Feed Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 More... BCCI scraps development committee Devendra Pandey Sep 22, 2011 Mumbai: On a day where the newly-elected BCCI president N Srinivasan insisted that IndiaÃÔ dismal failure to win a single international match during their two-month long English sojourn didnÃÕ call for an inquisition, the board also decided to do away with its committee that focusses on the development of the game. Along with the announcement of a number of various committees, the board also decided to scrap the Cricket Development Committee (CDC), which was introduced last year during the 81st annual general meeting (AGM). Interestingly, the new BCCI regime has increased the strength of the museum committee from 10 to 13 members. The CDC, which was chaired by former India captain and chairman of national selectors Dilip Vengsarkar, had only conducted a single meeting during its existence. And according to sources, none of the recommendations put forward by them were even taken into consideration. The BCCIÃÔ new secretary Sanjay Jagdale, meanwhile, confirmed to The Indian Express that the CDC was brought in during the last AGM under former chief Shashank Manohar and also that the decision of continuing the committee rested solely with the president. ŵhe committee was formed during the last AGM but it was not part of this one. ItÃÔ up to the president to decide whether to continue with a particular committee or not, explained Jagdale. The solitary meeting of the now defunct committee, which was comprised of Vengsarkar, Chetan Chauhan (north), Arshad Ayub (south), Pranab Roy (east) and Prashant Vaidya (central), was held prior to the 2011 World Cup that India won eventually. They had come up with interesting suggestions like having more India A games on a home and away basis. Vengsarkar & Co had called for more U-19 tours to be arranged to countries like South Africa, England and Australia on a reciprocal basis so that young players can be groomed for the hardships of a touring life from a early stage. The CDC had also advised the board to conduct a mass zonal selection, which would cover even the remote areas of India where open trials will be conducted for batsmen, wicketkeepers and bowlers in order to get raw talent from across the country and polish them. But many state associations are believed to have bemoaned about the committeeÃÔ interference with regards to their suggestions, probably resulting in Srinivasan deciding to abort it. However, a top BCCI official said that there was no clarity given to the CDC regarding their role. Å´ome of the state associations thought that by having this committee, their local academyÃÔ work was interfered with. Members showed concern over it and said they were already conducting trials in different places in their states. Even some of the CDC members felt that there was a chance of their suggestions going waste as implementing them was a problem, the source said. It has also been learnt that ex-president Manohar was keen to have Vengsarkar on board, which resulted in him introducing the new committee (CDC), which incidentally got scrapped on the day the new chairman came into office.
asterix Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 Subhanallah!! Going in the "right direction".. I'm eagerly waiting for this leadership and it's hagemony to clear up in 2 years time..Nothing much can be done till N. Srini and his jokers are around managing the show..
ganeshran Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 They seem to have restructured the committee list for this year. The committees removed were Legal Committee, Vizzy trophy committee, technical committee NCA construction committee and Cricket development committee The ones added are SPECIALISED ACADEMIES COMMITTEE and Disciplinary committee Committees in 2010-11 SENIOR TOURNAMENT COMMITTEE TECHNICAL COMMITTEE (Removed) TOUR, PROGRAMME & FIXTURE COMMITTEE FINANCE COMMITTEE JUNIOR CRICKET COMMITTEE UMPIRES SUB-COMMITTEE VIZZY TROPHY COMMITTEE (Removed) WOMEN'S COMMITTEE ALL INDIA SENIOR SELECTION COMMITTEE ALL INDIA JUNIOR SELECTION COMMITTEE ALL INDIA WOMEN'S SELECTION COMMITTEE IPL GOVERNING COUNCIL COMMITTEE SPECIAL COMMITTEES for 2010-2011 LEGAL COMMITTEE (Removed) NATIONAL CRICKET ACADEMY BOARD NCA CONSTRUCTION AND INFRASTRUCTURE COMMITTEE (removed) CONSTITUTION REVIEW COMMITTEE MUSEUM COMMITTEE MEDIA COMMITTEE MARKETING SUB-COMMITTEE GROUND & PITCHES COMMITTEE AFFILIATION COMMITTEE CRICKET DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE (removed) Committees in 2011-12 SENIOR TOURNAMENT COMMITTEE TOUR, PROGRAMME & FIXTURE COMMITTEE FINANCE COMMITTEE JUNIOR CRICKET COMMITTEE UMPIRES SUB-COMMITTEE WOMEN'S COMMITTEE ALL INDIA JUNIOR SELECTION COMMITTEE ALL INDIA SENIOR SELECTION COMMITTEE ALL INDIA WOMEN'S SELECTION COMMITTEE IPL GOVERNING COUNCIL COMMITTEE NATIONAL CRICKET ACADEMY BOARD SPECIALISED ACADEMIES COMMITTEE (Added) CONSTITUTION REVIEW COMMITTEE MUSEUM COMMITTEE MEDIA COMMITTEE MARKETING SUB-COMMITTEE GROUND & PITCHES COMMITTEE DISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE - TO CONTINUE THE ENQUIRY AGAINST MR. LALIT MODI (Added) AFFILIATION COMMITTEE
yoda Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 A committee that meets once a year? :hahaha:
asterix Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 They had come up with interesting suggestions like having more India A games on a home and away basis. Vengsarkar & Co had called for more U-19 tours to be arranged to countries like South Africa, England and Australia on a reciprocal basis so that young players can be groomed for the hardships of a touring life from a early stage. The CDC had also advised the board to conduct a mass zonal selection, which would cover even the remote areas of India where open trials will be conducted for batsmen, wicketkeepers and bowlers in order to get raw talent from across the country and polish them. How many meets in an year it needs to emphasise and implement that? :hmmm:
Sachin=GOD Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 How many meets in an year it needs to emphasise and implement that? :hmmm: yeah, but its the previous administration's fault for not implementing these recommendations. Though this committee should not have been scrapped.
