riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 by learning how to leave them. look at how pak played aussies - they hardly touched a short delivery' date= and look at how we played them - jumping in the air and trying to hook them. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Comparing batting in St.Lucia with batting in Barbados.But yeah expected from u. Yep we will learn from ''Paks'' ur majesty.
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Comparing batting in St.Lucia with batting in Barbados.But yeah expected from u. watch the highlights. pak were leaving the deliveries alone.
riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 watch the highlights. pak were leaving the deliveries alone. We are discussing about ''bouncy '' wicket.
mastermind_quad Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 we had one bouncy pitch ....in kotla but SL ne mana kar diya aadhi inning se khelna k liye.....:--D:--D:--D
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 We are discussing about ''bouncy '' wicket. in case you are still not getting what i'm saying i'm talking about "leaving" a bouncer alone. not play it. its not a tough skill to master. bouncy wicket or non bouncy wicket it doesn't matter.
riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 in case you are still not getting what i'm saying i'm talking about "leaving" a bouncer alone. not play it. its not a tough skill to master. bouncy wicket or non bouncy wicket it doesn't matter. Oh so pitcch doesn't matter for u.Then how come we scored that much runs against SA in St.Lucia and looked atrocious in Barbados.Are u saying that playing a bouncer in Chennai and Perth are similar.
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 Oh so pitcch doesn't matter for u.Then how come we scored that much runs against SA in St.Lucia and looked atrocious in Barbados.Are u saying that playing a bouncer in Chennai and Perth are similar. for the third time, i was talking about leaving not playing. its like i'm talking to a wall here.
mastermind_quad Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 Prepare kya karna ...baki kam to ball ne karna hai...!!!!!!!!
vvvslaxman Posted May 15, 2010 Author Posted May 15, 2010 BANUN31y2zY&feature=related Something which the likes of Gambhir, Raina etc can learn from. Personally i don't think Gambhir is not such a terrible player against short balls in longer formats. He was the highest run getter among all 3 teams for CB series in Australia. He made over 400 plus runs. Combining with his poor form and the nature of format made him play in two minds. Otherwise he is a fine player. Padosis might have orgasm over his dismissals. But i won't worry too much bar in T20 games despite i was over-reacting earlier. He is a fine player against pace bowling. It is a matter of getting used to it. But in Raina's case he repeatedly makes wrong shot selection. A fine talent with just one weakness. Hope he works hard on it and fixes it.
riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 for the third time' date=' i was talking about leaving not playing. its like i'm talking to a wall here.[/quote'] So we should leave short pitch balls in T20.Great idea.
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 So we should leave short pitch balls in T20.Great idea. yes only one bouncer per over allowed. leave it alone. you love arguing don't you. just accept the fact that you were wrong and i was right and move on. it won't kill ya and we won't judge you.
graphic23 Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 yes only one bouncer per over allowed. leave it alone. you love arguing don't you. just accept the fact that you were wrong and i was right and move on. it won't kill ya and we won't judge you. Pakis judging us? Seriously? What has ICF come to? :headshake:
riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 yes only one bouncer per over allowed. leave it alone. you love arguing don't you. just accept the fact that you were wrong and i was right and move on. it won't kill ya and we won't judge you. Alright i was wrong,Pak batsmen were better equipped handling short pitch stuffs.BTW who is this ''we''?
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 Pakis judging us? Seriously? What has ICF come to? :headshake: don't call me a paki again. this is your last warning.
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 Alright i was wrong' date='Pak batsmen were better equipped handling short pitch stuffs.BTW who is this ''we''?[/quote'] "we" as in the forumers.
riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 don't call me a paki again. this is your last warning. :fear: Yeah i heard that ''paki'' is a racist word.
nballa Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 :fear: Yeah i heard that ''paki'' is a racist word. damn right it is. and i don't appreciate it.
riya Posted May 15, 2010 Posted May 15, 2010 damn right it is. and i don't appreciate it. What about Pakistani:nervous:
Precambrian Posted May 16, 2010 Posted May 16, 2010 Personally i don't think Gambhir is not such a terrible player against short balls in longer formats. He was the highest run getter among all 3 teams for CB series in Australia. He made over 400 plus runs. Combining with his poor form and the nature of format made him play in two minds. Otherwise he is a fine player. Padosis might have orgasm over his dismissals. But i won't worry too much bar in T20 games despite i was over-reacting earlier. He is a fine player against pace bowling. It is a matter of getting used to it. But in Raina's case he repeatedly makes wrong shot selection. A fine talent with just one weakness. Hope he works hard on it and fixes it. There is no doubt he is vulnerable to short deliveries. You don't forget "technique", Gambhir was all over the place against such bowling in this world cup. He can overcome this by just leaving the delivery in test cricket. But the problem is when opposition targets him with that delivery, it will affect his scoring rate, make him go overdefensive and ultimately cause his downfall. So developing a scoring shot against short ball is a must. It need not be the hook which requires substantial tech adjustments. Sachin showed how shorter guys can use their short stature into advantage by playing the above shots. The only requirements are a good eye and ability to play it late, both of which Gambhir possesses. Plus this uppercut is much safer an option if rightly executed than the hook.
vvvslaxman Posted May 16, 2010 Author Posted May 16, 2010 There is no doubt he is vulnerable to short deliveries. You don't forget "technique", Gambhir was all over the place against such bowling in this world cup. He can overcome this by just leaving the delivery in test cricket. But the problem is when opposition targets him with that delivery, it will affect his scoring rate, make him go overdefensive and ultimately cause his downfall. So developing a scoring shot against short ball is a must. It need not be the hook which requires substantial tech adjustments. Sachin showed how shorter guys can use their short stature into advantage by playing the above shots. The only requirements are a good eye and ability to play it late, both of which Gambhir possesses. Plus this uppercut is much safer an option if rightly executed than the hook. No need of scoring shot against short ball in Tests. You can leave it all day. That is what Kirmani did for every 5 bouncers Marshall hurled at him at Chepauk. He kept on leaving him. You just develop the technique for leaving. That's enough. Those days teams won't have long leg and deep square leg when they bowled bouncers. These days they have them. So it is a risky shot even for seasoned players. Gauti faced one of the most hostile spell from Flintoff at Kanpur. He weathered it. What he got at barbados was nothing. When you are in two minds you are going to look very ugly against short balls. Gauti's problem is that. His form has been iffy. Once he gets back to his form you will see a different Gambhir.