What would you do? Do you fight them physically when you are alone and they are group of 3/4 policemen? I dont think you can get away with arguing either.
+1. Unless you are experienced in tackling such situation - avoid argument with bunch of policemen. They will intimidate you in making a mistake that they will be able to file a case for and make your next few hours/days miserable.

Watching or keeping porn on your cell phone/ laptop is not illegal. However, displaying it to others in a public place, selling it to others or in some cases transferring it to others is. And this guy certainly wasn't doing any of that. No cop has the right to search your cell phone/laptop unless 1) There is a specific complaint about copyright infringement. for eg, you go to a movie hall and film an entire movie on your cell phone, then on complaint by an usher or the patrons, the cops can check your phone. 2) There is a specific complaint about transferring pornographic clips to some one who doesn't want it. 3) The phone/ call log are part of an ongoing investigation. 4) At airports, and there too only if the metal/bomb detector and/or the X-ray beeps when you put your phone through it. Here the Railway Cops managed to con an unsuspecting student and extort money. Good on him that he decided to retaliate. Now that the media is on the case, these guys will have to be punished. Very shameful from the railway police. :((

Well I thought you would say "nothing like doing it" but whatever floats your boat.
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Watching or keeping porn on your cell phone/ laptop is not illegal. However, displaying it to others in a public place, selling it to others or in some cases transferring it to others is. And this guy certainly wasn't doing any of that. No cop has the right to search your cell phone/laptop unless 1) There is a specific complaint about copyright infringement. for eg, you go to a movie hall and film an entire movie on your cell phone, then on complaint by an usher or the patrons, the cops can check your phone. 2) There is a specific complaint about transferring pornographic clips to some one who doesn't want it. 3) The phone/ call log are part of an ongoing investigation. 4) At airports, and there too only if the metal/bomb detector and/or the X-ray beeps when you put your phone through it. Here the Railway Cops managed to con an unsuspecting student and extort money. Good on him that he decided to retaliate. Now that the media is on the case, these guys will have to be punished. Very shameful from the railway police. :((
1. Not many know what rights they have when they encounter a situation like this. 2. Cops in India normally do not believe in rights. Either it's a harmless man that they can harass any way they want or if it's an influential man they would like to please every way they can.
I completely agree with your second point. Cops in Mumbai basically will extort money from you abusing you if you are a poor person and beg for money from you if you are influential. That is even when you don't do any wrong. If you do are in the wrong, then these guys are interested in only extorting money from you. For that they'll go to any lengths. I'll give you an experience of mine. Near Metro shoes ( on Colaba Causeway) there is a famous boutique where they source their goods from HK and Bangkok. Your better half probably would know about it. There was this once, that I had to pick up a dress that I bought from there which needed some minor alterations. That road is always busy and its near impossible to get a parking there. So I left the car parked along the footpath, in no way obstructing any traffic and got my dress and came back inside a minute. ( The rule for such parking is 3 minutes, unless it is designated as a no parking zone) and one havaldar was standing near my car smiling at me: " madam, tumhi shiklele log niyam ka palan nahi karat, tar kon karnaar. 500 Rs fine kaadha." Basically, he was asking me for 500 Rs ( the penalty for this is Rs 200 btw , which I checked up later) for a rule I didn't break. He was respectful in his behaviour and all that, but he was lying through his teeth. I didn't give him a penny. The police station is right across the road. I have seen the cops try to extort money from people in this fashion many times. A person leave his vehicle unattended for a few seconds or parks for a few seconds, then we have a cop cross the road in no time to collect his dues. Contrast this with the time when Kasab and Co. attacked Leopold Cafe, which is just across the road from the same police station. These guys in their release to the press said that they weren't there at the station when the attacks happened.Yeah right, like every single cop went patrolling!!! Complete rubbish. Just institutionalized cowards who will harass the citizenry whom they are supposed to protect instead of fighting the people who kill them. I'm sure if the terrorists came in a car and left it parked there for a few seconds, a cop would end up there to collect his hafta. Mumbai police are the goondas. Every crime in the city they get a cut from. They only act on those criminals who don't give them a cut. They don't control crime unless it is over the top or completely unacceptable. They regulate crime instead of curbing it. Though I have never had a mal experience with the cops, the police in India are absolutely class conscious. A Mariyam and a DomainK will be treated with respect by the cops because of their relative affluence. A poor person's complaint will also not be filed. They'll ask him to wait for 10 hours at a police station and then come again the next day. For the poor, there is no concept of justice. No society can have a rosy long term future where the poor majority have no chance to get any semblance of justice. There is so much that needs to be done with regards to policing in Mumbai/India. It just makes me sad. Its one of the things that I want to attempt to change with what ever little power I have or will have. :(( Anyways. This is an off topic post I guess. :((
