Moman211 Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 since Jan 2009 Team Tests Wickets Average Strike rate 5WI/ 10WM England 36 158 31.53 63.6 11/ 1 Pakistan 23 139 35.43 71.4 6/ 1 Bangladesh 11 99 36.88 68.8 4/ 0 Sri Lanka 20 146 39.37 75.2 7/ 0 South Africa 58 75 39.97 85.8 2/ 0 India 28 186 42.06 82.5 3/ 0 Australia 26 82 43.23 78.8 3/ 0 New Zealand 16 84 43.78 89.1 1/ 0 West Indies 23 98 45.20 89.0 3/ 0 Between 2000 and 2008 Team Tests Wickets Average Strike rate 5WI/ 10WM Sri Lanka 85 765 25.31 58.9 55/ 22 Australia 102 601 29.06 55.4 33/ 8 India 97 801 32.99 67.8 45/ 10 New Zealand 72 272 35.54 76.7 17/ 3 Pakistan 74 428 36.16 74.4 16/ 3 England 115 328 42.21 84.7 13/ 1 South Africa 102 256 42.96 83.1 8/ 1 Zimbabwe 44 158 47.05 90.0 6/ 2 West Indies 96 252 49.19 104.9 3/ 0 Bangladesh 58 238 50.87 97.9 15/ 1 goes to show what an Impact swann has had and how badly Harbhajan has done.
Rightarmfast Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Please also check the oppositions faced too and the venue. How did you rate Swann's performance against India ? He was pathetic to say the least..Thats what happens when you play against good oppositions. You are made to look like a fool even in your own home ...lolz !
Moman211 Posted August 26, 2011 Author Posted August 26, 2011 Please also check the oppositions faced too and the venue. How did you rate Swann's performance against India ? He was pathetic to say the least..Thats what happens when you play against good oppositions. You are made to look like a fool even in your own home ...lolz ! first of all he wasnt needed as the seamers rolled the Indian batsmen in the first 3 tests and btw did Harbhajan and mishra do any better? when he was given a decent pitch to work with he took 9 wickets so why dont go check ur facts! who was to made to look pathetic England or India?
james Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 first of all he wasnt needed as the seamers rolled the Indian batsmen in the first 3 tests and btw did Harbhajan and mishra do any better? when he was given a decent pitch to work with he took 9 wickets so why dont go check ur facts! who was to made to look pathetic England or India? He was carted around in the first 3 games yes he done better than the Indian spinners in the 4th game, due to having a attacking field, luck of some dubious umpiring, unfit Indian players, and the Indian tail to bowl at. I'm not knocking him, i'm only stating the facts.
luvablubba Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 He was carted around in the first 3 games yes he done better than the Indian spinners in the 4th game, due to having a attacking field, luck of some dubious umpiring, unfit Indian players, and the Indian tail to bowl at. I'm not knocking him, i'm only stating the facts. you again James, you really are a massive troll, every time you spout this rubbish me and others quietly point to the actual 'facts' and you look like a plum, Swann rolled India in the 4th test, wasn't needed in the others and took out ALL of your top order batsmen. Hush now. By your logic the entire Indian team shouldn't have been there or were injured or were unlucky! There is being a supporter and then there is being a rabid fanatic who can't see the wood for the trees.
james Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 you again James' date=' you really are a massive troll, every time you spout this rubbish me and others quietly point to the actual 'facts' and you look like a plum, Swann rolled India in the 4th test, wasn't needed in the others and took out ALL of your top order batsmen. Hush now. By your logic the entire Indian team shouldn't have been there or were injured or were unlucky! There is being a supporter and then there is being a rabid fanatic who can't see the wood for the trees.[/quote'] Ohhhh did i touch a nerve? Calling names again? you really are someone who is insecure and cannot face the facts that England played a team who were not prepared let alone fit to play test cricket. And to have umpire decisions go in foavour of england made it worse. Do you not read newspapers or watch the news? look what they are saying about India, and I dont recall anyone quietly telling me otherwise. And dont call names again please.. now there's a good boy... Oh is the Blubba in your name because you are a bit obese? It's not nice is it?
luvablubba Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Calling names again? you really are someone who is insecure and cannot face the facts that England played a team who were not prepared let alone fit to play test cricket. And to have umpire decisions go in foavour of england made it worse. And dont call names again please.. now there's a good boy... Oh is the Blubba in your name because you are a bit obese? Mate twice now i've seen you posting that this was all umpire bad luck and Swann not being a good player. As for name calling i think plum and troll are pretty tame but if it offended you apologies, i was trying to be gentle! But i can see we aren't going to see eye to eye over this so whatever, each to their own i guess. As for being obese, well i'm a rugby player, and i play centre before i get accused of being a front row fatty! So no, not that it has anything to do with it. Let me ask you a question though. Do you really believe that it was all India being unlucky and ill prepared? I think both teams had injuries, i think both teams had bad decisions, and i think England are an incredibly strong team who made India look worse than they are. No?
Cricket Tragic Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Our spinners were a bloody joke throughout the series. That is a fact. Swann did well in the last test and also bowled much better in the other tests even when he didn't take wickets.
james Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Mate twice now i've seen you posting that this was all umpire bad luck and Swann not being a good player. As for name calling i think plum and troll are pretty tame but if it offended you apologies, i was trying to be gentle! But i can see we aren't going to see eye to eye over this so whatever, each to their own i guess. As for being obese, well i'm a rugby player, and i play centre before i get accused of being a front row fatty! So no, not that it has anything to do with it. Let me ask you a question though. Do you really believe that it was all India being unlucky and ill prepared? I think both teams had injuries, i think both teams had bad decisions, and i think England are an incredibly strong team who made India look worse than they are. No? Do you not read newspapers or watch the news? what are the cricketing experts saying about India. - are they all wrong? Yes england are a strong team and India did make them look better than they really are, just look at what Pakistan and Sri Lanka did against England, and i beleive India are far better than them. Swann is good but he's not great, there are no great spinners in the game at the moment and he is probably up there with the mediocre spinners of today. Get used to me being on here and my views, dont take them too personaly though matey. I must add, this is a cricket forum and everyone has their views, it's not nice being called names just because you do not agree with something.
luvablubba Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Do you not read newspapers or watch the news? what are the cricketing experts saying about India. - are they all wrong? Yes england are a strong team and India did make them look better than they really are, just look at what Pakistan and Sri Lanka did against England, and i beleive India are far better than them. Swann is good but he's not great, there are no great spinners in the game at the moment and he is probably up there with the mediocre spinners of today. Get used to me being on here and my views, dont take them too personaly though matey. I must add, this is a crivket forum and everyone has their views, it's not nice being called names just because you do not agree with something. Swann is the best spinner in the world and has been consistent for a long time, in no way is he mediocre.
james Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Swann is the best spinner in the world and has been consistent for a long time' date=' in no way is he mediocre.[/quote'] Ask a Pakistan or Sri Lankan supporter if he's the best spinner in the wold. Honestly there is no stand out spinner in world cricket, Swann has done extremely well, I hope he becomes great and proves all his doubters wrong. He's better than the Indian spinner thats for sure.
Trichromatic Posted August 26, 2011 Posted August 26, 2011 Ask a Pakistan or Sri Lankan supporter if he's the best spinner in the wold. Honestly there is no stand out spinner in world cricket, Swann has done extremely well, I hope he becomes great and proves all his doubters wrong. He's better than the Indian spinner thats for sure. Saeed Ajmal hasn't done much in test cricket and SL doesn't have a spinner than Swann. http://www.relianceiccrankings.com/ranking/test/bowling/ Swann is third best bowler according to ICC test ranking.
Midfielder Posted August 27, 2011 Posted August 27, 2011 Swann is not the best spinner. It is a myth perpetuated by lack of cricketing knowledge., more like an acquired taste. If he bowls in India he probably would not be even the third best in the domestic ratings. Harbhajan is the best. Hands down and I am dead seriious.
panesarv Posted August 27, 2011 Posted August 27, 2011 first of all he wasnt needed as the seamers rolled the Indian batsmen in the first 3 tests and btw did Harbhajan and mishra do any better? when he was given a decent pitch to work with he took 9 wickets so why dont go check ur facts! who was to made to look pathetic England or India? Same way Bhajji takes wickets on spinner friendly pitches and you guys b!tch like the end of the world?
Rightarmfast Posted August 27, 2011 Posted August 27, 2011 first of all he wasnt needed as the seamers rolled the Indian batsmen in the first 3 tests and btw did Harbhajan and mishra do any better? when he was given a decent pitch to work with he took 9 wickets so why dont go check ur facts! who was to made to look pathetic England or India? A) I asked you to check the stats against which teams have these spinners performed better and then come back. e.g- A spinner playing against NZ and Zim would obviously fare better than someone who plays against Srilanka or South Africa for the simple reason that these players are better players of spin. So the opposition matters. You ignored this comment of mine, out of conveinience. B) I also asked about the venue. Home venue would obviously give the spinner an advantage. not to mention you ignored this too, and why you did so is pretty obvious. You were the one to instigate that Swannie was the best spinner and Harbhajan is poor by delieberately making this thread. The hidden agenda was to prove Swannie is the best which he is not, by any standards ! So, the onus is on you to prove if he is the best, my dear friend. I did not create the thread, I am merely making it interesting :--D:--D:--D
Rightarmfast Posted August 27, 2011 Posted August 27, 2011 goes to show what an Impact swann has had and how badly Harbhajan has done. These are your very words, Mr Moman ! So please prove it by checking all the stats and coming back...Sach bolne me sabko mirchi lag jaati hai bhai :winky:
Rightarmfast Posted August 27, 2011 Posted August 27, 2011 Well, before the test series started, Swann was being hyped to be the nemesis of Indian batting. After his clear failure in the first 3 tests , this is your response that he wasnt required ? Hahaha..Laughable stuff to say the least ! Height of hypocrisy and insecurity...English traits I must say :finger::finger::finger:
Moman211 Posted August 27, 2011 Author Posted August 27, 2011 A) I asked you to check the stats against which teams have these spinners performed better and then come back. e.g- A spinner playing against NZ and Zim would obviously fare better than someone who plays against Srilanka or South Africa for the simple reason that these players are better players of spin. So the opposition matters. You ignored this comment of mine, out of conveinience. B) I also asked about the venue. Home venue would obviously give the spinner an advantage. not to mention you ignored this too, and why you did so is pretty obvious. You were the one to instigate that Swannie was the best spinner and Harbhajan is poor by delieberately making this thread. The hidden agenda was to prove Swannie is the best which he is not, by any standards ! So, the onus is on you to prove if he is the best, my dear friend. I did not create the thread, I am merely making it interesting :--D:--D:--D[/QUOT he was the leading wicket taker against south Africa last year so there ive proved my point
Moman211 Posted August 27, 2011 Author Posted August 27, 2011 Swann is not the best spinner. It is a myth perpetuated by lack of cricketing knowledge.' date=' more like an acquired taste. If he bowls in India he probably would not be even the third best in the domestic ratings. Harbhajan is the best. Hands down and I am dead seriious.[/quote'] You high or something! Harbhajan best in the world!:giggle: gimme a break!