Karan114 Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Indian cricket plots control of world game By Scyld Berry, Cricket Correspondent World cricket could be hijacked by India for decades to come at the International Cricket Council’s annual meeting in Hong Kong starting on Sunday. The ICC’s governance review committee, heavily influenced by the BCCI (Board of Control of Cricket in India), has proposed changes to the ICC constitution that would pave the way for the ICC president to rule indefinitely, and for two successive presidents to come from the same country. Sharad Pawar, the former head of the BCCI, is the ICC president but under the present regulations, an Indian could not succeed him. The proposal, which would allow India to impose their will on the cricketing world, needs the support of most of the 35 Associate members – and 38 votes out of 50 in the voting council – and it could well get voted in such is India’s financial muscle because of their vast television audiences. The dangers of an Indian ruling ICC as a president-for-life are far-reaching for world cricket. India are opposed to the new umpiring Decision Review System, although it is approved by almost everyone else. The Indian Premier League would also be guaranteed a six-week window in March and April, so that no international cricket could be played in that period. This would mean England’s schedule would be restricted – and potentially their income too. The World Cup will also be affected. The ICC has stated the 2015 World Cup will be a 10-country event, but another motion at this week’s ICC meeting is for four Associates to be included in a 14-country event, like last time, in spite of far too many one-sided matches. Michael Vaughan, the former England captain said: “The Indians are basically taking over.” David Morgan, the last ICC president, added: “I think the ICC has been well served by fixed-term presidencies. The dangers that arise from open-ended terms of office are well known.” Geoffrey Boycott said: “Many countries that play cricket are frightened to death of India’s financial power. You’ve got TV stations queuing up in India to get the rights to beam the coverage [of their tours] in India and they pay a lot of money for that.” http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/cricket/international/india/8599061/Indian-cricket-plots-control-of-world-game.html
Ultimate_Game Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Well it happens at FIFA and IOC so what's the big deal? Didn't Samaranch rule IOC from 1980 to 2001? And isn't Sepp Blatter heading FIFA since 1998 and Joao Havelange rule FIFA from 1974 to 1998? So what's wrong if ICC goes the same way as FIFA (soccer) or IOC (Olympics) as those two are bigger events/sports than cricket and are doing pretty well. I say let's follow the successful model as soccer and olympics surely aren't doing too bad for themselves.
achilles Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Typically British. I wonder why he wasn't critical of his own country when they ruled cricket until the 90s.
achilles Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Speaking specifically of the Presidency issue, what is the big deal? The President needs an approval for the board on every decision. It doesn't matter if the President is white, brown, purple, pink or even auburn. Its a rather stupid, protectionist logic to assume that the other members are just coming to the meetings to show off your Armani's. Surprising that a Wisden bigwig reports with such brazen irresponsibility.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Typically British. I wonder why he wasn't critical of his own country when they ruled cricket until the 90s. Motto of the English.... "Do as I say, not what I do"
achilles Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Motto of the English.... "Do as I say' date=' not what I do"[/quote'] I think its preposterous. When we were making a fuss about it in the 80s and 90s that England bullies us, no one gave a damn. Karma has come back to haunt the English. I don't really support our muscle-flexing all the time, but when you've got the power, there's no harm showing it.
desi pride 1234 Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 It has become a fashion nowadays to accuse BCCI for everything.Obviously they are really jealous of india flexing the muscle in ICC. Yeah we will dominate the world cricket. LOL, the sad part is nobody could anything about this.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 I think its preposterous. When we were making a fuss about it in the 80s and 90s that England bullies us' date=' no one gave a damn. Karma has come back to haunt the English. I don't really support our muscle-flexing all the time, but when you've got the power, there's no harm showing it.[/quote'] Well as the saying goes, let the barking dogs bark (kutton ko bhunkne do). Let English worry about it, we shouldn't give 2 hoots about them. I suspect the only folks who will have their panties in a twist would be the Paki fans :cantstop: I can see them going on about how BCCI is ruling world cricket and how they are doing everything to harm Pakistan :hysterical: Jab haathi guzarta hai to bhaunkte kutton ke dar se woh raasta nahin badalta :--D
NareshK Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 I dont know why some people are making a big deal about India having power in the ICC. If you look at cricket around the world, the game is dying in West Indies and New Zealand. Pakistan doesnt play any cricket at home and Sri Lankan board is bankrupt and depends on BCCI. Even the test match between England and Sri Lanka at Cardiff had virtually empty stands. While in India, major venues get capacity crowds for any test match and its hard to get tickets for any ODI and IPL game. Isnt it natural that India should hold more control over decisions made at ICC being that BCCI is generating so much revenue for ICC while the game is dying everywhere else ?
achilles Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Well as the saying goes, let the barking dogs bark (kutton ko bhunkne do). Let English worry about it, we shouldn't give 2 hoots about them. I suspect the only folks who will have their panties in a twist would be the Paki fans :cantstop: I can see them going on about how BCCI is ruling world cricket and how they are doing everything to harm Pakistan :hysterical: Jab haathi guzarta hai to bhaunkte kutton ke dar se woh raasta nahin badalta :--D Ya. Pakistan has always thought that they are our equals. England, well, they atleast come close. But Pakistani fans are really overdoing their shock, awe, whatever behaviour on the internet. As in, be thankful we have atleast tentatively proposed playing you. So much for our small-hearted display. As for England, they really need to have a deep look at themselves in the mirror and try to remember the time they hijacked cricket and ran it as their fiefdom. Fate has a funny way to even up.
achilles Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Oh ya, for my English friends, this series is going to make you the highest amount of money ECB has ever made, in its lifetime! So, thank us, you thankless bros who ruled us for 150 years, stole our money, gold, etc.
Zap_Brannigan Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 When BCCI decides that 1 vote for it is below its standards and gets 3 votes per decision, then English has a right to complain. India is blamed for everything. DRS system - BCCI is just cheap but it was the almighty ICC that went with the "both boards need to agree rule". BCCI just played by the rules. FTP - What the ***tards dont know is that these tours are planned by their boards and not by ICC. Noones wants to play the cheaters,pakistan and the ordinary BD and hence they dont have the most test matches in the FTP. Everyone blames BCCI even when it is england that gets the most test matches. WI decline - IPL is blamed because their players choose IPL. Whats next Oven makers blame the mocrowaves for their lack of sales?? Retards, the whole lot!
Ultimate_Game Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 When BCCI decides that 1 vote for it is below its standards and gets 3 votes per decision' date= then English has a right to complain. India is blamed for everything. DRS system - BCCI is just cheap but it was the almighty ICC that went with the "both boards need to agree rule". BCCI just played by the rules. FTP - What the ***tards dont know is that these tours are planned by their boards and not by ICC. Noones wants to play the cheaters,pakistan and the ordinary BD and hence they dont have the most test matches in the FTP. Everyone blames BCCI even when it is england that gets the most test matches. WI decline - IPL is blamed because their players choose IPL. Whats next Oven makers blame the mocrowaves for their lack of sales?? Retards, the whole lot! In fact they have no right to complain even then. IMO India should have a veto power in ICC considering 80% of the revenue is generated by India and India or Indians are the biggest stakeholders of cricket. MCC (England) and Australia had veto power in ICC till mid 80s or so so why shouldn't India have the same. Doesn't US, China, Britain etc. have veto power in UN? Shouldn't that be unfair as well? The fact is life isn't fair and you gotta learn to live with it.
achilles Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 I would agree with the ECB that the UDRS resistance is downright ridiculous. Esp. in the light of our recent fiasco in WI. I'm sure everyone here will pick UDRS over the more-than-normal goof-ups by the umpires. Also, some seniors suggested that the umpires screwed up on purpose to put indirect pressure on India to adopt UDRS. I consider this to be an emotionally charged statement. As for everything else, England should concentrate on how to beat us. This newspaper jihad is hypocrisy and stupidity of the highest order.
Zap_Brannigan Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 I would agree with the ECB that the UDRS resistance is downright ridiculous. Esp. in the light of our recent fiasco in WI. I am not sure about that anymore. There is an article on cricinfo right now that says SL just cut the cost of their series agianst Aus from 2.3 million $ to 800,000$ because they are expecting only 1.15 million $ in revenue.The cost of implementing DRS is 60,000 $ per game and even if they implement it just for the test series, that alone is around 15% of their revenue and this is Aus, the only country SL has some kinda enmity against. Most boards are bankrupt as it is. Would they really implement this? Having said that India not agreeing when the other boards are willing esp since the other boards are the one to pay, says something else is going on. Why is the BCCI so concerned about the costs if WI is picking up the tab?
cowboysfan Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 56k per day for use of UDRS seems a ridiculous number to me,how are bankrupt boards going to afford this?
jairamesh Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 Absolutely agree with Mr Berry. So why the smearing of associates (I thought it was BCCI's role to be Associate bashing): The World Cup will also be affected. The ICC has stated the 2015 World Cup will be a 10-country event, but another motion at this week’s ICC meeting is for four Associates to be included in a 14-country event, like last time, in spite of far too many one-sided matches. Michael Vaughan, the former England captain said: “The Indians are basically taking over.” I think the last World Cup was perfect, with Associates justifying their inclusion. None of the associate embarrassed themselves in every match, and some memorable performances from some of their players. Despite all ills of Sharad Pawar, credit for him to use his influence to re-consider the 2015 World Cup format. Had it been Howard or Morgan as ICC president, it would have been dismissed long ago.
Ultimate_Game Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 ^^^^ Michael Vaughan and England should be the last ones to moan about adding minnows. They are the ones who nearly lost to Netherlands and lost to Ireland and B'desh so how the hell can they say there should only be 10 teams around?
Cricket Tragic Posted June 26, 2011 Posted June 26, 2011 14 teams were too many imo. 12 is what I'd go for personally.