Watched any new movies? *Please use spoiler tags*

yea even i saw the director's cut version rented the dvd bcause it was highly rated dunno why ..was very slow and you know what's gonna happen at the end anyways.if harrison ford wud have died at the end then that wud have been awesome but the same stupid ****
It is a classic and is no different from any other classic in that sense. If you ever sit and watch Dr. Zhivago or Lawrence of Arabia you will fall asleep. This is because of sheer length and "slowness" of the movie. Blade Runner has to be seen in the context that it was released about 20-30 years back and its affects were stellar for that time. Plus it has quite a decent story, almost humane in an otherwise sci-fi. Its not one of my favorite movies but I can certainly appreciate it as a good movie.
yes, I found it very moving. It has a lot of humanity in it, and asks a lot of great questions about humanity's "selective compassion". It's very relevant in today's politics. suma, maybe if you were expecting a tight, bourne-style thriller, I can see why you're disappointed.Though I didn't find it as slow as zhivago or lawrence. and the music is beautiful (vangelis) There are also these open questions do debate: apparently, ridley scott wanted ford's character to be a replicant, but faced pressure from the producers/ford. so in the end, it's kind of left ambiguous. the biggest clue is of course, the origami unicorn at the end.
suma, maybe if you were expecting a tight, bourne-style thriller, I can see why you're disappointed.Though I didn't find it as slow as zhivago or lawrence. and the music is beautiful (vangelis) There are also these open questions do debate: apparently, ridley scott wanted ford's character to be a replicant, but faced pressure from the producers/ford. so in the end, it's kind of left ambiguous. the biggest clue is of course, the origami unicorn at the end.
yea i was expecting it to be a thriller and fast paced but it turned out to be something else something as you said .agree on the harrison ford angle in the whole movie he was shown as not showing any emotions at all i was kinda of looking forward to the climax kinda expecting some twist at the end. but now kinda get it what you and lurks are saying same goes for hitchcock's psycho and mel gibson 's mad max(maybe) i guess At those time the movies were sort of path breaking in their own genre .
Guest Hiten.

U me aur hum. People say its 'inspired' by The Notebook (im not too sure about this). But this movie is really worth watching it. Bit slow, but Ajay and Kajol acted marvelously well. Ajay's directorial debut was a striking one. Is it safe to say we are getting rid of cheap fck directors ? We need more Aamir and Ajay like directors in the industry.

