cricket is cricket. Be it is gully cricket or international cricket. This is definitely not gully cricket. Infact well above divisional cricket. International umpires like Taufel, Aleem Dar are umpiring. So you expect some sort of quality. But Tarapore's umpiring was below village standard today. Shastri was also abysmal yesterday.

Very poor umpiring by Tarapore. 2 out of the 3 appeals were plumb and one was a marginal call but still hitting. Looks like he is our very own Shakoor Rana

Actually I think he's one of the best Indian umpires we have at present, much better than Amiesh. Today is an aberration.

I don't know who handled Bhajji's 'Short Run' incident' date=' but it was idiotic considering 1 run was allowed. Even people playing gully cricket would know better to shoot down such runs..[/quote'] Abdur Rauf i think
I don't know who handled Bhajji's 'Short Run' incident' date=' but it was idiotic considering 1 run was allowed. Even people playing gully cricket would know better to shoot down such runs..[/quote'] All runs should have been disallowed from that ball - Law 18.5 (ii).

Even though I seldom watch Tamasha Criicket ,but Umpiring has been just too pathetic to say the least . I understand that IPL being a domestic competition, few people might not like the use of UDRS ,but if you're already spending crores of money on this compettion then why not use UDRS. Atleast our players will understand its pros and cons in a better way .

Indian umpires are just not good enough.
They either get pressurized easily or they act stubborn as if to show that they don't cave in to pressure. They basically don't back themselves to do decent umpiring.

I dont understand how BCCI can produce so many poor umpires , I think it is mainly because there is no merit based promotion for umpires which leads to umpires who are close to BCCI babus go up the ladder. Look at the indian umpires in this IPL, saheba, tarapore, shastri, Asnani every one of them are pathetic.

How is Saheba allowed to officiate at even first class level? Ball goes off the shoulder and he gives that out. Shocking. Such umpires should be banned for a match or two for giving such absolute howlers.

If anything IPL has helped us, it has put the spotlight on incompetency of our local umpires. I seriously want BCCI to pay attention to it. Some of the umpirings are amaturish.

Lot of these guys seem to have made it clearly on no merit at all. I refuse to believe that these are the best we have to offer.