Shine Posted August 31, 2010 Posted August 31, 2010 Shane Watson, who reported two approaches by an illegal bookmaker in England last year, said he was in "complete shock" at the allegations levelled at Pakistan. Watson and his team-mate Brad Haddin confirmed they were spoken to by the Indian man during the tour and immediately told Australia's manager Steve Bernard. It has also emerged that Brett Lee and Mitchell Johnson were approached during the England tour. Bernard has referred two other bookie-instigated conversations to the ICC during his term as manager. Watson was invited for drinks by the bookmaker, who the allrounder initially thought was a fan. "I didn't think too much more of it until I found out a bit more information and that he was actually one of the illegal bookmakers," Watson said in Sydney. "It was just a little bit different to what normal fans are." The approach occurred at the Royal Gardens hotel in London, which was the venue of a complaint reported by Cricinfo last year. Haddin said the man had knocked on his door in the hotel asking if he wanted to go to his room to have a drink. "I quickly rang Steve Bernard and John Rhodes [the ICC's security manager] just to tell them something weird had just happened," Haddin said. "You don't usually get a knock on your door with someone asking you to come across to your room for a drink and then go out for dinner with someone you don't know." Footage of the person was checked and it was a figure familiar to investigators. Watson was stunned by the revelations from the fourth Test between England and Pakistan at Lord's. "When I first heard about it I was in complete shock, there's no doubt about that," Watson said. "If the allegations are true then they will unfortunately get a lifetime ban." The claims surrounding the no-balls delivered by Mohammad Amir, the 18-year-old fast bowler, surprised and upset Watson. "I probably feel for him more than anyone because he's only a young, naive and innocent young guy," Watson said. "Unfortunately he's caught up with something. "Whether it's in their culture I don't know, I don't know how deep it runs, but it's unfortunate that someone of his skill has got tied up with something that is damaging to cricket and to the individuals. I found him to be a brilliant competitor on the field." http://www.cricinfo.com/australia/content/current/story/475190.html
kabira Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 But they still lost. What were bookies thinking.
hitman1980 Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 Bangladeshis approached by bookmakers Bangladesh's cricket board said Wednesday several senior players had been approached by bookmakers ahead of a Test series with India earlier this year. Vice-captain Shakib Al Hasan and opening batsman Tamim Iqbal were approached ahead of the two Test series against India in January, which the home side lost 2-0, an official said. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) spokesman Jalal Yunus said the incidents were immediately reported to the International Cricket Council's anti-corruption unit, in line with procedures. The BCB is now organising an "orientation course" for national players to educate them about the dangers of match-fixing and how to avoid bookmakers and shady agents, Yunus said. "We are taking up a orientation course for cricketers," Yunus said. "They will learn how to detect bookies under the guise of cricket agents. "They should learn how match-fixing can jeopardise their career and shame the nation," he said. The move came after global cricket was plunged into a crisis at the weekend as British detectives said they were investigating seven Pakistani players on charges of spot-fixing. Apart from the orientation course, the BCB will impose more curbs on cricketers in all future tours, Yunus said, adding the players would be told to avoid strangers and report every phone call they receive from unknown persons. Former Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful told a local daily that he had also been approached by bookmakers during a foreign tour. http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/bangladeshis-approached-by-bookmakers-20100901-14ngq.html Who the hell would pay them to fix match .. They always lose even if the match isn't fixed :D
Roshanrocks Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 Australian and Bangladeshi players approached by bookies australianz... n now bangbros.... how about srilanka? nobody appraoch them?
vamos_rafa Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 ^ Yeah makes sense if they are playing against IReland,Scotlandor even WI. But why fix a match against India for losing?? :hmmm:
Gunner_Mania Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 I doubt bookies are approaching these teams to throw away matches i.e. match fixing. they are more likely to be approached for spot fixing. There is so much opportunities for spot fixing in test matches.
EnterTheVoid Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 Bangladesh's cricket board said Wednesday several senior players had been approached by bookmakers ahead of a Test series with India earlier this year. Vice-captain Shakib Al Hasan and opening batsman Tamim Iqbal were approached ahead of the two Test series against India in January, which the home side lost 2-0, an official said. Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) spokesman Jalal Yunus said the incidents were immediately reported to the International Cricket Council's anti-corruption unit, in line with procedures. The BCB is now organising an "orientation course" for national players to educate them about the dangers of match-fixing and how to avoid bookmakers and shady agents, Yunus said. "We are taking up a orientation course for cricketers," Yunus said. "They will learn how to detect bookies under the guise of cricket agents. "They should learn how match-fixing can jeopardise their career and shame the nation," he said. The move came after global cricket was plunged into a crisis at the weekend as British detectives said they were investigating seven Pakistani players on charges of spot-fixing. Apart from the orientation course, the BCB will impose more curbs on cricketers in all future tours, Yunus said, adding the players would be told to avoid strangers and report every phone call they receive from unknown persons. Former Bangladesh captain Mohammad Ashraful told a local daily that he had also been approached by bookmakers during a foreign tour. http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/bangladeshis-approached-by-bookmakers-20100901-14ngq.html Who the hell would pay them to fix match .. They always lose even if the match isn't fixed :D But but but, they should have taken the money. They are naive and come from a poor background and were coerced into it because they don't make enough money from the IPL. Without bookmaking money, how can they pay for the generator in their village ?
Sachinism Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 But but but, they should have taken the money. They are naive and come from a poor background and were coerced into it because they don't make enough money from the IPL. Without bookmaking money, how can they pay for the generator in their village ? :hatsoff:
Hindustani Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 But but but, they should have taken the money. They are naive and come from a poor background and were coerced into it because they don't make enough money from the IPL. Without bookmaking money, how can they pay for the generator in their village ? :--D
saneindian Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 Looks like being approached for spot fixing has become the benchmark for a cricketer's ability these days. Jisko approach kiya wo achcha, baki sab bekaar.
asterix Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 But but but, they should have taken the money. They are naive and come from a poor background and were coerced into it because they don't make enough money from the IPL. Without bookmaking money, how can they pay for the generator in their village ? May be they were not TERRORIZED..:nervous:
Desi Cartman Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 so the bookies wanted to pay bangbros to loose ?
Mamu Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 How come the Bangladeshis did not fall into the trap ? Some of these Bangladeshis could have easily made more money in a years time than they would make in their whole life. But they did not accept it. Bangladeshis dont play in IPL either. Bottom line -- the Paki Land is a gutter ridden society infested with rodents in the form of humans! Fix It ! -- You Jack Asses and stop blaming your dog and cat for your problems !
achilles Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 Chalo.... sab aake behte paani mein apne haath dho lo :cheer: Its disgusting that everyone wishes to be a sycophant.
Jersey #10 Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 I haven't heard anything from the Indians yet. I am sure they have been approached for match-fixing plenty of times!
Gunner_Mania Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 I haven't heard anything from the Indians yet. I am sure they have been approached for match-fixing plenty of times! http://www.dnaindia.com/bangalore/report_atul-wassan-s-no-ball-will-it-bowl-out-ipl_1431868 Atul Wassan is acting as their mouthpiece
Mamu Posted September 1, 2010 Posted September 1, 2010 Indian cricket is no stranger to match-fixing scandals. Amid reports of Pakistan cricketers colluding with a London-based bookmaker to indulge in spot-fixing, and even match-fixing, the question to be answered is — are Indian cricketers above board? On Tuesday, former Indian all-rounder Atul Wassan said in New Delhi that Indian Premier League (IPL) cricketers were approached for spot-fixing over the last two-and-a-half years. He said a couple of IPL players, whom he would not name, confided to him that they had been approached for spot-fixing which they had turned down. But Bangalore Royal Challengers owner Vijay Mallya gave a clean chit to the IPL, saying the Twenty20 event is free from any form of corruption. “There is no corruption or match-fixing in IPL. My team has participated in all three editions of IPL and I am very satisfied that IPL is clean,” Mallya said in New Delhi after meeting ICC president Sharad Pawar. Earlier on Tuesday, Australian all-rounder Shane Watson and wicketkeeper Brad Haddin said in Sydney that an Indian bookmaker had approached them during last year’s England tour. Everybody has been approached. Everybody declined it, except the immoral ...... from the "Land of Pure". Stop blaming everybody around and be responsible for you own actions !