes... And some girls may have legs like the trunks of a tree, But they've got brains of the same size... A Dipsite isn't exactly a Brad Pitt of sorts, That I will readily concede... But the last Modernite I saw was a cultivator of warts, And about as appealing as an opuntia weed... This piece of vindictive prose isn't yet complete, Because Glorious Goldy certainly deserves a mention, Beware-don't make a sound when you breathe, For she just might give you detention. She is evil-belonging to the night, But I don't really blame her, If she exercises tyranny with all military might, Ye never know; those Modernites may just maim her! Really, this inveighing has gone too far, But I'm having incredible fun, And you all better thank your stars, That in my hand is a pen, not a gun. Oh Modern-Where the dumb and dumber mingle, Where mediocrity is hailed as genius, Modern-where its uncool to be single, And where people are annoyingly imperious. Stay for only a little bit more, Because I'm very nearly finished, And now that I've cried blue murder galore, I doubt your Dipsite-hatred would've diminished. This may not be as witty or as verbose, As Pranay's little masterpiece in verse, But my intuition tells me that the next time I'm seen, It may very well be in a hearse.
It's from our alumni website :hysterical::hysterical:
Tucked somewhere in the realms of VV... It was undoubtedly started by a fool,
Bwahaha.. I was in BKR ! The ditty above, though hilarious, is typical of a dipsite living in a fantasy land in which they don't suck. All dipsites seem to have this arrogance about their nerdiness. Will somebody tell them that this pseudo-intelligencia act is just not cool ? Just 'coz we pay more attention to sports and "extra curricular activities" doesn't make us stupid, just "well rounded" :P http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modern_School_(New_Delhi) http://www.modernschool.net/ Wasn't particularly fond of the VV branch meself to be honest.