Ram Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 Online voting? Seriously? It's not happening any time soon even in the most developed of countries. But just taking the example of India, can you imagine one goon with a local made gun going from apartment to apartment making people vote on gun point. And this has got nothing to do with online banking and the security features involved there. I really don't think I need to expand on this argument. Goondas in households, threatening people? Whats stopping them from doing that now, going door to door and threatening violence if their candidate loses? A typical Lok Sabha constituency must have 10s of 1000s of households. I think its tough for a to for a goonda gang to cover even a handful of households in a day. You can make any arguments against online voting, but the prospect of a gang going door to door, making people vote in gunpoint is probably not one of them. Besides, I didnt pull the idea out of thin air. Sam Pitroda, the PM's advisor, thinks its possible to make people vote through their cell-phones! http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/sci_tech/digital_giants/8551904.stm
punjabi_khota Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 Goondas in households, threatening people? Whats stopping them from doing that now, going door to door and threatening violence if their candidate loses? A typical Lok Sabha constituency must have 10s of 1000s of households. I think its tough for a to for a goonda gang to cover even a handful of households in a day. You can make any arguments against online voting, but the prospect of a gang going door to door, making people vote in gunpoint is probably not one of them. Besides, I didnt pull the idea out of thin air. Sam Pitroda, the PM's advisor, thinks its possible to make people vote through their cell-phones! http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/sci_tech/digital_giants/8551904.stm Big hole in the logic there...gundas can threaten all they want, but there is no way right now that they can know who voted for whom. But when you have online voting, they can see it right in front of them. Dude, online voting is NEVER going to work in India.
Mr. Wicket Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 Online voting creates way too much risk, as prof said. Too many possibilities of fraud, votes being manipulated, and the basic loss of privacy in a vote (as people can see where and whom a vote came from).
The Outsider Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 Goondas in households, threatening people? Whats stopping them from doing that now, going door to door and threatening violence if their candidate loses? A typical Lok Sabha constituency must have 10s of 1000s of households. I think its tough for a to for a goonda gang to cover even a handful of households in a day. You can make any arguments against online voting, but the prospect of a gang going door to door, making people vote in gunpoint is probably not one of them. Besides, I didnt pull the idea out of thin air. Sam Pitroda, the PM's advisor, thinks its possible to make people vote through their cell-phones! http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/in_depth/sci_tech/digital_giants/8551904.stm Bhai mere can't you see that online voting under repercussions will not leave any trace behind as PK and Salil have already explained, unlike today where booth captured 'booths' are voted on again? PS : Pitroda is a jackass!
Mr. Wicket Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 The biggest risk with online voting is the loss of the anonymous vote. With online voting, information can easily be traced so that people find out where votes came from, which not only can lead to unfair influences and pressures being placed in voting areas, but possible repercussions. Let's say the Sena loses a vote in Bombay - rather than the standard hysterics and violence that usually follow any loss (or signs of a loss), it wouldn't be hard to trace through the online votes and figure out exactly where votes against them came from; which communities, households and specific people, which creates a lot more danger. All the more reason why online voting should never happen. As for Pitroda, I vote for implanting a brain into his empty skull.
gaurav92 Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 Well a Big NO to online voting system, it will mess up things for people more than benefiting them. :headshake:
Ram Posted July 9, 2010 Posted July 9, 2010 I am sort of amused that the new criterion for the implementation any system is that it should be 100% fool-proof and perfect. Its safe to say that the current system of elections itself is incredibly flawed and often abused, but that still doesn’t prevent 300 million people from voting in elections every 5 years. I am not saying online voting is safe, perfect and is something that will be implemented in the next 10-12 years. But surely, seeing the way the technology trends have progressed, I wont be surprised at all if such a thing happens within the next two decades. Sure there will be both practical and technological challenges, but none so insurmountable that it cannot be implemented.