Yeah second half of U me aur hum was really good- the first half was simply crap and unneccessary Good effort by Ajay but I wish he had been a little more brave and not tried to put the boring masala in like his awful looking shirts, humorless jokes and usual mix of song & dance in the first half
Please leave feedback for Shaurya ? Is it worth $2 and 2.30 hrs
if you havent seen tom cruise and jack nicholson's few good men go for this hindi rip off instead. i bet they might have even copied the by now classic dialogue by nicholson" u want the truth u cant..."cant just imagine kk who plays nicholson's part in this hindi version saying the dialogues though:giggle:
"tujhe sachai chahiya?" "Hain mujhe sachai chahiya" "to sun... main tera baap hoo" "nahi!!!" "upni aatma main jhank kar dekh... tu janta hai ki yeah saach hai"... (nickel for the first person who figures who what the vague reference is)...
yea even i saw the director's cut version rented the dvd bcause it was highly rated dunno why ..was very slow and you know what's gonna happen at the end anyways.if harrison ford wud have died at the end then that wud have been awesome but the same stupid ****
If you think that Blade Runner was "slow" or "confusing" it might be time to wean yourself off the diet of hindia potboilers... but i will do you a solid... i will explain the movie to you. a bit of background first: the movie is inspired by a novel by famous science fiction author the late mr. philip k dick (PKD) who wrote "do androids dream of electric sheep" (DADES) in 1977. PKD's novel are often less science fiction, more philosophy, and there is a general theme of investigation. Investigating the nature of humanity. i.e. what makes us human. is it our ability to experience compassion? our ability to retain memories? ability to aquire and process knowledge? our ability to experience love? sorrow? or is it sheer biology that is our defining characteristic? (SPOILER ALERT) keeping the above questions in mind, lets dive into the screenplay. the story begins with nexus 6 androids (android i.e. robots made to resemble human beings) that are used for purposes of colonization and terraforming of other planets. however, since they are subject to very difficult conditions, they are designed to function better than most human beings. i.e. they are resilient, stronger, faster, and possibly a lot more intelligent. however, this presents a possible threat... since these androids are delt with a heavy hand and rarely granted rights, infact, two of the female androids are "pleasure models" i.e. designed for the exclusive purpose of sexual gratification for off world colonists, there is the overwhelming possibility of revolt. infact, such an uprising had indeed occured which inspired the creators of these androids to design a caveat in their androids... a 4 year lifespan. hence, after a period of four years, the androids... expire. nonetheless, as the organization that makes the androids: Tyrell corporation is driven by a desire for perfection, and hence their moto "More human than human". Hence, tyrell corporation (and its founder, Tyrell) arrive at certain ideas that would make their androids more like authentic human beings. they incorporate in their androids a system of memories. i.e. the androids have knowledgable recall of past events such as memories with parents, memories with loved ones, memories with friends etc. this gives them a false pretense of a more human like existence. Such is the impact of this innovation is that some androids are not self aware of their status, case in point, Tyrell's neice who later befriends Harrison Ford. she has memories implanted of a youth, all borowed from Tyrell's actual neice, and thus this androids begins to believe that she is a human being. since such endeavors that make the androids virtually indistinguishable from human beings, human law enforcement have arrived at a solution: the Voight Kamf Test. a test that in the book relied on the delay in processing strong emotions such as anger, disgust, surprise to evaluate if the subject of hte test is a human or an android. humans of course, process emotions faster than any robot ever could. however, the wedge between the two is slowly being removed. in the opening sequence, holden, a blade runner (the name assigned to individuals who isolate, test, pronounce and finally terminate, or 'retire' the androids) is shot and mortally injured by an adroid (nexus 6 model, name leon) who along with six other androids escaped from an off world mining site and have arrived on earth, a planet where androids are forbidden. question is, why the frack are they here? this is where we go back to the questions i presented earlier: "what makes us human?" memories? the androids have planted memories that are just as vivid and livid as any human beings'. compassion? we see that later in the movie when the android rescues harrison ford in his last few moments of existence from the roof ledge, even though ford had killed all his friends. emotions? every android displays emotions that are just as humane as ours. zhora (the dancer andy) exhibits fear, leon exhibits anger and aggression when asked about his mother or when zhora is inhumanely retired, rachael (tyrell's neice android) exhibits love, uncertainty and vunerability... hence, one would conclude that these nexus 6 models are for all practical purposes, other than sheer biochemistry, authentic human beings... and we humans have a desire for life. a self preservation gene if you want to call it that. these androids have come to earth for just that... for "life"... they have come seeking tyrell for more life, to extend their existence beyond the measly 4 pathetic years, most of which they have spent in harrowing conditions. unfortunately, they cant find this thing. tyrell tells them that their life spans cannot be extended... and thus in dejection they kill tyrell before preparing to meet their own mortality at the hands of the blade runner. the end of the movie, which was by the way, an spontaneous dialogue by Roy Batty (the android with white hair, played by Rutger Haeur) "i have seen things that you wont believe... attack ships on fire off the shoulder of orion, i have seen c beams glitter in the dark near the tannhouser gate. all those memories will be lost in time, like tears in the rain..." this dialogue is telling of his eventual dissatisfaction... he had a desire for life. a very strong desire for life, and even though he was just as human as you and i, he was denied this desire. and yet, in his last breathe, he did something profoundly human: he exhibited compassion by saving his executor. but here is another twist in the movie... in the director's cut, one of harrison ford's dreams is of a white unicorn running through misty meadows. untill minutes before the end, we dont know about the dream's signfiicance... till when rick deckard (harrison ford) returns to his apartment to rescue rachael, who is also an android, a nexus 6, a forbidden android, who gaff (played by edward james olmos) intends to retire... he notices a small present left by gaff... a white origami unicorn. terribly reminisent of his dream.. a dream he never shared with gaff... unless the dream was planted... like planted memories... in the end, the movie is above all a tragedy. a desire for life but a desire left unfulfilled... (SPOILER ENDS) watch the movie again mate... and maybe you will discover something about your own humanity in it. PKD has the distinction of being the author with the third highest number of movies dramatized from his novels (behind stephen king and michael cricton)... some of his other works that have been made into movies, regretablly, only minority report is worth mention. the others such as total recall, paycheck etc are quite horrendous.
yes, I found it very moving. It has a lot of humanity in it, and asks a lot of great questions about humanity's "selective compassion". It's very relevant in today's politics. suma, maybe if you were expecting a tight, bourne-style thriller, I can see why you're disappointed.Though I didn't find it as slow as zhivago or lawrence. and the music is beautiful (vangelis) There are also these open questions do debate: apparently, ridley scott wanted ford's character to be a replicant, but faced pressure from the producers/ford. so in the end, it's kind of left ambiguous. the biggest clue is of course, the origami unicorn at the end.
yeah... in an interview, he explicitly states that rick deckard is a nexus 6 himself, but in the novle, Do androids dream of electric sheep, this is almost certainly false, however, he has a partner in his search for the androids who discovers that he himself is an android... and is almost driven into suicide.

lol . thanks for the explaination thx but i got the gist of the movie and it was not confusing for me but i did feel it was slow As i said before it might have been a good movie but i didnt like it and dont think i will be renting the movie again soon . As for the bollywood potbolier movie stuff i hardly watch the usual bollywood stuff apart from any thing off beat .

August Rush - AWESOMENESS! made my day, heck made my week! Jumper - nice time pass. oh, and The Darjeeling Limited (along with Hotel Chevalier)

number of people had not idea that hotel chevalier was essential viewing prior to darjeeling limited... but nonetheless, good ole wes anderson (who lives like a mile away, or atleast his houston home, where he was born and raised and still occassionally visits, is little distance from here) has come good as always. check out his other stuff: life aquatic with steve zissou; rushmore; bottle rocket; the royal tenenbaums...

watched amercian gangster. Pretty good movie. It was interesting to note that it was a true story the last desi movie I watched was Om Shantee Om. I really enjoyed the first half of the move as it was quite comical but didnt enjoy the second as much.

is jumper an English movie?
yeah... has anakin skywalker... aka hayden christenssen as this dude who can (using his mind's will) create small wormholes in space and thus move across the earth at his absolute discretion. chasing him in this drama is master windo... aka samuel l jackson (motherf*cker!!!) who plays a vicious bad guy, as usual. nonetheless, the movie is a little south of pathetic, and i guess the curse of the skywalker is quite alive... any actor who has ever potrayed a skywalker has seen his career doomed: first it was mark hamil (who played luke skywalker in SW episodes 4, 5 and 6), and now its hayden christenssen who plays anakin skywalker in SW episodes 1, 2, and 3...