Why cant there be another Bradman again??

dial_100

Good. So why did you say this then ? :
Why are you trying to twist the simple point that Tum Tum made? It's obvious that with better protective gear a batsman has more confidence to handle short stuff bowling and helps him want to attempt shots that he probably wouldn't without the protective gear on A simple parallel can be drawn with driving an old car (say 1950s) vs a modern car (2000s) on winding mountainous roads. With all the latest safety features built in to modern cars, you could push the car more on that road compared with when you are driving an old car down the same road! Modern cars with better handling and safety features makes you feel more comfortable taking on the challenges of say Nuremberg ring than an old car would. Therefore your approach when driving a modern car down the Nurumberg ring is different than you would in say a 1950s car The point made by "Tum Tum" was so simple to understand!
Check this if you have trouble comprehending a Bodyline field. http://www.timesonline.co.uk/multimedia/archive/00249/CRICKET_249774a.gif There are also maximum number of bouncers rule and Helmets today. Are you really this naive?
Helmet is joke in cricket. It is like Mac Sami was batter by Sehwag. So to protect him we gave him a helmet. Doesn;t mean he is saved. He will still be battered. Samething with helmet. You can't save your wicket with helmet on. I gave explaination in the other thread. It saves you from dying. Point is why your average cannot be way above your peers.
damn I did not know that ... :(( :nervous: ... I guess you didnt understand what I wrote. There isnt a limit on short bowling. As long as it doesnt go over shoulder height. BL bowling was aimed at ribcage/chest .... this happens day in day out now and there is no rule that stops bowlers from bowling that sort of line. Here watch the 100th over in clip below and count how many short delivers Hussey gets (BTW those that arent shown in that short clip were also short ) ... and tell me if any bowler from the 30s was capable of this at 90MPH. Back in the 30s they complained about trundlers bowling short because it wasnt in line with "spirit of the game". Naive ? :hysterical: YouTube - Dale Steyn & Morne Morkel Terrific Fast Bowling v Australia
Bossy. Have you ever played a cricket?? You held that bat in your hand ever man??? That aint body line. that is called under arm bowling. You should be able to score 200 runs. Especially when you have damn helmet on.
huh ? Maybe you strugle to not others ... its a indication of your searching skills or lack thereof ... How many video clips do you need BTW ? I will tell you what is maddeningly stupid .... people like you going jingo about bodyline series that was around for a grand total of ONE SERIES of which Bradman missed the first test and to make it even more hilarious it was put into effect by trundlers like Voce and average bowlers like Larwood. Wait it there is more ... Gubby Allen the other "fast" bowler simply refused to bowl BL because he thought it was un-ethical. Wait there is more ... when the next series started the Aussies extracted promises from England that no bowler will resort to BL tactics. And if this wasnt enough DGB is on record saying that he was against such tactics which were against the spirit of game and we all know that famous sentence by Woodfull : "only one team playing cricket .... " . All for what ? The same effect can be achieved thru 2 leg slips (or one leg slip and a leg gully) and 2 fwd shortlegs today and I can assure you that todays fielders would cover far more ground than those in 30s ... the thing is no one tries it now. Because it is a waste of 2 fielders and todays expresss bowlers can easily rattle even the very best with just one fwd short leg. We see this day in and day out. Dont get un-necessarily wet just because some one embellished the BL story and told you it was chilling and cruel. The modern bowlers have sent faaar more batsmen to the hospital than those in the 30s if such bravado is your idea of cricket.
Well, all your points are based on cherry picking, aren't they? :P 1. You cherry pick a few videos from 1000s of available from this era and compare them with a handful of clips available from the past era 2. You cherry pick best scenarios for Tendulkar 3. You cherry pick scenarios like one bowler refused to bowl BL as if it would mean anything about BL not having taken place 4. You cherry picked an avg that was similar to Tendulkar to show how Bradman would avg today (based on BL, also means you took the pitch, umpiring, blah blah as constant) 5. You cherry pick lines from posts that you can reply/twist (ignoring the rest, even of the rest already has the answer to what you are saying) to show that you are in the game when you are not You know what may be you should change your avatar to a cherry picture :giggle:
Bossy. Have you ever played a cricket?? You held that bat in your hand ever man??? That aint body line. that is called under arm bowling. You should be able to score 200 runs. Especially when you have damn helmet on.
Arre bhai, if your point is that it is difficult to score runs against that type of bowling then you will be surprised to see that OZ is already 300 odd for 5, after some 100 overs! :giggle:
Arre bhai' date=' if your point is that it is difficult to score runs against that type of bowling then you will be surprised to see that OZ is already 300 odd for 5, after some 100 overs! :giggle:[/quote'] Correct. Thats the point. After having 300 runs on board all of a sudden they decided to get scared of short pitch bowlling started pretending that they can't take that anymore.
Correct. Thats the point. After having 300 runs on board all of a sudden they decided to get scared of short pitch bowlling started pretending that they can't take that anymore.
Ok so they only started bowling short pitched stuff after OZ scored 300 :giggle:
As for Bodyline crap, I see that happen in themodern cricket in every game.
You do know that Bodyline was made illegal pretty soon after the series and by definition of such an action can never be replicated. The only other time Bodyline was allowed by blind umpires, this happened - a batting line up which had chased down a world record score in the previous match, was hospitalized and forfeited the match : http://www.cricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/63162.html
Allright lets address your points one by one Would you rather I put up ALL such videos available on YT ? Is that what you want ? Or are you saying there really isnt enough evidence of hostile bowling from current days? And the reason why there arent more than a handfull of incidents from the 30s is because they put an abrupt end to hostile bowling after a grand total of one series after DGB and co started whining and crying. If you dont believe what Iam saying read this : http://www.cricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/455228.html Your turn.
So if they put an end to such hostile bowling, how can you say that the bowling today is comparatively more hostile? In that case you aren't comparing apples with apples 2ndly, cherry picking a few videos from 1000s of available clips doesn't show the general degree of hostility now. Nor does a lack of footage available imply that there was no hostility at that time, esp when it is difficult to show comparable hostility through video because of a lack of footage of that times And most of us know how hostile the bowling is today, what happens when FTBs get subjected to short pitched stuff. Really, the videos serve little purpose if any :--D To illustrate, [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4r6Xq9MgXc]YouTube - Sachin Tendulkar gets OWNED by Shoaib Akhter[/ame] ^ Tendulkar gets cleaned up by a short pitched ball. This is not BL bowling. And then someone could go further and try to judge Tendulkar based on those clips. And what if these were the only clips available? And then someone (like you do for Bradman) would say that see he could only score 1 so how would he have survived bodyline .... the first video also concurs with what TunTum was trying to say [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0yNNo4fMshM]YouTube - Re:Little Master Sachin Tendulkar gets OWNED by M Asif[/ame] ^ And what if that was one of the few clips of Tendulkar and someone like you (who does that for Bradman's case) will go on to show that people of this era don't even know how to judge a ball and have the ability to decide whether to go front or go back Based on the world of stats and arm chair analysis, both those dismissals could have been avoided if common sense was used by the batsman. And then someone could post the clips like the one below (it's from an ODI but conveys the point) and say that reflects the bowling standards and Tendulkar would never have got 200 if he played in the past or if WI bowlers were bowling [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aaEQrsIySKo]YouTube - Sachin Tendulkar 200 runs innings video.flv[/ame] And that's basically how you make your points!
and DGB's avg was what in that series .... :nervous:
So on one hand, you downplay the lack of proper protective gear available in that era but you have it in you to highlight the effect of sledging as if it is some kind of a huge factor .... If you give an option of batting w/o proper protective gear or not being sledged, to a school boy, he would prefer to be sledged rather than bat without the use of proper protective gear! :giggle: If you still don't get it, this is another example of cherry picking and your blatantly biased PoV :P