Lurker Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 Because the discussion was on workload and how it helped those in the 30s .... unless you are saying there is no workload involved in playing FC :--D Look you are making this a joke, if its not already. You want to question Jack Hobbs 197 centuries in FC? By all means go for it. How many of us here really care enough to debate Wilfred Rhodes Ist class career??? I know I dont :giggle: That said I would still take you up on FC as well but we need to get test cricket out of the way, dont want you to come back to the same old rant again. So do you agree on VVS playing 3 times test cricket as Hobbs and I would move on to FC as well. Fair? The assumption you are making is that the cricketers are also affected by these things. Its a well known fact that Indian cricketers are on a strict diet and fitness regimen even during off days. There used to be no such strict restrictions back in the 30s which makes it even more harder for anybody to beleive that these guys were born with supernatural physical traits that just lasted for ever. Of course cricketers are affected by these as well. Why dont you show how many cricketers of yesteryears were as fat as a Ramesh Powar, or a Ashok Malhotra. Lets do Indian cricketers first so it would be easier to relate to. xxx
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 The assumption you are making is that the cricketers are also affected by these things. Its a well known fact that Indian cricketers are on a strict diet and fitness regimen even during off days. There used to be no such strict restrictions back in the 30s which makes it even more harder for anybody to beleive that these guys were born with supernatural physical traits that just lasted for ever. :cantstop: Yuvraj .
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 ehh ? Is SRT 40 yr old ? How many 40+ yr olds are playing International cricket today even against a rank minnow like BD ? So Sunil Gavaskar, Richards are weaker players compared to Tamim Iqbal as they had more 40 plus players? :cantstop: Try to say that after living longer than Bradman. Do you know the kind of junk food these guys eat nowadays. Obesity is all time high in US. Even in schools they stuff you with pizza. This is an era where we have the most unhealthy food. Look at Rohit sharmas, Yuvraj Singhs. Why do you think India sucks in olympics ? Because we are so fit? None of our present player is as fit as Gilly or Haydos who are touching 40. We should be the last one to talk about age, fitness.
The Outsider Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 The main argument of janab admin-ullah-khan is that DGB domniated his peers like nobody did hence the age factor. And speaking of bowlers you can only imagine the quality of bowling that was bowling against sides that had avg ages above 35. Can you show me how many series Bradman played where the average age of the bowling attack was more than 35? Or is it time for you to descend into sophistry again. By the way, what was the average age of this attack which inflicted a 5-0 whitewash : http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/249226.html :hysterical:
Lurker Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 Even if you are just talking about Test cricket ... JH played till he was 48 VVS is 35 now and between 35 and 48 JH played about 30 tests ... VVS will be lucky if he plays another 2 yrs thats about 15 tests never mind playing till 48. Unless you are saying that VVS is already equivalent to a 45 yr old JH in which case I have nothing to say. Arre baba even if VVS retires today he would still have played almost twice the number of tests than Jack Hobbs in 2/3rd the time. Samajhte nahin ho bhai tum. Hobbs played 61 tests in 22 years @ 3 test(or less) per year VVS played 110 tests in 14 years @8 tests per year. Kiska workload/wear-tear jyaada hoga bandhu??? Simple mathematics mein bhi drama karte ho tum. Have you seen a picture of WG ? :--D Have you seen Dwayne Leverock? See this is exactly what I was hinting at. You would pull out a name, like Grace or Enest Tildesley and this conversation would become a joke. Issiliye bola ke Indian cricketers ka naam do so we can both relate to. Offer is still on. Any cricketers of Amarnath era who would beat Ashok Malhotra in matter of girth?
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 yeah 45 yr olds circa 1930s were as fit as 25-30 yr olds of today ... that makes a lot of sense. Fitness is subjective. I can show supremely fit 45 year old and extremely unfit 25 year old. In cricket it is much more common. So your theory goes out of the window.
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 You chose 40 as cut off age not 35 beacuse Tendulkar is 36. Tell me you don't seriosly say you become far worse in 40 than when you are in 36? You don't seriously mean age is more important than skill? So all 19 year old cricketers who play cricket will play better cricket than Hayden? No skill required?
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 This is the stuipdest theory ever i have ever heard in support of Tendulkar !!
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 the unfit will get weeded out ... I already gave you examples. But what you can never show is that a 45 yr old could play in the modern game and score 10 FC hundreds ... never mind 100 ... and dont even talk about test cricket. This is where your theory goes into a tail spin and smilies start showing up. No not weeded out in cricket. Boon played for long. Ranatunga played for long. Inzi played for long. Cricket is meant for lot of lazy guys also. So your theory is going deep into well !! Ganguly is one of the most unatheltic player you can hope to see. He survived for 10 years.
The Outsider Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 When you kept uttering that word peers did you mean batsmen or bowlers ? Descended into sophistry already? :hysterical: You made a claim about sides having an average age being greater than 35. Show me how many teams took the field which had that average age, batting, bowling, or overall as a ratio to the total number of teams?
Lurker Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 Arrey baba but back then FC cricket was the main form of cricket ... are you saying that I simply pretend that those FC matches had no impact at all on JH ? Who in the world cares about FC??? If we are talking about FC then lets compare Merchant with Bradman, SRT wont even hold a candle to Vijay Merchant. Plus Merchant and Bradman being in close enough eras would make for a better comparison. Chalega? ke phir koi pench daalna hai? Leverock never played Test cricket ... WG and co did. And you are the one that is launching a defence of those players from that day not me. So now it becomes test cricket :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: You are now officially the ICF Yoyo, always swinging between extremes. Arre bandhu the discussion is about fitness so Leverock is much better than WG Grace. By the by I am still waiting for an Indian name :hmmm:
vvvslaxman Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 All theories failed. now clutching at last straw. lol
The Outsider Posted April 1, 2010 Posted April 1, 2010 You chose 40 as cut off age not 35 beacuse Tendulkar is 36. Tell me you don't seriosly say you become far worse in 40 than when you are in 36? You don't seriously mean age is more important than skill? So all 19 year old cricketers who play cricket will play better cricket than Hayden? No skill required? In another post he's already branded 35+ as useless as well. And speaking of bowlers you can only imagine the quality of bowling that was bowling against sides that had avg ages above 35. Wonder how Tendulkar scored that 200 recently - he wasn't supposed to according to someone's "theory" here. Imagine what crap an attack of Steyn, Parnell, Kallis, and Langeveldt would have been to allow a 35+ year old to score 200 in an ODI. :hysterical: