ganeshran Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 What are the changes you want to see post Oz tour. You can select more than one choice.
akshayxyz Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 I see what you did there. ('C' is always correct choice in MCQs :) ).
Sachin=GOD Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 There are a few changes I would like to see but knowing the BCCI I don't expect many changes. There is certainly going to be no change in the Captain/Coach/Selection committee (unless any of them resigns themselves). We may see a change in the support staff. If we continue to perform like this then Laxman or Dravid may announce their retirement. If Ishant does not perform well in the next 2 Tests then he needs to be sent to a county stint. And we definitely need a new bowling coach - IMO Prasad wasn't bad and he could be back.
Hell Raiser Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Dravid and Laxman should retire in the first test match that we play at home and Ishant should make way for other fast bowler in the playing 11 if he doesn't take wickets in the remaining 2 matches. Match will be in India so Umesh and Zaheer will be the first choice anyway. And Aaron should be the third choice. We should definitely look for another bowling coach. Simmons is useless.
ganeshran Posted January 6, 2012 Author Posted January 6, 2012 I forgot to add the option of sacking of selectors. Please mention that in replies
Nova Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Anyone who votes for Sachin to retire has lost their mind. The guy is still performing.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 I forgot to add the option of sacking of selectors. Please mention that in replies woh hoga hi nahi toh mention karke kya fayda :(
asterix Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Hamare chahney ya na-chahney se kya hota hain? All SC series after this..Why would anybody be dropped?
Sachin=GOD Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Anyone who votes for Sachin to retire has lost their mind. The guy is still performing. Lurker :secret:
Nova Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Hamare chahney ya na-chahney se kya hota hain? All SC series after this..Why would anybody be dropped? We don't discuss cricket on ICF so that BCCI will take note of it... it's for the fans.
akshayxyz Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 seriously, I really want to see backs of Bowling Coach, Fletcher in that order - if we have to do it one at a time, but otherwise I wouldn't mind getting rid of these two together. VVS - he is the best candidate for old age home, of the big 3. I hope he finishes on high note ( but will that make him contemplate extension :hmmm: ?) Find a replacement for Sehwag (Mukund / Rahaney), and move him down the order. This is the time when he got to be given better batting conditions. most likely #5, until Dravid is there at #3. