WTF :shrug: I never quite liked the dogs and they are not as easy pets as they are made out to be but this one is way too barbaric. How come 15 street dogs were in a pack??? Do they live in community? Looks like this is not a single case either, there have been instances before and after this. What do you fellas make out of this? I need to speak to my people back home to check on this one. I can feel the pain of the child really as I was once attacked by 4 dogs at once some years ago. Not to mention two went flying thanks to my sturdy boot but two of them had a taste of my flesh in the thigh and calf. Nope I wasn't a burglar, this happened in a park. Stray dogs kill another child Staff Reporter This is the second such incident in Bangalore in two months # The five-year-old boy was attacked by 15 dogs # Minister announces a compensation of Rs. 1 lakh IRREPARABLE LOSS: Annapurna and Maheswara grieving for their son Manjunath, in Bangalore on Thursday. ? Photo: V. Sreenivasa Murthy BANGALORE: In an appalling repeat of the Chandra Layout incident where a little girl was fatally attacked by a pack of feral dogs, five-year-old Manjunath was mauled to death by 15 dogs near his home at BEML Quarters in C.V. Raman Nagar Wednesday evening. He died of injuries later at Manipal Hospital. This is the second such incident in the city in as many months after eight-year-old Sridevi died on January 5. "Four of us were playing hide-and-seek in the evening. All of us hid elsewhere but Manju came here to hide," five-year-old Srivatsa told The Hindu , pointing to the vacant land behind the BEML Quarters. Srivatsa's father V. Ramu was the first to see the attack. "I was doing gardening when I noticed a pack of dogs fighting over something. When I saw what it was, I called my neighbour M.G. Loni and we tried scaring the dogs with stones but in vain. After we beat them with a stick, the dogs left the child alone," Mr. Ramu said. Manjunath was so bloodied that only his playmate Srivatsa could recognise him. "I saw one of Manju's slippers lying near him. That's how I came to know it was him," said Srivatsa. Joseph Xavier, paediatric surgeon at Manipal Hospital, said in a statement here that Manjunath was brought to the hospital in a moribund state. "Apart from numerous lacerated injuries all over the body, face, upper and lower limbs, and part of the scalp being avulsed from the skull, the child had a major injury on the throat due to which the wind pipe had almost split into two," he said. The child was bleeding profusely and his blood pressure was too low to be recorded. "Despite our best efforts, the damage was far too much and he could not be saved." At BEML Quarters, neighbours of the victim's family gave vent to their anger even as Manjunath's parents, Maheswara, training instructor at BEML, and Annapurna, and the child's elder brother, Vignesh, sat numbly. The child's body lay wrapped in hospital white, his innocent face scarred by the attack and post-mortem stitches. He seemed almost forgotten in the crowds that included a battery of politicians and civic officials. "Manju was a good-looking child, naughty and intelligent too," reminisces Uday Kumar, a trainee at BEML. Thirteen-year-old Harish, the victim's friend, said: "He always wanted to play with the older children. He would always ask us to let him play cricket with us." Health Minister R. Ashok announced a compensation of Rs. 1 lakh and promised to talk to BEML authorities to deal with the street dog menace in the area. BEML Quarters comes under the protected area of the Defence Ministry and Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) has no jurisdiction over it. BBMP Commissioner K. Jairaj has issued a notice to BEML authorities seeking explanation of the incident and offering BBMP services in maintaining the area.

Re: Stray dogs kill another child Here we go another report BTW what's with the city council or animal control, don't they take any kind of action??? This is way stupid to see kids being killed by dogs. Worse part is they are hunting in a pack. Now a kid, tomorrow an adult. Can dogs end up at the top of the food chain? Stray dogs 'kill another child' By Habib Beary BBC News, Bangalore Stray dogs in India The population of stray dogs has increased dramatically Stray dogs have killed a three-year-old boy in India's hi-tech capital of Bangalore, police say. The death led to protests by irate residents over what they say is the failure of the civic authorities to control an estimated 70,000 strays. Police said that the boy was bitten by a pack of dogs near his home in a suburb in the eastern part of the city late on Wednesday night. It is the second child death blamed on stray dogs in the city recently. Population mushroom The boy's parents said that he died before they could get him to hospital. "It is very unfortunate. It is bad for Bangalore's image," said Karnataka state Health Minister R Ashok. Mr Ashok was mobbed by protesting residents after the incident, along with Bangalore Corporation Commissioner K Jairaj. Stray dog in India Some argue that stray dogs in Bangalore should be culled The residents were demonstrating to demand a cull of stray dogs, whose population they say has mushroomed in recent years. They demanded the closure of illegal mutton and chicken shops which they say attracts packs of dogs looking for left-over meat. The shops have been accused of dumping waste meat onto the streets. This is the second reported killing by stray dogs in the same neighbourhood in less than two months. In the first incident, an eight-year-old girl, Sridevi, was killed in what several witnesses said was "an horrific and ghastly mauling". She was allegedly dragged nearly 20 metres in December by a pack of stray dogs before being savagely mauled to death. 'Knee-jerk reaction' A fortnight ago, another child was attacked but escaped with injuries. Mr Jairaj said that mobile squads have now been set up "to crackdown" on illegal mutton and chicken shops in and around Bangalore. Police in Bangalore The authorities are accused of being slow to react to the problem Civic authorities had earlier ordered a cull of all diseased strays, but the campaign was opposed by animal activists. "There are so many other things that the municipal authorities should look after," said Dilip Bafna, a trustee of the Animal Rights Fund. "No stern action has been taken against illegal meat shops. They dump waste on the roads, while people litter the roads and then complain about stray dogs," he said. In a letter to the state government, former High Court judge MF Saldanha said that the culling of dogs was a "knee-jerk reaction". He called for the stepping-up of an anti-rabies vaccine initiated by the local civic agencies.

Re: Stray dogs kill another child BTW Animal rights activists don't want any action taken on the stray dogs :eew: I propose the activists should be given away 4-5 such dogs to take care of. I suppose it is a shame they can't acknowledge the lives of little ones are lost to dogs of all on the street.

Re: Stray dogs kill another child One of the other problems with cities like bangalore is ineffective garbage disposal.Stray dogs come in search of food and if there is plenty of garbage strewn around, it is an open invitation for these dogs. Since the garbage generated is very high in cities like bangalore compared to other places, the survival and reproduction of street dogs increase dramatically. Once a stray dog is sterilised, it will become less aggressive and not to mention the fact that it will not reproduce because the mating instincts are absent. This way the number of stray dogs will reduce over a period of time, gradually. This ensures atleast some population control . And senile dogs needs to be exterminated. Also Identify the extremely ferocious dogs and exterminate them Let nature take its own course. The government should ensure that all stray dogs are sterilised and revaccinated every year against rabies. Bangalore has more than 50 deaths last year alone due to stray dog. Not man's best friend afterall.

Re: Stray dogs kill another child While this is sad, you don't need to get rid of every such animal. As KR said, sterilization is a good solution, few tragedies like these are exceptions rather than regular occurrings.

Re: Stray dogs kill another child No of course you don't get rid of the animals but there should be some sort of animal control right??? Otherwise it will be a mayhem on the streets. Doesn't look like anyone has taken any kind of action. I was quite surprised at my each visits to Bangalore the number of animals on the street growing. The bigger animals like the cattle numbers on the streets have come down but the number of stray dogs on the street was disturbing to say the least. One late night we were returning home after few pints and we had couple of dogs chase our car and they leapt as high as the car windows. Imagine a plight of a biker or a motor cycle rider at that hour with the kind of psycho dogs around. I think it is ridiculous to have a situation such as pack of dogs killing a kid on the street.

Re: Stray dogs kill another child Ravi.... i had 2 dogs until a few months back and they are one of the most wonderful creations of god.... but then, they are animals.... one of the first things, you need to know about bringing animals to live among humans is, you alone are responsible for their actions.....many pet cruelty happens because the owners dont understand this.... they ill-treat the dogs thinking, it is disobedient or it is creating nuisance or it is being stubborn or such...... personally, i have interacted so much with them, tht i can say for 99% sure, that i can handle most aggressive attacking kinda dogs without any need for force... Dogs by nature are pack animals... these stray dogs have been abandoned with hardly any food or shelter.... wat do u expect? they will beg for food? obviously they will attack small prey, in this case a human child... the government has employed certain people and given them the responsibility of ridding the streets of stray dogs, to exactly prevent these kind of happenings.... but then, how many do their jobs sincerely while workng for the government.....

Re: Stray dogs kill another child I used to feed this stray dog when i was in delhi on a daily basis. once i accidentally pet the dog on his head while he was eating and that little fracker charged me and bit down my finger.... still have nasty gash running the entire length of my hand from the base of my thumb (where his teeth punctured my skin) to the second knuckle (till where he tore through my skin before his tooth exited my flesh)... had to get 6 shots of that rabies vaccination. what was worse, the fracker try to chomp down on my jewels too! had it not been my physical agility, a lot of ladies would have gone through their entire lives unsatisfied...

Re: Stray dogs kill another child but nevertheless, i am still pro-animal rights. we need to reacquaint these animals to their natural habitat... cant frack with millions of years of evolution! they are a social animal and are instinctive hunters. heck on the serengeti, till not too long ago, a certain variety of dogs hunted lions in packs...

Re: Stray dogs kill another child Most animals, even the ferocious hunters, are quite innocent. They usually attack humans when there is serious shortage of foods, or because of past cruelty by humans or to save their young (also related to the previous reason). You can see on many documentaries in africa, many cheetahs which didn't have any horrible experience from humans, usually are very friendly with humans, they rest on, under, beside the car very often.

LUCKNOW: In a shocking incident, a group of ferocious stray dogs fatally attacked a 5-year-old boy in Kazipur village of Meerut on Tuesday evening. Allegations are that stray dogs in the area feed on raw flesh disposed of by local butchers and are turning into man-eaters. The canines are alleged to have attacked 17 persons in the past few weeks and repeated complaints lodged with the Nagar Nigam and police have failed to yield any results. Meerut district magistrate (DM) Kamini Chauhan, when contacted, said that a team has been dispatched from the Nagar Nigam to take stock of the situation and added that action would be initiated accordingly. "We got the information around 10 pm (on Tuesday) and immediately a team was sent to the village where the incident took place," she said. In the Tuesday incident, reports said that Anuj (5) was playing outside his house in the evening when a group of canines attacked him. The dogs bit him all over, including the neck and face till the locals rushed to boy's rescue with sticks and stones to chase away the dogs. But, by the time the dogs were chased away, Anuj was rendered unconscious and profusely bleeding from the scores of bite marks. He was rushed to the district hospital where doctors declared him dead upon arrival. According to the attending doctors, the bite marks on the neck of the victim apparently left the trachea of the boy badly damaged causing asphyxia resulting in death. Reports said that earlier too the dogs had targeted dozens of residents and children and despite repeated complaints, neither the Nagar Nigam nor the police have come to their rescue. Resentment was brewing among the villagers in Kazipur, particularly against the local butchers, who have been accused of disposing of raw flesh and other waste in the open drains of the village on which the canines feed.
even in South Delhi there are 100s of dogs in each suburb and they often bite people. Few years back there was a project to kill these dogs but later some animal rights activists made sure that it didnt happen. :((

too bad....the boy died..this dog menace is a national problem in India, also these dogs start mounting on eachother in public places during heat...causing embaressment to onlookers...especially people who are standing in Bus-stop queues...poor guys can't even leave the queue to get away from such a pathetic scene.

I think those PETA thugs need to fed to these dogs as well. These dogs are vile and evil. They hunt in packs and are menacing especially in the night. I used to go in 2 -wheelers in the night, these evil dogs used to attack, not the bike, but the legs. They know exactly who was driving. If it was left to me, I will kill all stray dogs.

At times greenies/animal rights activists go a little too over the top - there are points where they need to realize they're putting human lives ahead of a dog or a tree. On that note desi, I take it you've been following some of the backlash in Vic regarding some of the govt/local regulations and the red tape that made the fires so much worse by preventing people from clearing trees that were fire hazards (or making it really expensive for them to do so?).

yes I have been and its funny that people are now blaming "Greens" for this. I think in this case people fell for hype about how good trees are. IMO the council/MP should get blamed for this and in future safety should be first priority. I still cant understand why someone would light a fire though :baghead: just proves that there are idiots in all cultures. Some of the fires were started by a guy who traveled for more than 50kms on his bike with a fuel tank to light these fires ..

"Greens" aren't the people who denied permits to remove trees, or fined people $50K when they bulldozed a few. As far as lighting a fire - sometimes it can be something as careless as a jackass just starting a BBQ or lighting a cigarette and throwing it away in ignorance. Other times it's deliberate, and those people are sick, twisted people who ought to be behind bars.

"Greens" aren't the people who denied permits to remove trees' date= or fined people $50K when they bulldozed a few. As far as lighting a fire - sometimes it can be something as careless as a jackass just starting a BBQ or lighting a cigarette and throwing it away in ignorance. Other times it's deliberate, and those people are sick, twisted people who ought to be behind bars.
i meant "funny" since people have off late been supporting them , believing that they know the best about environment etc. even I voted for greens in the local council elections