IKnowU Posted June 10, 2010 Posted June 10, 2010 Just a interesting email chain article I received. Thought it would be helpful for those who travel frequently or in the near feature. WARNING Passport Tearing at Indian Airports....Read it Carefully.!!! Be Careful at the Indian Airports, This is a well organized conspiracy by Indian Immigration, Police, Customs and Air India staff with networking at all the Indian International Airports.. Be careful when ever you give your passport to Immigration/ Customs/Air India staff. The pass port can be easily tampered and can create trouble to you. They have found easy way of making money from NRIs. This is the way it works: At the time of the passenger's departure, if the passenger is not looking at the officer while he is stamping the exit, the officer very cleverly tears away one of the page from the passport. When the passenger leaves the immigration counter, the case is reported on his computer terminal with full details. Now all over India they have got full details of the passenger with Red Flag flashing on the Passport number entered by the departure immigration officer. They have made their money by doing above. On arrival next time, he is interrogated. Subject to the passenger's period of stay abroad, his income and standing etc., the price to get rid of the problem is settled by the Police and Immigration people. If someone argues, his future is spoiled because there are always some innocent fellows who think the honesty is the basis of getting justice in India .... Please advise every passenger to be careful at the airport. Whenever they hand over the passport to the counters of Air India , or immigration or the customs, they must be vigilant, should not remove eyes from the passport even if the officer in front tries to divert their attention. Also, please pass this information to all friends, media men and important politicians. Every month 20-30 cases are happening all over India to rob the NRIs the minute he lands. Similar case has happened with Aramco's Arifuddin. He was travelling with his family. They had six passports. They Got the visa of America and decided to go via Hyderabad from Jeddah. They reached Hyderabad . Stayed about a month and left for the States. When they reached the States, the page of the American visa on his wife's passport was missing. At the time of departure from Hyderabad it was there, the whole family had to return to Hyderabad helplessly. On arrival at Bombay back, they were caught by the police and now it is over 2 months, they are running after the Police, Immigration officers and the Courts. On going in to details with him, he found out the following: One cannot imagine, neither can believe, that the Indian Immigration dept can play such a nasty game to harass the innocent passengers. All the passengers travelling to & fro India via Bombay and Hyderabad must be aware of this conspiracy. Every month 15 to 20 cases are taking place, at each mentioned airport, of holding the passengers in the crime of tearing away the passport pages.On interviewing some of them, none of them was aware of what had happened. They don't know why, when and who tore away the page from the middle of the passport. One can imagine the sufferings of such people at the hands of the immigration, police and the court procedures in India after that. The number of cases is increasing in the last 2-3 years. People who are arriving at the immigration, they are questioned and their passports are being held and they have to go in interrogation. Obviously, the conspiracy started about 2 to 3 years ago, now the results are coming. Some of the Air India counter staff too is involved in this conspiracy. KINDLY SEND THIS TO AS MANY AS YOUR FRIENDS ACROSS THE WORLD AND ALSO REQUEST THEM TO CHECK THE PASSPORT AT THE CHECKING COUNTERS AND BEFORE LEAVING THE AIRPORT
yoda Posted June 10, 2010 Posted June 10, 2010 Every month 15 to 20 cases are taking place, at each mentioned airport, of holding the passengers in the crime of tearing away the passport pages. How did they arrive at this number? Sounds scary, believable given our gaize, at the same time sounds bogus.
IKnowU Posted June 10, 2010 Author Posted June 10, 2010 How did they arrive at this number? Sounds scary, believable given our gaize, at the same time sounds bogus. I have no idea. I just posted the article so that people are more aware and alert at the airport moreso then what the article talks about. I remember my dad and my family taking about 9 bottles of "cheap" wine and 4 personal laptops back to India. Everything was cleared through immigration, and the exit of the airport was literally 10metres away when the Police stopped my dad and my family took us to the side for further investigation. Because cleverly the immigration officials marked the suitcases with chalk mark on them so that the police could easily tell of a potential jackpot. They bull*** talked about how you cant bring more then 2 laptops into the country and having to pay excessive tax on the wines. So my dad pulls out the receipt for the wines shows that the wines in total cost $12-15. :giggle: The police were gobbsmacked after looking at it and regarding the laptops we asked them to show where the law states we cant bring more then 2 laptops. After 30mins or so they realised we werent gonna give in and let us eventually. :headshake:
moumotta Posted June 10, 2010 Posted June 10, 2010 While I have little sympathy for Indian babudom this seems far fetched. However, the point that one should never let go ones passport out of sight is very valid.
