Guest Hiten. Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 Isnt it obvious to everyone that all this is just an elaborate marketing/publity gimmick? Anyone who thinks SRK 'accidentally' spoke out against Sena's 'Mumbai for Mahararshtrians only' policy just weeks before the launch of his movie doesnt know the way Indian politics/entertainment business well enough. I am sick and tired with these movie stars and politicians creating controversies out of thin air and the mainstream media duly giving prime-time coverage to it. Morris and his conspiracy theories :hysterical:. What motive did SRT and Mukesh Ambani have when they said Mumbai is for everyone and not just Marathis ?
Ram Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 Morris and his conspiracy theories :hysterical:. What motive did SRT and Mukesh Ambani have when they said Mumbai is for everyone and not just Marathis ? Yea you can laugh to your heart's content.. But if you're missing the ever-increasing trend of big ticket movies preceeded by their usual dose of controversies these days, I am sorry you're not following the news enough. I dont know about Ambani or SRT, but SRK is too much of a shrewd businessman to make casual comments that he knows will court controversy. What appals me more is how the media is creating serious news out what is essentially an elaborate, made-up drama.
suma25 Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 Isnt it obvious to everyone that all this is just an elaborate marketing/publity gimmick? Anyone who thinks SRK 'accidentally' spoke out against Sena's 'Mumbai for Mahararshtrians only' policy just weeks before the launch of his movie doesnt know the way Indian politics/entertainment business well enough. I am sick and tired with these movie stars and politicians creating controversies out of thin air and the mainstream media duly giving prime-time coverage to it. well could be but its too far fetched since couple of theatres were vandalised But don't know at the same time especially when the reviewers were giving five star ratings to the movie two or three days before the movie release.
Ram Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 well could be but its too far fetched since couple of theatres were vandalised But don't know at the same time especially when the reviewers were giving five star ratings to the movie two or three days before the movie release. Vandalzied? A couple of broken glasses and plastic chairs is hardly damage talking about, if that is what it is. And when was the last time the Indian film viewer went to movies based on reviews? Its all publicity bhai.. Do any of not think that a veteran of film Industry like SRK knows what to say and more importantly, what not to say, when? Obviously, there's no evidence to prove a direct collusion b/w the producers/SRK and the Sena, but at a minimum, we can safely establish that all those statements by SRK was at least a bait to see if something happens. And Sena/MNS will do anything to stay in the news.
suma25 Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 vandalised as in whole canteen/glass counter were destroyed screens were torn and posters torn off at one of the theatres The maharshtra chief minister came out and supported shahrukh khan and put the the entire police machinery to protect the theatres and then almost back down and then take the media critcism and then teesta setalvad and her gang protesting infront of matoshree seem a bit far fetched to be a promo
suma25 Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 And when was the last time the Indian film viewer went to movies based on reviews? Its all publicity bhai.. The reviews and his statement maybe a publicity stunt but what happened afterwards kinda looks far fetched to me to be a publicity stunt.
Ram Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 vandalised as in whole canteen/glass counter were destroyed screens were torn and posters torn offat one of the theatres The maharshtra chief minister to come out and support shahrukh khan and put the the entire police machinery to protect the theatres and then almost back down and then take the media critcism and then teesta setalvad and her gang protesting infront of matoshree seem a bit far fetched to be a promo What do you expect the Cong. govt. to do? Fold their hands and watch silently as the Sena runs riot. Even if the govt. knows that this is all just a publicity stunt (which is what it is, at least by the Sena), they have to be at least seen taking action. Else, their image will take a beating. And reg. the protest Teesta, it's a small publicity pie bhai.. might as well grab it while you can. The thing is, when poth parties of a transaction stand to benefit from a 'controversy', there's a bloody good chance that it wasnt all entirely accidental. I am not saying SRK and the Sena got into a room 3 weeks ago and planned it all, but trust me, gone are the days of genuine marketing and politics.
veer Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 was never been a supporter of SRK.. but this is goondagardi.. they failed against rahul gandhi.. and this again.. what is mumbai govt doing?
atul Posted February 11, 2010 Posted February 11, 2010 SRK paying price for close relations to Gandhi family , after Rahul visit of course thousands police protection Sena was on the mat but they played SRK issue cleverly for upcoming Mumabi election. I think Sena has bargain with Pawar with IPL issue to SRK issue. Pawar doesnt want congress influence to grow after Rajiv's successful visit. Sena didn't spare Sachin for their pet issue so don't think SRK will get ride.
ViruRulez Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 Dont care about SRK or MNIK but really hate this drama created through the last week. I am quite sure that Mumbai theatres will also show the movie within the next few days if not tomorrow. It seems to be heading towards another blockbuster and I hope that it does not go anywhere near to Ghajini or 3 Idiots success as I am a much bigger fan of Aamir. Karan Johar/SRK/Fox would not be in much loss even if it is not released in Mumbai I suppose because the movie is in huge demand overseas as per boxofficeindia. The movie is releasing over 550 prints overseas itself including 200 North American prints, 100 UK prints, 100 rest of europe prints etc. This is almost sure to be the biggest Bollywood hit in terms of overseas collection and so if it does not make much in the Mumbai circuit the overseas benefit might help it recover the loss.
ViruRulez Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 News channels are now reporting that Fox has announced that it would release the film nationally including Mumbai. They are also reporting that a compromise has been reached between SRK and SS. I dont know but it makes me even feel more that the whole issue might have been created for some cheap publicity through controversy for the film. Dont know but I feel SS and SRK might have been both involved in making this a publicity stunt for his film. Anyways, SRK makes publicity stunts and controversies for cheap publicity previously too as we all know. Daal me kuch kaala lag raha hai. :winky:
DomainK Posted February 12, 2010 Author Posted February 12, 2010 Isnt it obvious to everyone that all this is just an elaborate marketing/publity gimmick? Anyone who thinks SRK 'accidentally' spoke out against Sena's 'Mumbai for Mahararshtrians only' policy just weeks before the launch of his movie doesnt know the way Indian politics/entertainment business well enough. I am sick and tired with these movie stars and politicians creating controversies out of thin air and the mainstream media duly giving prime-time coverage to it. That is exactly what I thought till the multiplexes decided not to release the film. Now that the multiplexes have reversed their decisions, I am quite sure that it's a well organized publicity stunt. It's a win-win for everyone. The producers gain the much needed publicity. Thackray gets his much needed publicity. A bit of damage done to some of the theaters doesn't concern either party. It would be covered by insurance anyways.
yoda Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 It is very easy to come up with theories which is why they have no value unless backed by at least a shred of evidence.
suma25 Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 was never been a supporter of SRK.. but this is goondagardi.. they failed against rahul gandhi.. and this again.. what is mumbai govt doing? the govt however inefficient this one is has arrested abt 2000 ss workers.There are abt 10-12 police officers posted at every cinema hall where they are frisked .As i said earlier they have better things to do then employ their whole machinery to guard or fortify the multiplexes
DomainK Posted February 12, 2010 Author Posted February 12, 2010 the govt however inefficient this one is has arrested abt 2000 ss workers.There are abt 10-12 police officers posted at every cinema hall where they are frisked .As i said earlier they have better things to do then employ their whole machinery to guard or fortify the multiplexes That's a useless thing to do. That'w what parties like SS thrive on. They know that the leaders who finance, plan and execute these riots will never be touched. Some ground level workers would be arrested for a few days, will be released on bail and will be let off later for lack of direct evidence. Those who would be incarcerated, wont mind it. The leaders of the SS were openly challenging the law enforcement and the government. Why were they not arrested?
suma25 Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 ^ Why dont you ask the congress corporator or local police officer in your area about it. I think that would help you better.
Desi Cartman Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 On this story, Im sure some money has been given to *some* politicians else I cant understand why SS is changing its opinion every 12-24 hrs. Same thing with Sharad Pawar meeting SS to convince them to allow Aussie players, Im sure Sharad Pawar must have paid him to allow aussie players .. no wonder he was afte Ambani, SRT etc .. IMO its a trick to make money nothing else
Desi Cartman Posted February 12, 2010 Posted February 12, 2010 What do you expect the Cong. govt. to do? Fold their hands and watch silently as the Sena runs riot. Even if the govt. knows that this is all just a publicity stunt (which is what it is, at least by the Sena), they have to be at least seen taking action. Else, their image will take a beating. And reg. the protest Teesta, it's a small publicity pie bhai.. might as well grab it while you can. The thing is, when poth parties of a transaction stand to benefit from a 'controversy', there's a bloody good chance that it wasnt all entirely accidental. I am not saying SRK and the Sena got into a room 3 weeks ago and planned it all, but trust me, gone are the days of genuine marketing and politics. SRK wanted paki players in his team .. he has special love for paki players and everybody knows it. If there was a poll conducted in India about including paki players then I am sure majority ( if not 99%) wouldnt want pak players in IPL. SS tried to use it , plus its a fact that SS doesnt really like Muslims so the big clash. BTW the trouble started when few years ago SS etc started saying " We will not allow .... , our workers will take action ..... , Shiv saniks wont tolerate .... " This was the time when these bastards should have been put behind bars for inciting violence but sarkar didnt do anything. How on earth can a 2 koudi ka neta say " we will take action" and not get arrested ? Over the years it became worse, started with slapping some biharies to not allowing exhibitions and now its come down to will not allow ambani and SRK and SRT ...