ViruRulez Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 The Indian government has launched a major welfare scheme for pregnant women and breast-feeding mothers. They will be given about 11,966 rupees ($270) over a period of six months. To be eligible for the scheme each woman will have to undergo regular health checks during her pregnancy and ensure vaccinations are up to date. According to the UN, India has the highest maternal mortality rate in the world with 1,000 women dying every day because of pregnancy-related problems. It says that a woman giving birth is 36 times more likely to die in India than her equivalent in a developed country. Over a million women will benefit from the scheme which will cover most parts of the country and will cost the government nearly $223m. To ensure that the money reaches eligible women the government has decided to transfer the cash directly into their bank accounts. The scheme not only aims to improve maternal and infant health in India - other Asian and African countries have also been targeted. A recent assessment by the World Health Organisation and other UN agencies found that even though India is "making progress" in reducing maternal mortality, it is still a long way from achieving its target under the UN's Millennium Development Goals. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-south-asia-11597277 Another good scheme by govt. but hope that all these schemes like this maternity scheme, right to education and others are actually implemented and not only remain in papers. Have to recommend some of the good schemes in recent years especially though would need to see how well they are implemented. NREGA job guarantee scheme is doing ok it seems out of the ones that have been implemented. Hope that even if a bit slowly the nation's problems get fixed gradually. I wish the two biggest hurdles in India's progress viz. corruption and divisive politics (caste, religion, language etc.) ends one day and the whole Indian mentality also changes to only progressive thinking and maybe we might very nearly call ourselves an ideal nation. But dont think the above 3 points are going to end very soon. Anyways good scheme and hope this and the others are implemented well in the coming years. :two_thumbs_up:
IKnowU Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 All these schemes are great. But I can already pickout a million loopholes people will abuse and use it to their advantage.
Sir john Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 we have many plans,but implemenation is only 30 % there.
varun Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 This is a great scheme.. As already pointed out though, implementation is key
Desi Cartman Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 Australian Govt paid over 5k lump sum for each birth. this was designed to help families pay for the diapers and stuff needed for the baby but 2 years into the scheme they realized that most parents bought plasma TVs with the money :phehehe: now they pay the same money in installments over 6 months. I like the idea behind the scheme but I can already see babus asking for 40% to handover the cheque
DomainK Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 How much will this encourage pregnancy and how much will this contribute to population growth? 12000 is a huge lucrative amount in rural India. So if you need money, get the women pregnant, get the money. The medical fees wont be much as most vaccinations and check ups re free in govt hospitals.
cowboysfan Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 how about a scheme of giving a family 1 lakh if they have just 1 kid?.that is really going to benefit everyone.its also different from the chinese forced 1 child policy.
Clarke Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 how about a scheme of giving a family 1 lakh if they have just 1 kid?.that is really going to benefit everyone.its also different from the chinese forced 1 child policy. lets have laluji draft such a bill, he should serve as a role model.
nikred Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 how about a scheme of giving a family 1 lakh if they have just 1 kid?.that is really going to benefit everyone.its also different from the chinese forced 1 child policy. hmm....so do you have to return back the 1 lakh if you plan to have a second baby? :hmmm:
cowboysfan Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 hmm....so do you have to return back the 1 lakh if you plan to have a second baby? :hmmm: the details wont be a problem.maybe the government will put the money in a savings account for all couples enrolled(maybe for the kid).they can only access the account if they satisfy the contract or when the kid turns 18.this can be done but i dont think the government has the will,the critics will think its anti poor and we are limiting only their population.
ViruRulez Posted October 21, 2010 Author Posted October 21, 2010 How much will this encourage pregnancy and how much will this contribute to population growth? 12000 is a huge lucrative amount in rural India. So if you need money' date= get the women pregnant, get the money. The medical fees wont be much as most vaccinations and check ups re free in govt hospitals. Very serious and important point and I was also thinking about the same when I read the news. This is a double edged sword which can have both benefits as well as disadvantages. Though it might well save pregnant women during maternity etc. and help in the initial upbringing of the child but as IKnowU said above it might also be misused as taken as an incentive for population growth. No offense and I dont want to be called a racist but to be frank I have seen enough of poor people from small villages etc. and nearly all of them produce loads of children and many of them (including all religions) also involve in multiple marriages. And they do not give any formal divorce too in most cases and just leave the wife and children behind and marry another girl and so on. I wont blame them too as it might be due to lack of proper education though even they are not interested in making their children educated even if provided free. I am telling this from my personal experience with our country's poor and I still try to help them whenever and wherever I can within my and my family's capabilities. So, giving incentive to such people with free money might be a big problem too as they might start increasing production in their children producing factories (households) and the sad part is that the more children they produce the more financial problems they face in the long run. And more often than not the children in such families are just left to rot without education by their parents which leads to destruction of another generation. They should have made that a lady/family can get the maternity benefit only once or twice and not on every child. But I dont see that mentioned in the article above. how about a scheme of giving a family 1 lakh if they have just 1 kid?.that is really going to benefit everyone.its also different from the chinese forced 1 child policy. I have always thought of such a legislation and hope that the govt. takes such action one day. Even 2 children is fine. Stop all benefits for couples with more than two children. Cut off all govt. and social benefits and reward the ones with two children or less and it will go a long way in reducing the population explosion. In the long run population explosion will affect our country a lot as the land and resources would remain nearly constant while the population will keep on growing exponentially. We are almost sure to exceed China's population in the next few decades and sadly our land mass is less than one third of China too and even now our population density is nearly thrice that of China. Property prices has been skyrocketing here in India for a long time already and if we dont curb our population growth we might have scarcity of land not only for living but also for agriculture and greenery. Maybe we would need to import most of our food from other countries if we dont take steps to curb this social menace soon. Being a democracy we cannot take strict steps like China but I hope that the govt. promotes only one or two child every couple by stopping benefits for couples with more than two children and rewarding the ones with one child. hmm....so do you have to return back the 1 lakh if you plan to have a second baby? :hmmm: good point :haha:
Sir john Posted October 21, 2010 Posted October 21, 2010 i remember when i born a favourite slogan given by government to all. "hum do hamarey do" its get failed.:((
ViruRulez Posted October 21, 2010 Author Posted October 21, 2010 the details wont be a problem.maybe the government will put the money in a savings account for all couples enrolled(maybe for the kid).they can only access the account if they satisfy the contract or when the kid turns 18.this can be done but i dont think the government has the will' date='[b']the critics will think its anti poor and we are limiting only their population. That is one of the biggest problem with the definition of a democracy. Everybody gets chances to attack for anything let it be good or bad. Few urgent social things that are needed within the next couple of decades are: 1) Stop the population growth through tactics as mentioned above 2) Stop the pathetic and baseless quota system in our country. If needed give it to the poor instead of giving it based on caste etc. (disability might be an exception). Nowadays I see agitations every year of people taking to the streets and violently agitating to get their caste or communities in quota shelter. Quota in today's date has become a privilege rather than being for the underprivileged. 3) Stop the bloody corruption permeating through every strata of society especially all the govt. establishments and functionaries. This is one of the biggest road blocks to even speedier development of the nation. 4) Stop the divisive politics of caste, religion, region, language etc. and it should be replaced by only and only developmental politics which is only based on development of all sections of society and all parts of India. 5) Last but not the least the Indian mentality needs to change. Though most of try to just point fingers at politicians and others but most Indians have never done their part in building and rectifying the nation. As stated above in one point Indians try to misuse everything for their own advantage. One problem is that most Indians are short-sighted and look only about the short term benefit instead of looking at everything in the long run. Even corruption also starts to an extent due to all of us. For example, hardly many people take a challan if caught by traffic police and just bribe him with a much lower sum. Similarly you will find loads of people trying to evade bus fares even today especially college students. People in villages vote for their politicians for petty things such as TV, cycles, money, rice and what not. There is serious problem with the Indian pysche too which needs to be rectified. I know the above 5 points are nearly impossible to be rectified as Indian politics and to some extent Indian masses do not have the will power for the same. But I really hope that there would be a generation of true patriots who are only interested in the nation one day and such a political party also evolves one day bringing back people's trust in politics and also in govt. I hope that I will see it happen at least during my lifetime.