Desi Cartman Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 NEW DELHI: A 45-year-old NRI allegedly beaten up by a group of youth in Greater Kailash-II on May 21 midnight, had to run from pillar to post to get his case registered. Barry Bhangoo collected CCTV footage from the cameras installed at the GK II market to prove his case. Based on the CCTV footage, police, three days after the incident, registered the case and said they have identified the suspects and will arrest them soon. Barry, a US resident, works as a CEO in a California software company. ‘‘I was on way to a restaurant in GK from my place on the midnight of May 21, when I saw a group of boys and girls, apparently drunk, stepping out of Swagat Restaurant. They stopped right in front of my car, and I had to hit the brakes quite hard. This startled one of the girls in the car.’’ As he tried to drive away, someone from the group flung a stone at his window. ‘‘One of them came over to the car, dragged me out and hit me on the head before flinging me headfirst to the ground,’’ Barry added, who received a haemorrhage and a slip disc due to the assault. It took him three days to receive an FIR copy from the police and when the police investigations did begin, his witnesses were threatened by the accused. ‘‘These boys seemed rich and influential. I saw them sitting with police and interviewing the witnesses one day,’’ said Barry. About a week after the incident, Barry went in search of the CCTV footage of the night. ‘‘I had seen many CCTV cameras around the area, but when I asked the police to access the footage, they told me they didn’t know how to use a computer:giggle:. Barry, being a software engineer, decided to access and review the recorded footage himself.I checked the footage from various angles and finally got the faces of the assailants,’’ said Barry. Additional CP (south west) Virender Singh Chahal said, ‘‘We have registered a case of hurt and investigations have established the role of a youth.â€
Clarke Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Pulees chaan been kar rahi haiiiii .. report kuch hi dinon/hafton/mahinon/sadiyon mein aa jaegi.
DomainK Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 They have registered a case of hurt? WTF. He can sue his assailants and the police. He should. He should make public the video of the assault and start a blog on police harassment.
Guest Gunner Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Subah'nallah northies. :hail::hail: The most ill educated, uncouth and violent people live in dilli. :hail::hail:
DomainK Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Subah'nallah northies. :hail::hail: The most ill educated, uncouth and violent people live in dilli. :hail::hail: Gotta agree to some extent. Uncivilized is the right word. Last time I went to Delhi, I joined a group of friends and went to a mall in Noida. There was one hot girl in short skirts and the way everyone was staring at her and passing remarks was unbelievable. She sat in a restaurant with transparent glass walls and a crowd gathered outside just to stare at her. They were so shameless, it was unbelievable. As soon as she came out, some young guys (unfortunately the friends I was with) started passing dirty remarks. She left in a hurry. It was very embarrassing.
f2000560 Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Subah'nallah northies. :hail::hail: The most ill educated, uncouth and violent people live in dilli. :hail::hail: stereotypes can be a dangerous thing !
Guest Gunner Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 stereotypes can be a dangerous thing ! Nah, I have lived in Delhi. Many dilli people here can confirm to you about the type of people I am tlaking about. I have seen a guy slap a cop in dilli because he was very well connected. I am not sure you understand how it works there.
Zelig Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Subah'nallah northies. :hail::hail: The most ill educated, uncouth and violent people live in dilli. :hail::hail: :ohmy: I thot the Dilli Daredevils beat nobody
Aaku Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Noida is NOT delhi :orderorder: I agreee, you move a lil away from delhi and enter ye UP, Haryana places.. it is sickening ! I just hate it when I havta go to either east or west of Delhi ! People are uncivilized, absolutely cheap.Just recently i went to east delhi.. it just dint feel like delhi. I was very uncomfortable to say the least ! South :woot: Central and North :icflove: Dilli hai ! :D
The Outsider Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 What does this news have to do with him being a NRI? :dontknow:
DomainK Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 What does this news have to do with him being a NRI? :dontknow: If he wasn't an NRI, it wouldn't have happened. A local wouldn't have stopped the car. A local would stick his neck out, hurl abuses and skid past the drunk teens. An outsider choses to come to a stop than abruptly change lane while looking back and exchanging obscenities.
Nova Posted June 4, 2010 Posted June 4, 2010 Gotta agree to some extent. Uncivilized is the right word. Last time I went to Delhi, I joined a group of friends and went to a mall in Noida. There was one hot girl in short skirts and the way everyone was staring at her and passing remarks was unbelievable. She sat in a restaurant with transparent glass walls and a crowd gathered outside just to stare at her. They were so shameless, it was unbelievable. As soon as she came out, some young guys (unfortunately the friends I was with) started passing dirty remarks. She left in a hurry. It was very embarrassing. Such guys should be lined up in a cafeteria and beaten up chak de style.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted June 24, 2010 Posted June 24, 2010 Subah'nallah northies. :hail::hail: The most ill educated, uncouth and violent people live in dilli. :hail::hail: DESI CARTMAN:nervous:
Desi Cartman Posted June 25, 2010 Author Posted June 25, 2010 DESI CARTMAN:nervous: we are like this only :finger:
bbhangoo Posted June 25, 2010 Posted June 25, 2010 There is a forum and a blog on the subject, public support for the cause is growing with the general feeling that "enough is enough". I am fighting with all my might and could use everyone's support, as you all know it is not easy fighting "the system" in India. While they may be very disorganized in enforcing the law (doing what they are supposed to) however, when it comes to protecting their back side, they suddenly get very organized! There is a blog and a facebook group on the subject.
THX_1138 Posted June 25, 2010 Posted June 25, 2010 Gotta agree to some extent. Uncivilized is the right word. Last time I went to Delhi, I joined a group of friends and went to a mall in Noida. There was one hot girl in short skirts and the way everyone was staring at her and passing remarks was unbelievable. She sat in a restaurant with transparent glass walls and a crowd gathered outside just to stare at her. They were so shameless, it was unbelievable. As soon as she came out, some young guys (unfortunately the friends I was with) started passing dirty remarks. She left in a hurry. It was very embarrassing. hey, because i cant keep it in my pants doesnt mean you give my whole city a bad rap...