urbestfriend Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 If I were duncan fletcher.. here is what I would tell our team after Australia gives us a 400+ run lead. The target should be... Sehwag & Gambhir Partnership - to last 20 overs. Gambhir & Dravid partnership - to last 10 overs Dravid & Tendulkar partnership - to last 60 overs Tendulkar & VVS partnership - to last 40 overs VVS & Kohli Partnership - to last 20 overs Kohli & Dhoni Partnership - to last 25 overs Dhoni & Ashwin Partnership - to last 15 overs Tail-enders all combined = (2 wickets) = 10 overs That takes us to 200 overs. .. which is 2 days and 2 hours... pretty much to bat out until end of day 5. Shoot for maybe scoring around 2 runs an over average. :hysterical: Why not 200 overs target to Viru and Gauti?
vijay50 Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 If I were duncan fletcher.. here is what I would tell our team after Australia gives us a 400+ run lead. The target should be... Sehwag & Gambhir Partnership - to last 20 overs. Gambhir & Dravid partnership - to last 10 overs Dravid & Tendulkar partnership - to last 60 overs Tendulkar & VVS partnership - to last 40 overs VVS & Kohli Partnership - to last 20 overs Kohli & Dhoni Partnership - to last 25 overs Dhoni & Ashwin Partnership - to last 15 overs Tail-enders all combined = (2 wickets) = 10 overs That takes us to 200 overs. .. which is 2 days and 2 hours... pretty much to bat out until end of day 5. Shoot for maybe scoring around 2 runs an over average. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:. Good joke buddy. Made my day. How about reduce these numbers of overs to single digits. That might happen.
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: I am not sure you are serious or just trolling around. arre mere baap.. I am saying it is at least something.. I know this much that Indians can forfeit the game by refusing to play and the match would be awarded to Aus. Pakistan did it with England once. and do you really think they should go out and Bat without any plan or direction? As long as Indians don't want to forfeit the game.. they need to have some .. ANY strategy to draw the game.. winning is out of question. So I am simply brainstorming what strategy that might be.. We know we can't score too many runs against such a bowling attack. We definitely won't be able to surmount a 400+ lead while keeping our wickets and giving them Australia a 250+ run to chase. We will only end up getting bowled out under 200 runs if we try and do that. We know our bowlers won't be able to get another 6 wickets in less than 10 overs.. So I am saying... our strategy has to be along our strongest point.. our batting department. Sehwag, VVS, Sachin & Dravid.. ALL have shown before they can last plenty of time out there in the middle.. so it's not completely unreasonable.
Sid Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 saket sir,you dont make batting strategies to draw a test match.You just try to bat,bat,bat and bat as long as possible. Anyways,get real,this test match will be over max. by tea day 4.
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 saket sir,you dont make batting strategies to draw a test match.You just try to bat,bat,bat and bat as long as possible. Anyways,get real,this test match will be over max. by tea day 4. To put it in a nutshell.. if we bat to reach a target score.. we will be bowled out.. If we bat just to milk the time.. there is a possibility we can draw. I know we've completely lost hope of this match.. but if given a choice.. what strategy would you like our team to pursue.? Forfeit the game? or something else? The odds of us batting out 200 overs without trying to score runs is much much better than us trying to bat 120 overs and score 600+ runs at over 5 runs an over.
Sid Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 To put it in a nutshell.. if we bat to reach a target score.. we will be bowled out.. If we bat just to milk the time.. there is a possibility we can draw. I know we've completely lost hope of this match.. but if given a choice.. what strategy would you like our team to pursue.? Forfeit the game? or something else? First of all if it was so easy to milk the time out,our esteemed batting unit wouldnt have been bowled for less than 300 for more than 10 innings overseas.All this milking the time or batting for time only looks good in theory. I just want this line up to cross 400 in the 2nd innings but seeing their recent record that too is asking a lot .
urbestfriend Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 To put it in a nutshell.. if we bat to reach a target score.. we will be bowled out.. If we bat just to milk the time.. there is a possibility we can draw. I know we've completely lost hope of this match.. but if given a choice.. what strategy would you like our team to pursue.? Forfeit the game? or something else? The odds of us batting out 200 overs without trying to score runs is much much better than us trying to bat 120 overs and score 600+ runs at over 5 runs an over. Saket Bhai, Looks like you are new to cricket Of course, when you're trying to save the game, strategy is bat out the sessions without any importance to scoring. But if you have watched test cricket, batting out time is not the easiest of task. One good delivery or one bad stroke is enough for the batsman to get out, also they have to bat on a 4th/5th day pitch which is not conducive for batting. So strategies like setting targets for number of overs to play etc doesn't work in cricket. BTW, welcome to test cricket.
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 First of all if it was so easy to milk the time out,our esteemed batting unit wouldnt have been bowled for less than 300 for more than 10 innings overseas.All this milking the time or batting for time only looks good in theory. I just want this line up to cross 400 in the 2nd innings but seeing their recent record that too is asking a lot . but was milking really their objective on all those occasions? or was it scoring runs to reach a particular target? Okay we all know that Indians will have to go out and bat... what do you think they should do?
Sachin=GOD Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 If I were duncan fletcher.. here is what I would tell our team after Australia gives us a 400+ run lead. The target should be... Sehwag & Gambhir Partnership - to last 20 overs. Gambhir & Dravid partnership - to last 10 overs Dravid & Tendulkar partnership - to last 60 overs Tendulkar & VVS partnership - to last 40 overs VVS & Kohli Partnership - to last 20 overs Kohli & Dhoni Partnership - to last 25 overs Dhoni & Ashwin Partnership - to last 15 overs Tail-enders all combined = (2 wickets) = 10 overs That takes us to 200 overs. .. which is 2 days and 2 hours... pretty much to bat out until end of day 5. Shoot for maybe scoring around 2 runs an over average. :facepalm:
Sachin=GOD Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 To put it in a nutshell.. if we bat to reach a target score.. we will be bowled out.. If we bat just to milk the time.. there is a possibility we can draw. I know we've completely lost hope of this match.. but if given a choice.. what strategy would you like our team to pursue.? Forfeit the game? or something else? The odds of us batting out 200 overs without trying to score runs is much much better than us trying to bat 120 overs and score 600+ runs at over 5 runs an over. when was the last time a team tried to score 600 runs in 120 overs in Tests??
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 Saket Bhai, Looks like you are new to cricket Of course, when you're trying to save the game, strategy is bat out the sessions without any importance to scoring. But if you have watched test cricket, batting out time is not the easiest of task. One good delivery or one bad stroke is enough for the batsman to get out, also they have to bat on a 4th/5th day pitch which is not conducive for batting. So strategies like setting targets for number of overs to play etc doesn't work in cricket. BTW, welcome to test cricket. A Strategy is not a guarantee of success.. it is only a road map to reach a destination.. You are arguing that Indians should have NO strategy.. and I am arguing that a strategy is required to try and draw the test. the strategy being... to bat out and not try and reach any target score to put Australia bat the 4th innings.
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 when was the last time a team tried to score 600 runs in 120 overs in Tests?? right.. and hence my point.
Karan114 Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: I am not sure you are serious or just trolling around. :giggle: To be fair he does seem quite serious about it. Anyway, when we start our innings 500 behind and Gambhir is out poking to slip in the second over in his usual fashion I am sure he will understand how meaningless these paper strategies are when a feeble batting line-up like ours is up against Pattinson, Hilf and Siddle.
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 :giggle: To be fair he does seem quite serious about it. Anyway, when we start our innings 500 behind and Gambhir is out poking to slip in the second over in his usual fashion I am sure he will understand how meaningless these paper strategies are when a feeble batting line-up like ours is up against Pattinson, Hilf and Siddle. I don't doubt you for a second. I just want the Indians to go out there and bat with SOME plan as opposed to saying "we're gonna lose anyway.. so screw it" and we Indians are very much capable of giving up before we even go out to bat the 2nd innings. this whole exercise has been just to come up with that particular plan.
Spiderguy252 Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 If we end up at 100/5 again, this is the last time this fabled line-up has batted together. Sad but true.
Karan114 Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 I don't doubt you for a second. I just want the Indians to go out there and bat with SOME plan. There are too, too many major problems with technique and confidence in this batting line-up for them to do much about it, unfortunately. One, two, even three failures you can understand, but just one 300+ score in nine away Tests is dreadful.
zep1706 Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 There are too' date=' too many major problems with technique and confidence in this batting line-up for them to do much about it, unfortunately. One, two, even three failures you can understand, but just one 300+ score in nine away Tests is dreadful.[/quote'] He agrees with you, but all he's saying is there has to be a strategy which he's already given :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
saket123 Posted January 4, 2012 Author Posted January 4, 2012 He agrees with you' date=' but all he's saying is there has to be a strategy which he's already given :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:[/quote'] yea.. I am trying to be positive a little bit.. I know how much our team sux at the moment.. But maybe some positive thinking on our side can help. Deepak Chopra said so in his quantum theory. :haha:
saneindian Posted January 4, 2012 Posted January 4, 2012 Aussies beware. Sehwag to hit a 400 and Gauti to hit a 300. You read it here first :P