asterix Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 yeah, but its the previous administration's fault for not implementing these recommendations. Though this committee should not have been scrapped. Bhai mere..Administration is same.. The purse string and cheques are being signed by the same person. Hope this "Surya Grahan" end in 2 years time.. Heck you cannot have more 'meetings' unless 'sactioned' and 'cheques' cleared by certain individuals..
ganeshran Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 yeah, but its the previous administration's fault for not implementing these recommendations. Though this committee should not have been scrapped. No use in talking sense and facts with a habitual whinger who imagines the whole world to be a kanspiracy.
yoda Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 Looks like N. Srini is going to keep winding up these Narthies and Westies every day.
asterix Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 No use in talking sense and facts with a habitual whinger who imagines the whole world to be a kanspiracy. I'll ignore that comment from you as I consider you as my younger brother, Gannu.. By making these comments, you are trying to force me to not express my views in the forum..
asterix Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 Looks like N. Srini is going to keep winding up these Narthies and Westies every day. Good.. so you now cleverly made it to North-South issue? So anybody criticising Sinivasan is Anti-South? BTW I'm a Bengali from Vidarbha..
yoda Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 Good.. so you now cleverly made it to North-South issue? So anybody criticising Sinivasan is Anti-South? BTW I'm a Bengali from Vidarbha.. Pretty much from the whiners I have read on this board so far. They can't stand guys from the South running the show. Sharad Pawar could kill someone and get away with it, but the day N. Srini takes over hell freezes. You may be from anywhere, but belong to the same group.
rkt.india Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 I'll ignore that comment from you as I consider you as my younger brother, Gannu.. By making these comments, you are trying to force me to not express my views in the forum.. you are right. Any committee cannot do any thing on their own until BCCI babus are seriously executes the suggestions.
asterix Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 Pretty much from the whiners I have read on this board so far. They can't stand guys from the South running the show. Sharad Pawar could kill someone and get away with it' date=' but the day N. Srini takes over hell freezes. You may be from anywhere, but belong to the same group.[/quote'] I had criticised Pawar so many times that I've no count.. It's not about Srini being BCCI president now. Srini was always the cheque signer and decision maker.. So it's not that now I'm criticising him when he became President. I don't subscribe to his method of working..The way he runs BCCI and his family runs TN Badminton association and Indian Badminton too.. So you can call this as Southie hate..but as far as I know it's not like that..
Sachin=GOD Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 Looks like N. Srini is going to keep winding up these Narthies and Westies every day. Pretty much from the whiners I have read on this board so far. They can't stand guys from the South running the show. Sharad Pawar could kill someone and get away with it' date= but the day N. Srini takes over hell freezes. You may be from anywhere, but belong to the same group. that is absolutely wrong. Nobody has any problem with a person from South India (or West or East or North or any part of the country) being BCCI chief. The problem is that Srinivasan is not only corrupt but being the owner of an IPL franchise there is also a huge case of conflict of interest which I do not like. As for you saying that Pawar could have done anything and people wouldn't have questioned it - thats just comical. Most of the ICFers (along with many, many people all over the country) have been against BCCI babus (especially Pawar) for a very long time and have made their reservations on this issue public a number of times.
yoda Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 ^^We are not talking about criticizing specific decisions or expressing their views, we are talking pure hate here, which comes out in the tone of the posts. Anyways, that's just the way it comes across.
ganeshran Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 I'll ignore that comment from you as I consider you as my younger brother, Gannu.. By making these comments, you are trying to force me to not express my views in the forum.. asterix, I have nothing against you nor am I trying to force your not to express your views. BCCI has always been a babudom - it has always been focussed more on making money than development of cricket. This isnt something which is a new development happened after Srini took over. Your comments, however convey exactly that. Generic criticism towards the BCCI is fine - Specific criticism towards Srini is also completely fine as long as it has basis in fact and not pure hatred and whining that is present in your posts. There are so many others who criticize BCCI , but they usually have clear and valid reasons unlike you who invents and extrapolates facts in order to hate. Second are your comments on selection bias especially for CSK - which is totally imagined. Every deserving player got a chance in the international side irrespective of where he played from - Mukund, Rahane etc. Vijay and Kohli who didnt perform well on the Windies tour were dropped from England Third are your personal attacks towards Dhoni accusing him of bias, arrogancy and more. Dhoni makes mistakes - no doubt - but claiming him to be the sole reason for India's poor performance is just unfair, especially with the poor bowling resources at his disposal during this world cup.
Sachin=GOD Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 ^^We are not talking about criticizing specific decisions or expressing their views' date=' [b']we are talking pure hate here, which comes out in the tone of the posts. Anyways, that's just the way it comes across. well, some posters tend to overdo things a bit and that comes off as hate
achilles Posted September 22, 2011 Posted September 22, 2011 And then posters ask why Srini gets targetted. Idiots :hysterical: