Raghav_12 Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 And if he does get in this innings - it is because there is no pressure.. only 2 wickets down' date=' against mediocre team on home ground.[/quote'] If Joseph Heller was still alive, he would have described Catch-22 situation like this. If Sachin is still there on crease, there is no pressure on India and when Sachin gets out, he can't score runs anymore. So Sachin can't score runs when there is pressure of India. I wonder if he would have replaced character of Yossarin with Sachin in his book :--D
Pagalpanti Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Sunil Gavaskar's average in 4th innings , another master class batsman from India.
akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 There is only one thing which he hasn't achieved despite such a long career and so many runs 500 runs in a test series. He is probably only great/legend batsman who hasn't done it yet. You heard it first here... 2012 summer... the world can end after that.
Trichromatic Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 You heard it first here... 2012 summer... the world can end after that. This series :winky: I wonder how haters missed this point. :cantstop:
PenPaperSports Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Will he get to 17,000? Or more? Here's an article outlining his career thus far - http://www.penandpapersports.com/document.php?docID=463 What are your thoughts? Will he get to 17,000? I think he will! :)
Trichromatic Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Here's an article outlining his career thus far - http://www.penandpapersports.com/document.php?docID=463 What are your thoughts? Will he get to 17,000? I think he will! :) Yes, he will cross 17000 against England next year.
akshayxyz Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Yes' date=' he will cross 17000 against England next year.[/quote'] abey kya bol raha hai, that means you are expecting him to rack up 500 runs per series.. this, aussie, England, + 1 more perhaps.
Trichromatic Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 abey kya bol raha hai' date=' that means you are expecting him to rack up 500 runs per series.. this, aussie, England, + 1 more perhaps.[/quote'] 2 more tests in this series 4 tests against Australia 3 tests against SL 4 tests against England. I'm not expecting Pakistan series at all. 2000 runs in 13 tests. :winky:
Pagalpanti Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Even if they're going stronger than ever, Dravid and Sachin have to hang up their boots around next year, we need to plan for future as well.
Sarkar Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 The greatest batsman of all time this man has done more than enough for Indian Cricket.
carnish Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 2 more tests in this series 4 tests against Australia 3 tests against SL 4 tests against England. I'm not expecting Pakistan series at all. 2000 runs in 13 tests. :winky: i guess u missed 3 home tests against new zealand are also der next year
Trichromatic Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 i guess u missed 3 home tests against new zealand are also der next year Oh yeah, so 16 tests and 2000 runs. 125 runs per match. Is it that difficult? I guess Bradman had avg of 134-135 per match during whole career. :winky:
vamos_rafa Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Now he has left Lara behind in the list of most runs in 4th innings Player Span Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave 100 50 0 R Dravid (ICC/India) 1996-2011 62 54 19 1506 103* 43.02 1 9 0 SR Tendulkar (India) 1989-2011 66 53 16 1472 136 39.78 3 6 3 BC Lara (ICC/WI) 1992-2006 52 46 5 1440 153* 35.12 2 7 7 S Chanderpaul (WI) 1994-2011 51 43 10 1406 116* 42.60 2 10 3 SM Gavaskar (India) 1971-1987 34 33 9 1398 221 58.25 4 8 2 CG Greenidge (WI) 1974-1991 41 38 12 1383 214* 53.19 3 6 1 MA Atherton (Eng) 1989-2001 39 39 6 1375 185* 41.66 2 9 1 RT Ponting (Aus) 1995-2010 51 39 14 1362 156 54.48 4 5 3 GC Smith (ICC/SA) 2002-2010 32 31 6 1322 154* 52.88 3 8 2 ML Hayden (Aus) 1994-2008 39 39 13 1287 101* 49.50 1 9 1 RR Sarwan (WI) 2000-2011 39 36 3 1241 128 37.60 4 4 3 G Boycott (Eng) 1965-1981 36 34 13 1234 128* 58.76 3 7 2 JH Kallis (ICC/SA) 1996-2010 49 42 14 1229 101 43.89 1 10 1 You know, today as soon as Sachin crossed 15k runs, someone on TV stated that is Sachin the greatest batsman ever. To which, a colleague of mine, who works as a stats guys at Cricinfo, said a big no. I asked him the reason, he said in his opinion its Brian Charles Lara. We had an arguement for about an hour or so. He was telling me things like Sachin's average being around 35 when Mcgrath played. I argued that in the 2 series where both of them were fit and on top of their games, (i.e 1999 Aus tour and 2001 India), Sachin did very well against him. Then he said that Lara was more atacking and on his day he could rip an sttack which Sachin rarely does. I said, I take it as Lara's stupidity that he did not want to adjust according to the needs. I said if you watched the innings of 36 that Sachin played at Centurion last year, noone can doubt his prowess of being the best stroke maker ever. Then he said that unlike Lara, Sachin has never dominated a series. I said you can't fault Sachin for that. Yes, he does not have huge scores like Lara, but there have been many 3 test match series where he has scored 2 100's. Then came the killer one, that every player gets only 1 opportunity to finish of a game in 4th innings,where Sachin had faltered and Lara did it. I really wanted to tell him how Lara's 4th innings exploits are an eye-wash to prove that Sachin chokes and Lara is the best batsman 4th inning batter of all times. I knew that Sachin had a better 4th innings average than Lara, but was not 100% sure, and since I was arguing with a stats man, I did not want to look stupid. But, I think you made my day :--D
deathmonger Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Even if they're going stronger than ever' date=' Dravid and Sachin have to hang up their boots around next year, we need to plan for future as well.[/quote'] This is very very important. We may have found some good fast bowlers and spinners but if we don't stick to our traditional strength of batting we'll never be a great team. Kohli, Pujara, Rahane and Rohit Sharma should be given chance in dead rubbers. Else we'll face an Oz like situation.
deathmonger Posted November 8, 2011 Posted November 8, 2011 Sunil Gavaskar's average in 4th innings ' date=' another master class batsman from India.[/quote'] We have produced some good ones, haven't we? Hope youngsters can carry on this lineage.