I completely agree with your second point. Cops in Mumbai basically will extort money from you abusing you if you are a poor person and beg for money from you if you are influential. That is even when you don't do any wrong. If you do are in the wrong, then these guys are interested in only extorting money from you. For that they'll go to any lengths. I'll give you an experience of mine. Near Metro shoes ( on Colaba Causeway) there is a famous boutique where they source their goods from HK and Bangkok. Your better half probably would know about it. There was this once, that I had to pick up a dress that I bought from there which needed some alteration. That road is always busy and its near impossible to get a parking there. So I left the car parked along the footpath, in no way obstructing any traffic and got my dress and came back inside a minute. ( The rule for such parking is 3 minutes, unless it is designated as a no parking zone) and one havaldar was standing near my car smiling at me: " madam, tumhi shiklele log niyam ka palan nahi karat, tar kon karnaar. 500 Rs fine kaadha." Basically, he was asking me for 500 Rs ( the penalty for this is Rs 200 btw , which I checked up later) for a rule I didn't break. He was respectful in his behaviour and all that, but he was lying through his teeth. I didn't give him a penny. The police station is right across the road. I have seen the cops try to extort money from people in this fashion many times. A person leave his vehicle unattended for a few seconds or parks for a few seconds, then we have a cop cross the road in no time to collect his dues. Contrast this with the time when Kasab and Co. attacked Leopold Cafe, which is just across the road from the same police station. These guys in their release to the press said that they weren't there at the station when the attacks happened.Yeah right, like every single cop went patrolling!!! Complete rubbish. Just institutionalized cowards who will harass the citizenry whom they are supposed to protect instead of fighting the people who kill them. I'm sure if the terrorists came in a car and left it parked there for a few seconds, a cop would end up there to collect his hafta. Mumbai police are the goondas. Every crime in the city they get a cut from. They only act on those criminals who don't give them a cut. They don't control crime unless it is over the top or completely unacceptable. They regulate crime. Though I have never had a mal experience with the cops, the police in India are absolutely class conscious. A Mariyam and a DomainK will be treated with respect by the cops because of their relative affluence. A poor person's complaint will also not be filed. They'll ask him to wait for 10 hours at a police station and then come again the next day. For the poor, there is no concept of justice. There is so much that needs to be done with regards to policing in Mumbai/India. It just makes me sad. Its one of the things that I want to attempt to change with what ever little power I have or will have. :(( Anyways. This is an off topic post I guess. :((
Such a long rant :sleep: and then you say that you don't get ICF$$ for your "articles" :winky:
Was there any porn on the phone and if there was' date=' was it any good? :protest:[/quote'] rumours are flamy's sextape got leaked :secret:
^ He wasn't too rough on the animal in the sextape' date=' was he?[/quote'] Dunno, we have to ask Bublu Bhuyan about it. Hes the expert. :two_thumbs_up:
Stuge' date='dont even think about answering back to a thulla.. unka haath ghooom k lagega :cantstop:[/quote'] hmm I have done that quite few times . anyway ,I don't keep Pr0n in any of the devices I have :P
I hope people don't get arrested for narrating this long story :P But hmm, typically pandugiri at work, I say. Apna Mumbai bhi na. Convince someone to give a bribe for a crime he hasn't even done :giggle:
rumours are flamy's sextape got leaked :secret:
Who was the guy? :giggle:
I completely agree with your second point. Cops in Mumbai basically will extort money from you abusing you if you are a poor person and beg for money from you if you are influential. That is even when you don't do any wrong. If you do are in the wrong, then these guys are interested in only extorting money from you. For that they'll go to any lengths. I'll give you an experience of mine. Near Metro shoes ( on Colaba Causeway) there is a famous boutique where they source their goods from HK and Bangkok. Your better half probably would know about it. There was this once, that I had to pick up a dress that I bought from there which needed some minor alterations. That road is always busy and its near impossible to get a parking there. So I left the car parked along the footpath, in no way obstructing any traffic and got my dress and came back inside a minute. ( The rule for such parking is 3 minutes, unless it is designated as a no parking zone) and one havaldar was standing near my car smiling at me: " madam, tumhi shiklele log niyam ka palan nahi karat, tar kon karnaar. 500 Rs fine kaadha." Basically, he was asking me for 500 Rs ( the penalty for this is Rs 200 btw , which I checked up later) for a rule I didn't break. He was respectful in his behaviour and all that, but he was lying through his teeth. I didn't give him a penny. The police station is right across the road. I have seen the cops try to extort money from people in this fashion many times. A person leave his vehicle unattended for a few seconds or parks for a few seconds, then we have a cop cross the road in no time to collect his dues. Contrast this with the time when Kasab and Co. attacked Leopold Cafe, which is just across the road from the same police station. These guys in their release to the press said that they weren't there at the station when the attacks happened.Yeah right, like every single cop went patrolling!!! Complete rubbish. Just institutionalized cowards who will harass the citizenry whom they are supposed to protect instead of fighting the people who kill them. I'm sure if the terrorists came in a car and left it parked there for a few seconds, a cop would end up there to collect his hafta. Mumbai police are the goondas. Every crime in the city they get a cut from. They only act on those criminals who don't give them a cut. They don't control crime unless it is over the top or completely unacceptable. They regulate crime instead of curbing it. Though I have never had a mal experience with the cops, the police in India are absolutely class conscious. A Mariyam and a DomainK will be treated with respect by the cops because of their relative affluence. A poor person's complaint will also not be filed. They'll ask him to wait for 10 hours at a police station and then come again the next day. For the poor, there is no concept of justice. No society can have a rosy long term future where the poor majority have no chance to get any semblance of justice. There is so much that needs to be done with regards to policing in Mumbai/India. It just makes me sad. Its one of the things that I want to attempt to change with what ever little power I have or will have. :(( Anyways. This is an off topic post I guess. :((
Wonderful post. I read the whole thing and agree with every single point. And dude, this reply is longer than the damn news article. Considering a change of job, are you?
Wonderful post. I read the whole thing and agree with every single point. And dude' date=' this reply is longer than the damn news article. Considering a change of job, are you?[/quote'] Thank you. :icflove: