Graeme Swann tells Indians: Ditching reviews won't save you

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/cricket/2011/06/14/graeme-swann-tells-indians-ditching-reviews-won-t-save-you-115875-23199935/ GRAEME SWANN has warned India’s batsmen that rejecting TV umpires will not save them this summer. India have turned their noses up at the Umpire *Decision Review System, claiming the technology remains flawed, But Swann reckons the only thing going up will be the umpire’s finger. The England off-spinner has made the most of UDRS, with lbws aplenty from replays showing the ball hitting pad before bat. And batsmen who used to kick the ball away with their pads can no longer survive either because umpires are more likely to send them back to the pavilion thanks to hawk-eye – and homework. “A few years ago not having UDRS would have been a blow but what’s happened is that umpires are far happier to give lbws out on the front foot,” said Swann. “Umpires have been going back and studying videos and they have learnt from the mistakes of the past and are more willing to give things out. “I think it is a shame we’re not going to use it because it is a very positive thing that has been introduced in the game. “I think India do trust the technology. “You could make that excuse but I think it’s proved to be pretty accurate. It saves as many batmen as it sends to the stocks. “I don’t know if it’s a distrust of technology or a bit of kidology on their part. If they don’t want to do it, fair enough. “Maybe we’ll get a couple that would have been *overturned and it would be quite amusing if that happened.” Swann would be even more delighted if England’s top three of Andrew Strauss, Alastair Cook, and Jonathan Trott were given reprieves that using UDRS would have denied. It would mean more time for him to sleep, joke and play pranks in the dressing room while they batted, because he will not be watching them nudge it around the ground. He added: “I’m not a great watcher of cricket, but when Cook and Trott are batting my god I struggle to keep my eyes open. “I adore the fact they love batting and bat all the time but I would happily watch an Ian Bell, or Matt Prior. “I will always watch KP as well but Cook, Strauss and Trott, if there is an uglier top three in the world I don’t know of it. “But they are amazing and I would not change any of it. I wouldn’t pay to get in and watch them but I’d happily pay their salaries.” ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Too many bombastic words coming out from Swann and the English players, fans and experts. So many statements before a series that is still a month and more away tells you the edginess of the opposition. Unfortunately, all they will get from the Indian camp is total silence with an occasional barb or two by Harbie and perhaps Sree.
He added: “I’m not a great watcher of cricket, but when Cook and Trott are batting my god I struggle to keep my eyes open. “I adore the fact they love batting and bat all the time but I would happily watch an Ian Bell, or Matt Prior. “I will always watch KP as well but Cook, Strauss and Trott, if there is an uglier top three in the world I don’t know of it. “But they are amazing and I would not change any of it. I wouldn’t pay to get in and watch them but I’d happily pay their salaries.”
The guy is hilarious. love his tweets as well. but seriously Swanny, time to zip it 32C0eKRQVt8

Yeah - I just posted another article on the "India fear Swann" theme on another thread. Thing is, these people believe themselves to be the best cricket nation on the planet just because they won the Ashes, so everything India do is in some way out of a fear of the powerful United Nations XI. Hope Gambhir, Sehwag and Zak are all fit come July 21st. The real best team in the world will put this arrogant team, fans and media in their place.

Why should he shut up? Phuddu Indian senior players are not up to it..They've to take the blame..WHat's the point in winning matches which the World will not recognise? What's the point of making so many personal records by this way?

O bhaiji bas do kahawat hain ji "Jo garajte hain wo baraste nahin" aur doosri "Hathi chale bazar toh kutte bhaunke hazar"
The technology is not going away. You have to embrace the technology. The quicker you do it (instead of worrying about some personal milestones) the better.. :two_thumbs_up: On top of that it's better to win some and lose some using the technology which all other teams are using otherwise you'll always give them chance to pooh-pooh your "achievements"..
Astreix bhai. Thats what they want. Buy it... Millions de do... Do you really thinks thats going to help Indian cricket

I cant wait for this series after all the build up in Eng press.I think it will be a high scoring series with plenty of hundreds from both sides.Swann is a decent spinner but this Indians are scared of swann thing is laughable considering great spinners have struggled against Indians in recent past. Eng top order will score big and so will Indians meaning bowlers on both sides will have tough time.

Astreix bhai. Thats what they want. Buy it... Millions de do... Do you really thinks thats going to help Indian cricket
Are bhai..The DRS is here to stay. No point blocking it. The moment you allow it, it'll drop on the Non-Maharathi Indian players like ton of bricks. The best way is to start using it and adapt..Don't listen to soon to be retiring Maharathis..They've already got so many personal records. Why further screwing up India's future just for your personal records?

I love it when oppo wind us up. As best way is to praise us and we get complacement and play with lack of passion, its our weakness. However as Aussies have discovered over last 15 years and Enlgland(but to dumb to understand) is that wind us up, criticise us, challenge us, make fun of us... only brings best out of us, as then we give 100% and not 70% which we can do. No coincindence that 2 teams who try and take piss out of us in Eng and Aus have miserable record against us over last 15 years. Our players will be hearing all of this and getting more and more pumped.

Are bhai..The DRS is here to stay. No point blocking it. The moment you allow it' date=' it'll drop on the Non-Maharathi Indian players like ton of bricks. The best way is to start using it and adapt..[b']Don't listen to soon to be retiring Maharathis..They've already got so many personal records. Why further screwing up India's future just for your personal records?
If Tendulkar is as obsessed with personal records as you say, can you explain why he has skipped the WI Test series, foregoing the chance to rack up big runs against one of the worst teams in the world?
If Tendulkar is as obsessed with personal records as you say' date=' can you explain why he has skipped the WI Test series, foregoing the chance to rack up big runs against one of the worst teams in the world?[/quote'] He understands that he can score runs against better teams as long as that evil DRS is kept aside. No point in going to WI. At his age he knows exactly what he is doing and how much his body allows. He could've skipped the England tour citing some injury etc. had BCCI agreed to the DRS.. :--D

I suggest that people actually listen to Swann's interview. It is on Cricinfo. He said that he likes the system but it's fine if India don't want it. He also said that it won't make a huge difference since umpires give more LBWs on the front foot these days anyway.

He understands that he can score runs against better teams as long as that evil DRS is kept aside. No point in going to WI. At his age he knows exactly what he is doing and how much his body allows. He could've skipped the England tour citing some injury etc. had BCCI agreed to the DRS.. :--D
Theek hai bhai...lage raho :winky:
The technology is not going away. You have to embrace the technology. The quicker you do it (instead of worrying about some personal milestones) the better.. :two_thumbs_up: On top of that it's better to win some and lose some using the technology which all other teams are using otherwise you'll always give them chance to pooh-pooh your "achievements"..
Oh to aisa bolo na. maine socha you are saying ki our players too should be talking big in the media about this series. On DRS, I am with you. Saying no to DRS is totally daft. I am right now compiling a list of the decisions which could have gone our way with UDRS in the last 2 years. Using CI commentary as the source. Will share it on the forum soon. Have had a look at only the Aus series of 2008 so far and apparently some 9 decisions went against us, decisions which could have gone our way with a review system. I am sure the number would reach 30-35 in the last 2 years when I am done.