Zee Cine Awards is a popular choice award, which means it was decided entirely by public voting. Little wonder Sallu, the current box office favorite won it.

I recently watched a Bollywood movie, I've heard how Bollywood is going through the phase Hollywood was 40 years ago with the introduction of gangster mob movies and other similar changes. Bollywood is as dull as it ever was. Music has reached levels of shamelessness I thought not possible. You can scarecely watch 5 mins of any movie, even the pg/universal ones without having to sit awkwardly. Music has always been an issue and out of the 6 songs in the movie I watched not a single one of them had good music or a good video. It was shocking viewing, even my wife who was once a devour Bollywood fan has converted to Hollywood.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Bollywood/2012-the-best-of-The-Big-Interview/Article1-982670.aspx
Kareena Kapoor Your cousin Ranbir said that he was born into luxury. Can you say the same? We weren’t brought up in luxury, as people think about the Kapoor clan. My mom (Babita) and sister (Karisma) really struggled to give me a better life. Especially my mom, because she was a single parent. Everything was very limited for us. Lolo went to college in local trains, but I escaped that because I didn’t go to college here. But I took the school bus like everyone else. We had one car and didn’t have enough money for a driver. It’s only because mom brought us up like this that we value everything we have today.

Salman Khan inks Rs 500 crore deal with Star India

MUMBAI: Just before the credits roll down in his 2009 hit Wanted that features Salman Khan as a cop embedded with the underworld, he delivers the punch line: "Once I commit to something, I won't even listen to myself". Well, Rupert Murdoch and his Indian entertainment empire are hanging on to those very words as Star India inks a deal with the 47-year-old superstar that will effectively make the channel the only satellite podium for any movie he makes in the next five years. Khan confirmed the deal, but declined to share details. The deal, estimated to be in the range of 450 crore to 500 crore, is the first of its kind in Bollywood. People close to the actor, who refused to be identified, said the contract will include all his films over the next five years after last month's Dabangg2. "It is reasonably long and big," said Star India's Chief Operating Officer Sanjay Gupta. What is known is that Khan will do five films - Sajid Nadiadwala's Kick , brother Sohail Khan's next film, Boney Kapoor's sequel to No Entry , Dabangg3 as well as Sooraj Barjatya's next movie. Salman's Satellite Record Impressive forget-bollywood-now-get-used-to-salluwood-on-star.jpg Star already holds a strong portfolio of Salman Khan's films - Dabangg, Wanted, Ready, Bodyguard, Tere Naam, Pyar Kiya To Darna Kya - for 7-8 years, and Dabangg2, which it bagged for 50 crore for 11 years a year before its release. Just like his recent box office record, Khan's satellite ratings have been impressive. Bodyguard registered a record television rating points (TRP) of 10.3 when it was aired on Star Gold in December 2011. TRP is a measure of what percentage of people in a defined time band and a defined profile watched a particular programme, a number keenly followed by the advertising industry. A film is considered a success on TV if it can notch up an average 2.5 TRP through the year, apart from the high number it garners on premieres. Over the past few years, satellite prices have been playing a key role in bankrolling films with at least a third of the movie's cost of production coming from selling these rights prior to even beginning production. Competition among TV companies wanting to acquire the rights of hit movies has led to an increase in the acquisition price of many recent big films. Hrithik Roshan's Krissh3 and the Shah Rukh Khan-starrer Don2 were reportedly sold to Sony for 37 crore each, while Aamir Khan's Talaash and Karan Johar's Agneepath went for 40 crore. Channels usually spend an average of 200-300 crore a year to acquire film titles for their libraries.
economic times he's the new King Khan :hatsoff:

How Bollywood stars should make fiction TV debuts

Move over reality shows. Fiction television has to be the next frontier for Bollywood stars. Anil Kapoor will soon make his debut in the Hindi adaptation of the larger-than-life American series, 24. He will play the protagonist, Jack Bauer, that Kiefer Sutherland previously portrayed. For all you know, Jack Bauer will now be called Jignesh Bhat. And Jignesh will land a few feet from a nuclear explosion and walk away with only a frown on his face. Who could have imagined Mr India as Mr Bauer? But take Shivaji Rao (Anil’s role in Nayak; 2001) or Shakti Thakur (his part in Virasat; 1997) into consideration, and the casting doesn’t seem that odd. Since Bollywood doesn’t take long to follow trends, we’ve put together a list for other actors. Based on past performances, here’s what we feel would be the correct genres and characters (from US shows that have the potential to be remade in India) for them to make their debuts with. Aamir Khan Genre: Suspense, thriller He is Bollywood’s most versatile actor — he can pull off Rang De Basanti (2006), Ghajini (2008) and 3 Idiots (2008). Currently, his poignant stare and wrinkled brow are being used to bring about world peace. And at the risk of getting lambasted by fans of JJ Abram’s Lost, we feel Aamir might pull off the role of Jack Shephard in an Indian adaptation — if that ever happens in some other universe that is (see what we did there?). Casting him in a series with many characters might help too, since he brings out the best in his co-stars. Look at Talaash (2012) for proof. Aamir’s co-star, his moustache, didn’t win an award, but was right up there with Shah Rukh Khan’s beard from Jab Tak Hai Jaan (2012). Duration: Weekly; his recent stint as the anchor-producer of Satyamev Jayate proves that there’s only that much emotional overdose we can wake up to. Who is Jack Shephard? The protagonist of Lost is a surgeon and a self-assigned leader. He is one of the survivors of a plane that crashed on a mysterious island. Salman Khan Genre: Comedy The day Salman discovered he just had to ‘be himself’ in his films, his golden period began with hits like Wanted (2008) and Dabangg (2010). The box office currently lives in his vanity van and makes him tea every morning. There’s one Hollywood star who functions similarly — Charlie Sheen. Salman in Charlie Harper’s shorts in Two And A Half Men isn’t a far stretch. We never doubted the existence of Salman’s funny bone; the 1994 epic film Andaz Apna Apna proved it. Duration: Daily. How can you get bored of an actor who doesn’t even let his films’ directors know what exactly he’s going to do that day? Who is Charlie Harper? Bachelor, playboy, and sarcastic lead character of Two And A Half Men. He does what he wants, lives with his brother and nephew, and gets all the girls. Sound familiar? Shah Rukh Khan Genre: Romantic drama One tends to imagine SRK in romantic roles. Not because Swades (2004) and Chak De India (2007) turned audiences off, but because he doesn’t want us to see him as anything else. Back in the ’90s, he played the same guy — think Rahul and Raj in films with the word ‘dil’ in the title. Soap opera writers sleep peacefully at night because they know their platinum edition DVDs of The Bold And The Beautiful lie safely by their side. It would be every drama-loving, tear-jerking, slow-song-listening romantic writer’s dream to cast SRK as Ridge Forrester if the show had an Indian adaptation. The only problem will arise when SRK throws his arms open; we aren’t sure small screen directors are used to shooting wide-angle. Duration: Daily. There’s no such thing as a dearth of audience for melodrama. Who is Ridge Forrester? One of the lead characters of the dynasty show, The Bold And The Beautiful. Ridge is a rebellious, rich kid, who grows up to be romantically conflicted. Hrithik Roshan Genre: Drama As much as you’d like to think of all the films he’s done, the first thing that comes to mind at the mention of Hrithik Roshan is the six-pack abs. His chiseled physique also deserves to be nominated for best supporting role along with Aamir’s moustache and SRK’s beard. So if Baywatch is ever remade in India, Hrithik Roshan would make for a more-than-apt version of Mitch Buchannon. He has the body and the moves, and considering it would be an Indian adaptation, there would be some dance sequences thrown in. Duration: Weekly; watching too much Hrithik on television can be harmful to the eyes. Who is Mitch Buchannon? Leader, father-figure, do-gooder, top lifeguard in Baywatch, that revolves around lifeguards and young women in red swimming costumes. And Pamela Anderson. Shahid Kapoor Genre: Romantic-drama Shahid’s debut film Ishq Vishk (2003) looked like it was inspired by an episode of a rom-com TV show. Then he grew up to become Aditya Kashyap (in Jab We Met; 2007) and then found his lady love in Kareena Kapoor...err… Geet (the role Kareena played). Then he made career choices that the film trade circuit feels might not all have been wise. But that’s the way the cookie crumbles in most romantic-dramas. Imagine Shahid in the shoes of Nathan Scott from One Tree Hill. If this isn’t a perfect fit, we don’t know what is. Duration: Daily. Nothing like some cheesiness to make high-octane prime-time drama. Who is Nathan Scott? The young, brooding, egotistical character who found love and lost all his shades of grey in a show called One Tree Hill about two rival brothers with the same father, but different mothers. Akshay Kumar Genre: Comedy There’s little one remembers Akshay Kumar for when it comes to professional achievements. But we know that he loves his family. Even though he has been striking gold at the box office with random hits, more people know that he flew back from a film schedule to be with his wife, Twinkle, when she was delivering their second kid. And that he has the name of his son, Aarav, tattooed on his back. He’d have to play the part of a family man. Phil Dunphy, the self-professed super-cool father in Modern Family is what we’re thinking. Duration: Weekly; there’s only so much natural acting that an actor, who is used to being asked to go overboard so often, can do. Who is Phil Dunphy? Husband, self-professed real estate agent and a self-proclaimed cool father of three. The daily tales of his family, along with two other dysfunctional units, makes up the show Modern Family. Ranbir Kapoor Genre: Sit-com He kept his female fans happy with Bachna Ae Haseeno (2008) and Ajab Prem Ki Ghazab Kahani (2009). Then he gave critics enough to go gaga over with his roles in Raajneeti (2010) and Barfi! (2012). What makes you think he won’t be able to do a legen-wait for it-dary job of playing Barney Stinson from How I Met Your Mother? Throw in some slapstick and an ensemble cast that complements his comic timing, and we just might have a winner. Obviously, we’ll have to wait till 2023 for his date diary to clear up. Duration: Daily; no such thing as too much comedy starring a young actor who, for a change, can act. Who is Barney Stinson? The slick, hilarious playboy, whose life revolves around finding interesting techniques to get laid. He is also the only man who enjoys his single status, on a show about six friends called How I Met Your Mother. Vidya Balan Genre: Comedy, drama Even in her first acting stint in 1995, in a fiction TV show called Hum Paanch, Vidya Balan knew the only way to get noticed in this glam-spam industry was to swim against the tide. Even today, she doesn’t mind working hard to look unattractive for a role. We wouldn’t be going overboard then, to consider her the best choice for the lead role in an Ugly Betty Indian adaptation. And since the method actor likes taking on challenges (she apparently had to smoke and eat to prepare for her role in The Dirty Picture — serious first world issues), we’re sure getting braces will only be a miniature hurdle. Duration: Daily; who doesn’t like seeing the underdog have his/her day? Who is Ugly Betty? A young, confident girl with a bad sense of fashion. She gets flung into the life of a high-street fashion magazine employee. She’s also the character who inspired Mona Singh’s show, Jassi Jaisi Koi Nahi. Priyanka Chopra Genre: Rom-com After Aamir Khan, she is probably one of the film industry’s most experimental actors. She played a negative role in Aitraaz (2003) early in her career. Since then she has proved her mettle with films like 7 Khoon Maaf (2011) and the recent Barfi!. Even though she is yet to do a full-blown comedy, her singing debut did amuse us enough. She’d make a good Rachel Green if some very courageous souls decided to remake Friends in India. Duration: Daily; young men and women will happily become couch potatoes to watch Priyanka Chopra put on Rachel’s shoes. Who is Rachel? A confused, slightly promiscuous and emotional character who has a soft corner for younger men, and has been in a ridiculously long on-and-off relationship with a paleontologist called Ross, in one of the most popular shows of all time, Friends. Ajay Devgn Genre: Medical drama If Amitabh Bachchan didn’t already own the title of the ‘angry young man’, Ajay Devgn could easily be a contender. Purely because the man doesn’t look like he’s capable of having a conversation about anything you can laugh at. This is why he’d make for an apt Dr Gregory House if the medical American drama, House MD, were adapted in India. He’d just need to limp around a hospital, frown, occasionally blurt gibberish and save people’s lives without having to throw bullock carts at villains and pick fights with tigers. Duration: Weekly; because no matter how much you like taking shots of oxygen, hospitals are depressing places. Who is Dr Gregory House? Super genius, sarcastic doctor with a heart of gold, a limp and addiction issues, who heads the diagnostic medicine department in a hospital where people with really, really, really weird diseases land up.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Entertainment/Television/How-Bollywood-stars-should-make-fiction-TV-debuts/Article1-1038821.aspx
Very interesting :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up: Why the heck was Kamasutra thrown into the list; I may watch that movie for certain reasons but its not iconic by any stretch of course like any other list it is missing some true iconic movies but inclusion of KS makes no sense

Bombay Talkies: An ode to 100 glorious years of Bollywood

Ashi Dua may not be a household name yet but she has potential. 28 year old Mumbaikar, Ashi is the co-producer of the highly anticipated film Bombay Talkies which is a celebration of 100 years of Indian Cinema. What’s interesting is Ashi has brought together four Bollywood’s most celebrated young film makers - Anurag Kashyap, Zoya Akhtar, Dibakar Banerjee and Karan Johar. CNBC-TV18's special show Young Turks met Ashi to find out how a film maker with no godfather in the film industry has kept the creativity intact. Hundred years after Dadasaheb Phalke’s Raja Harishchandra hit our screens, a young film maker with no links to the industry is attempting a celluloid tribute. Co-founder of Flying Unicorn Entertainment, a Mumbai based film and TV content creation company, Ashi Dua worked in the TV business with NDTV and Percept Picture Company for a few years before she decided to give light to her Bollywood dream. Dua's debut film Bombay Talkies brings together four of the country’s most talked about young directors, Karan Johar, Zoya Akhtar, Anurag Kashyap and Dibakar Banerjee. Each director will make a 20 minute film on a single theme - how cinema is an integral part of every Indian. Bombay Talkies will open in theatres on May 3 bringing a close to four year journey from ideation to fruition for Ashi. Dua recalls, “I went to Anurag and said, ‘this is my concept and I want you to make a film for us’. He agreed. I wanted to work with Zoya and then, Zindagi Na Milegi Dobara had not been released. She had made Luck By Chance and it was a lot about the film industry. I said to her, ‘I have Anurag on board and nobody else right now. This is my concept. Do you think you can do this?’ She said, ‘I wrote a story long time back with Reema Kagti and if you let me shoot that story, I will do your film’. Then eventually Dibakar and Karan also agree.” The idea of Bombay Talkies has won over the hottest names in the industry and for music director Amit Trivedi, this is a labour of love. Accommodating musical sensibility of four different directors while staying true to the era that each film maker recreates, is a tough task. Trivedi says “The film has two most exciting songs as it talks of 100 years of cinema. There is a song on Amitabh Bachchan and is like an ode to him. For the first time, there is a song on an actor. It is called Bachchan. I including Amitabh Bhattacharya, the lyric writer, Anurag Kashyap, Ashi are very excited to create a song on Bachchan. Amitabh Bachchan, Rani Mukherjee, Katrina Kaif, Randeep Hooda and Nawazuddin Siddiqui will be part of the long listed stars that make this film come alive. Despite all these big names, the producers claim this is mid level budget film. Bombay Talkies will be released world wide and distributed to 850 screens. As for her financial expectations from the film, Ashi says she doesn’t have too many. Dua says, “This film is a true passion project, so god willing, if we breakeven and make enough money to compensate everybody’s efforts, we will be very happy. If we make more than that, we will just consider ourselves lucky. But commercially, we are hoping that people watch this film. In this film, it is more about the number of people watching it than the number itself. I don’t know if we will make Rs 10 crore or Rs 100 crore. I just wish more and more people watch a film like this.” While the reviews of Bombay Talkies are yet to hit the press, Ashi now looks to experiment with more commercially viable cinema.
http://www.moneycontrol.com/news/entertainment/bombay-talkies-an-ode-to-100-glorious-yearsbollywood_848236.html