Tapioca Posted December 16, 2011 Posted December 16, 2011 It is a little ridiculous to give this to long dead people, to please I don't know who. If the greatness in the field is the only criteria, let's start off with one for Mahatma Gandhi, then distribute a few among Bhabha, Sarabhai, Saha et al, another bunch to Vivekananda, Aurobindo and so on.
carnish Posted December 16, 2011 Posted December 16, 2011 no. Even if you have to pick someone from billiards Sethi is more deserving than him. Besides, international billiards scene is practically dead - so even number of world billiards titles does not mean much. Not in same league as SRT/VISHY. As for snooker - Pankaj is nothing in international Snooker and I don't foresee it changing even in 20 years. no only billiards not snooker... and i said 10 years from now.. had i said now it would obviously be sethi ji...he is a legend...
akshayxyz Posted December 16, 2011 Posted December 16, 2011 no only billiards not snooker... and i said 10 years from now.. had i said now it would obviously be sethi ji...he is a legend... even then i don't think he would have earned it.... competitiveness in billiards has decreased significantly in last couple of decades.. and I do not see it getting any better. He would most likely win more titles than Sethi ji, but the competition is just not as good. However, if he starts focusing on snooker and wins 4-5 crucible titles, then he would be more deserving than any other Indian (in cue sports).
yoda Posted December 16, 2011 Posted December 16, 2011 BTW, while these high awards shouldn't be given out to undeserving people, especially politicians who just pat each others backs, I don't think they should be shy about giving to those who have been outstanding in their fields. For example, just because SRT deserves it, doesn't mean a Kapil or a Dravid or a Anand should be kept out of it. They all have done the country proud.
Sachin=GOD Posted December 16, 2011 Author Posted December 16, 2011 Anand isn't getting the Bharat Ratna anytime soon. Its going to be Goddy and maybe Major DhyanChand (he may or may not get it right now simply because there may not be enough "powerful" people pushing for him name years after he has passed away).
maniac Posted December 16, 2011 Posted December 16, 2011 Some deserving candidates before SRT IMHO Hockey is our national game and Dhyan Chand was supposed to be like a Bradman of hockey... I would say Abhinav Bindra....The dude won the first ever individual gold medal for his country in what is considered as the pinnacle for any sportsman ever....certainly he deserves it more Bachendri Pal:First lady to conquer mount everest in a country where women in sports are not really encouraged...definetely a pioneer Followed by SRT and Vishy Anand
maniac Posted December 16, 2011 Posted December 16, 2011 When Rajiv Gandhi got the Bharat Ratna that itself killed the credibility of the award...adding insult to injury by awarding him the award along with Sardar who was getting it nearly 40 years too late
Jersey #10 Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Sabko dedo Sania Mirza is also ahead of SRT... A woman in a country where women are not really encouraged :wall: This is an insult to the likes of Sachin, Dhyanchand and maybe Vishy
SachDan Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Who all want Bharat Ratna for Sachin The eligibility criteria for the Bharat Ratna award has been changed, which makes Sachin Tendulkar eligible for the highest civilian award. But this rule change did not happen overnight. For the last one and a half year, people from different walks of life have been voicing their opinion on the same. We take a quick look at who said what: Yuvraj Singh (Teammate): Sachin Tendulkar should get Bharat Ratna for his services to the game and he deserve it the most. Asha Bhosle (Singer): Sachin should get Bharat Ratna. He deserves it. He has been bringing laurels for the country for such a long time. He is not just a batsman but an artist. When he bats it looks as if somebody is playing a 'raga'. Anna Hazare : Sachin Tendulkar is an icon for Indian youth. He has made India proud with his exploits in cricket. I feel he deserves the Bharat Ratna. Sourav Ganguly (Former Teammate): Sachin is a Bharat Ratna. There is no doubt that he should be conferred the Bharat Ratna award. Rajiv Shukla (IPL Chairman): Sachin has made entire India proud by his wonderful play and sportsmanship. Sachin must be given Bharat Ratna as he deserves it. Lata Mangeshkar (Singer): For me, he is the real Bharat Ratna for years. Whatever he has done for the country, very few people can do. He deserves this honour. He has made all of us feel proud. MS Dhoni (Teammate): Sachin is an ideal candidate, he has served the country for 21 years with a few more to come. As a cricketer, you know, if he doesn't get it, then I don't think there's anyone who'll get the Bharat Ratna ever. Kapil Dev (Former Indian cricketer): Sachin has touched several milestones during his 20-year career in the international cricket. He certainly deserves the Bharat Ratna. We will be very happy if he gets the highest honour of the country Ajit Wadekar (Former Indian cricketer): If any one has to be given Bharat Ratna it is Sachin Tendulkar since it is he who deserves the most. Sachin is the Kohinoor diamond of the game of cricket. This cricketer has unmatched talent and you can't find another Tendulkar ever. I think, he should have got the Bharat Ratna. Bal Thackeray (Shiv Sena Supremo): Hundred crore people of this country have already crowned Sachin as Bharat Ratna. Viswanathan Anand (Chess Player): Sure, he has done a great job.
Stuge Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Well the eligibility has been altered because of Sachin .So it has be Sachin Tendulkar .
Stuge Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 At least for SRT' date=' he will get a portion of the tax he himself paid :-D[/quote'] That too will taxed . :giggle::giggle:
ganeshran Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Bharat Ratna is not like the numerous other titles (Khel Ratna, Padma Bhushans) that are handed out in droves. Its a very exclusive club and only 40 odd have been awarded in the 64 years since Independence. asking for Bharat Ratna for one-off achievements like an Olympic gold medal or scaling Mt Everest devalues the award. That is for consistent excellence in their chosen field of expertise. SRT and DhyanChand are easily the strongest contenders for the award. Anand's time will come maybe few years down the line.
Stuge Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Bharat Ratna is not like the numerous other titles (Khel Ratna, Padma Bhushans) that are handed out in droves. Its a very exclusive club and only 40 odd have been awarded in the 64 years since Independence. asking for Bharat Ratna for one-off achievements like an Olympic gold medal or scaling Mt Everest devalues the award. That is for consistent excellence in their chosen field of expertise. SRT and DhyanChand are easily the strongest contenders for the award. Anand's time will come maybe few years down the line. this !! that's what makes sachin different from other sports personality .I wish we had somebody like michael phelps :((
Asoka Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Bharat Ratna is not like the numerous other titles (Khel Ratna, Padma Bhushans) that are handed out in droves. Its a very exclusive club and only 40 odd have been awarded in the 64 years since Independence. asking for Bharat Ratna for one-off achievements like an Olympic gold medal or scaling Mt Everest devalues the award. That is for consistent excellence in their chosen field of expertise. SRT and DhyanChand are easily the strongest contenders for the award. Anand's time will come maybe few years down the line. Anand has been consistent enough for the past 25 years, anyways he is at the *** end of his career. He has been at the top of his game for longer than Sachin.
ganeshran Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Anand has been consistent enough for the past 25 years' date=' anyways he is at the *** end of his career. He has been at the top of his game for longer than Sachin.[/quote'] He will still get it a few years after SRT. The modification of the criteria is because of SRT, so its obvious that he and Dhyanchand are the frontrunners.
amiret Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Sabko dedo Sania Mirza is also ahead of SRT... A woman in a country where women are not really encouraged :wall: This is an insult to the likes of Sachin, Dhyanchand and maybe Vishy By vishy you mean the chess player ?
ganeshran Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 this !! that's what makes sachin different from other sports personality .I wish we had somebody like michael phelps :(( With our poor sporting infrastructure for most sports that are not named cricket or hockey, I doubt if we would achieve this
amiret Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Sabko dedo Sania Mirza is also ahead of SRT... A woman in a country where women are not really encouraged This is an insult to the likes of Sachin, Dhyanchand and maybe Vishy Ok maybe not sania, but surely india has the greatest Kabaddi player of all time . We may not know his name but he definitely deserves the Bharat ratna for being the "best at his chosen profession". I would nominate Shirash Pal Singh for the award. Just because a sport is not popular it must not be discriminated against. After Kabaddi we must search for the greatest Indian Carrom & Kho-Kho player of all time.
achilles Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 I don't know who is dumber: transparent or the guys arguing with him and acting as if they make sense fun to read though :hysterical: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Transparent seth is really riling them up in the most transparent manner possible.
Andrew Peter Posted December 17, 2011 Posted December 17, 2011 Ok maybe not sania, but surely india has the greatest Kabaddi player of all time . We may not know his name but he definitely deserves the Bharat ratna for being the "best at his chosen profession". I would nominate Shirash Pal Singh for the award. Just because a sport is not popular it must not be discriminated against. After Kabaddi we must search for the greatest Indian Carrom & Kho-Kho player of all time. What about Gilli Danda , Lagori , Pakda Pakdi and Lapa Chupi ? Consider everyone otherwise it will be discrimination against domestic champions of other sports / games , especially the ones performing for India without any media coverage and sponsors .