they're saying law will be enforced from tomorrow. hopefully story will remain the same as you've already pointed out.. but what worries me is that these ****ers has already closed down the hukka-bars... now this 25 wala law... only one question..! WHAT THE **** they want by such foolish laws... Worry about corruption, unemployment, poverty, illiteracy, etc as you already know. Bhench*d daaru aur hukka ban karke desh ka bhala karne chale hai kya!!
Fret not DK, Many of the hard liquor companies have already decided to approach the courts over the new ( and sudden) change in the rules. They are mainly contesting: 1) The change has been too sudden and in such cases the employment of 1000s of people ( due to lay offs due to losses) is at stake and as per existing laws, the government has to create or promise alternate employment in cases where their decree can cause unemployment. They should facilitate employment of the workers from the alcohol industry. 2) They say that it is a ruse to extort more money from the hoteliers and liquor barons. 3) The revised age for beer drinkers is 21 and that for spirits is 25. So the spirit manufacturers allege a government bias towards beer companies. All in all, there are so many points that the government possibly cannot win this case(s). They are against people who have invested a lot and have lots at stake. But in the unlikely event of the government winning, I will have to wait another 3 months :((

@yumm I don't know much about this law thing. One thing I'm sure about is that this all **** is going on just coz for money. Everyone wants their share in it coz they know that if someone is ready to pay 400 bucks for freaking hukka then they can easily pay more for it and also for the liquor (prices have already gone high for it). Xada kuch nai pata but all I know is I had my friday ka quota today. AQ Blue :D Baaki dekha jayega kya hota hai aage :P And yeah if that law thing goes live (that's how we IT people say it, don't know much about those legal terms :D) then I've to wait for some 13 months more. :dontknow:

One thing i dont understand is, wasnt 25 the age anyways? I had applied for an official permit and the dude was.. you are not 25, how can you get a liquor permit?:blink:

But in the unlikely event of the government winning, I will have to wait another 3 months :((
And yeah if that law thing goes live (that's how we IT people say it, don't know much about those legal terms :D) then I've to wait for some 13 months more. :dontknow:
:giggle: 16 days :cheer:

@ DW You can always buy a hookah from Arabian Nights ( its below Shoppers Stop at Bandra) and have it at your balcony/terrace. Many people do that now. I bought a set a few years ago, but haven't used it yet. Even that hookah ban is challenged. But I don't know the details about that case. Chances are that that ban will be reversed too.

Alcohol prices have gone through the roof! Places like AER charge ~2k for a large black label with soda. Prive used to charge ~17k for a bottle of black up till last month... now that the prices have gone up, I'm just :fear: You get the whole bottle for ~30$ in the US. :facepalm: Duty free zindabad:icflove:

@ DW You can always buy a hookah from Arabian Nights ( its below Shoppers Stop at Bandra) and have it at your balcony/terrace. Many people do that now. I bought a set a few years ago, but haven't used it yet. Even that hookah ban is challenged. But I don't know the details about that case. Chances are that that ban will be reversed too.
Mocha @ churchgate, Koyla etc serve hooka.

@holy 16 days? WOW. That's so COOOOL.... :finger: :P Btw age limit was 21 I guess.. not sure though.. @Yum Arey I already know about it yaar. But I can't have a hukka at home :(( Many of my friends have it. Aur bandra me bhi I know some places where they're serving hukka even now also. (obviously at higher rate) No big deal for hukka or even liquor if the law thing goes live. Sab jugaad ho jata hai.

Mocha @ churchgate' date=' Koyla etc serve hooka.[/quote'] I absolutely love Koyla. During winter evenings, its the best place to hang out. In summer its pretty torrid there. Why hasn't their hookah license been revoked?
Alcohol prices have gone through the roof! Places like AER charge ~2k for a large black label with soda. Prive used to charge ~17k for a bottle of black up till last month... now that the prices have gone up, I'm just :fear: You get the whole bottle for ~30$ in the US. :facepalm: Duty free zindabad:icflove:
My cousin had a stop over in Dubai. Over there she got a Black Label bottle for 110 Dirhams ( ~ 1400 Rs) only. :omg: Its cheaper in the Middle East. The rates at resto-bars are not even sane. Or justifiable. Vie Lounge charges ~1k for black label, one large peg.
I absolutely love Koyla. During winter evenings, its the best place to hang out. In summer its pretty torrid there. Why hasn't their hookah license been revoked?
Well, apparently they say that they cannot serve both food and hookah together. They have a separate section for hookah now. But if you know the right peoplez, anything is possible. :winky:
My cousin had a stop over in Dubai. Over there she got a Black Label bottle for 110 Dirhams ( ~ 1400 Rs) only. :omg: Its cheaper in the Middle East. The rates at resto-bars are not even sane. Or justifiable. Vie Lounge charges ~1k for black label, one large peg.
Hmm, thanks for reminding me. Someone I know going to dubai on tuesday. :--D You should check out the prices at AER. I feel like jumping off from there when I see the pricelist. :wall:
u still get scotch for old prices . I picked up a bottle of Whyte & Mackay for 1300 yesterday . not sure they are still clearing the old stocks though