Reducing cricket to numbers

CSK Fan

You want to question Jack Hobbs 197 centuries in FC?
Have you ever seen footage of Jack Hobbs batting? I have! You should go look at the footage and stay away from the stats. It might open your eyes in to the quality of players they are. However, you won't do that and have never done that as you are more intrested in drooling over stats in cricinfo!
No one atleast me said anything about facing bowlers over 40 (in any case the bowlers start decline much earlier than 40 ) ... My point was about this business of dominating peers which is used ad-nauseum by the Bradman fanclub. The peers included mainly Jobbs and Hammond ... and both played a lot of cricket past 40. I have explained this in previous posts.
I do not know what the point is. Hobbs's average till his 35th birthday is 57.3 and at the end of his career it is 57.0 Hammond's average on his 35th birthday and at the end of his career are 59.1 and 58.5 respectively. I am not sure what it proves? Maybe I don't get you at all. I suppose that's what it is :)
^It proves nothing! Go watch footage of Hobbs batting instead of number crunching! A few people will be VERY dissapointed by what they say. In fact they might be embarrased by what they see.
Ok. He has conceded defeat on the age argument. Now he is trying some other line.
Guest BossBhai

-- Removed on request of the user --

Guest BossBhai

Tapioca' date=' given your vast understanding of the game ... its pretty dissapointing that you resort to these hit-and-run tactics with silly one-liners in these discussions.[/quote'] Meaningful oneliner is better than meaningless 10 ilne drivels.
Given that it is almost impossible these days for someone to play test cricket or even FC cricket past 40 never mind be as prolific as these guys and keep doing it till mid 40s and beyond .... we either say that these guys in the DGB era were superhuman or that the current lot is highly unfit or that the standards back in the 30s were so low that even older players could make the cut. I know where I stand but will be interesting to see your take on this.
That is the truth. Current lot is totally unfit. Bradman by all accounts had extraordinary stamina which he attributes to his healthy lifestyle. He totally abstained cigarette, drinks.
Guest BossBhai

that is not what the pro-Bradman group is trying to do here .... whats happening is since DGB was so dominant in his times the pro-Bradman group wants everybody to acknowledge (without even the simplest of scrutiny ) that he be treated as THE Alltime great using 99.94 and extrapolating it to all times. Try to question that and all hell breaks lose 90% of it laced with insults put downs and silly one-liners.
So you agree Tendulkar is not the greatest of all time? :hysterical:
that is not what the pro-Bradman group is trying to do here .... whats happening is since DGB was so dominant in his times the pro-Bradman group wants everybody to acknowledge (without even the simplest of scrutiny ) that he be treated as THE Alltime great using 99.94 and extrapolating it to all times. Try to question that and all hell breaks lose 90% of it laced with insults put downs and silly one-liners.
Nobody is putting your valid arguments down, what they are putting down is half-baked arguments as:
My point was about this business of dominating peers which is used ad-nauseum by the Bradman fanclub. The peers included mainly Jobbs and Hammond ... and both played a lot of cricket past 40.
Kya yaar kuch bhi? You make all these blanket comments in this Internet era without realizing they can readily be verified? Jack Hobba played in grand total of 1 series against Australia during DG's presense. You are sounding off as if JH was competing with DG in every other series, that too with Hobbs being around 40 plus. Wally Hammond played in 7 series against DG and was aged 25,27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 43. By the way you conviniently forgot other greats: Len Hutton - played in 2 series aged 22 and 30 at the time. Dennis Compton - 20, 28, 30 at the time. Herbert Sutcliffe - 34, 36, 38 and 40. Your comment that DG was competing against English geritaric batsmen is absolutely hollow. I am pretty sure I can pull out the age on Australian side as well but hopefully this shall end this discussion. xxx
Guest BossBhai

Iam talking of DGB's peers who are used as a benchmark ... Wally Hammond captained England despite being diagnosed with Arthritis ... that sort of thing simply wont fly today.
When was this? How many series? Hammond played in 7 series against Bradman aged 25,27, 29, 31, 33, 35, 43. Could you show in how many was he afflicted by arthritis??
Iam talking of DGB's peers who are used as a benchmark ... Wally Hammond captained England despite being diagnosed with Arthritis ... that sort of thing simply wont fly today.
. i have shown you how many unfit players we have in this era. Brett Lee picks up an injury every other match. Akhtar breaks down before bowling 3 or 4 overs. He had liposuction. Have you ever heard any cricketer having liposuction to reduce fat? Flintoff had multiple surgeries.
Munaf Patel does not even have arthritis and yet shows all the symptoms. Akram played with Type 1 diabetes, so all players of his era were crap too. Armstrong had cancer, so all cyclists of his time were crap too. :hysterical:
Guest BossBhai