Desi Cartman Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 I have no idea. I just posted the article so that people are more aware and alert at the airport moreso then what the article talks about. I remember my dad and my family taking about 9 bottles of "cheap" wine and 4 personal laptops back to India. Everything was cleared through immigration, and the exit of the airport was literally 10metres away when the Police stopped my dad and my family took us to the side for further investigation. Because cleverly the immigration officials marked the suitcases with chalk mark on them so that the police could easily tell of a potential jackpot. They bull*** talked about how you cant bring more then 2 laptops into the country and having to pay excessive tax on the wines. So my dad pulls out the receipt for the wines shows that the wines in total cost $12-15. :giggle: The police were gobbsmacked after looking at it and regarding the laptops we asked them to show where the law states we cant bring more then 2 laptops. After 30mins or so they realised we werent gonna give in and let us eventually. :headshake: lol if i see the mark then i cover it with another bag or try to hide it . it works BTW from my experience there isnt too much ghooskhori at the delhi airport anymore. :isalute:
IKnowU Posted June 11, 2010 Author Posted June 11, 2010 BTW from my experience there isnt too much ghooskhori at the delhi airport anymore. :isalute: ahh Dili miss that city used to live in inderpuri. however this happened at the new Hyderabad airport.
Desi Cartman Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 ahh Dili miss that city used to live in inderpuri. however this happened at the new Hyderabad airport. lol the only bribe\gift that I have given at the airport is a strip of Brufen, this cop was searching for bombs and found 10 brufens on me and then asked " Jee yeh dard ke liye hoti hai ..." I said yes .. he asked " agar badan dard ho tab bhi achi hai " I said yes ... he said I want to take some .. I said keep the whole strip and i moved on It wasnt bribe, I think he was a poor cop and thought that since some phorun going kid is taking then it must be expensive and really good. I didnt feel bad .. BTW it costs like 10 bucks :cantstop:
Guest Gunner Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 That "article" has been round the internet for 2-3 years now and I am really not sure about the truth of it, since I have never ever heard of this being reported anywhere in the news media. Personally, I have never needed to offer bribe so far at airports in India. Then again all my phoren trips have involved namma namma bengaluru airport, which has always had a reasonable clean reputation. :isalute:
Gunner_Mania Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 That "article" has been round the internet for 2-3 years now and I am really not sure about the truth of it, since I have never ever heard of this being reported anywhere in the news media. Personally, I have never needed to offer bribe so far at airports in India. Then again all my phoren trips have involved namma namma bengaluru airport, which has always had a reasonable clean reputation. :isalute: The old or the new one? I've never been to the new one, been in and out of the old one a few times.
Guest Gunner Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 The old or the new one? I've never been to the new one' date=' been in and out of the old one a few times.[/quote'] I have used both.
DomainK Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 Sounds like a load of BS. Such practices will immediately come into attention and media will have a field day even if two such cases are reported. 99.99% of such chain mails are misleading.
coffee_rules Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 Hate chain e-mails. There was one about how not to heat plain water in a microwave. When the cup is taken out, it explodes in your hand.
siddhu Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 Hate chain e-mails. There was one about how not to heat plain water in a microwave. When the cup is taken out' date=' it explodes in your hand.[/quote'] that email was such a piece of crock... I have umpteen times heated water/milk in microwave. Not once has my cup exploded. I remember getting one that said that when traveling in US by car, do not respond to the car traveling opposite to you with their lights ON. If you do that they will follow you and kill you.. This is part of their initiation to some cult.
achilles Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 Thanks for the info. Eventhough it might be hoax, its better to be safe than sorry.
punjabi_khota Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 Thanks for the info. Eventhough it might be hoax' date=' its better to be safe than sorry.[/quote'] whats the operative word here ? I was hoping you would shed some light on that. ? :woot:
hari504504 Posted June 11, 2010 Posted June 11, 2010 Hate chain e-mails. There was one about how not to heat plain water in a microwave. When the cup is taken out' date=' it explodes in your hand.[/quote'] It has been proven in Mythbusters... if you heat PURE DISTILLED water in a cup in a microwave, the moment you take it out and stir it..it'll spontaneously start boiling and WILL EXPLODE in your face..
coffee_rules Posted June 12, 2010 Posted June 12, 2010 It has been proven in Mythbusters... if you heat PURE DISTILLED water in a cup in a microwave' date=' the moment you take it out and stir it..it'll spontaneously start boiling and WILL EXPLODE in your face..[/quote'] http://www.snopes.com/science/microwave.asp Origins: Exploding water? In a nutshell, Microwaveyes, water can "explode" in the fashion described above. However, it takes near perfect conditions to bring this about, thus "exploding water" is not something the average hot beverage drinker who would otherwise now be eyeing his microwave with trepidation need fear. Odds are, you'll go through life without ever viewing this phenomenon first-hand, and if you're one of the rare few who does get to see it, you will likely not be harmed by the experience (that would take your standing right over the cup at the instant it happened, and the liquid's bolting up and hitting your skin).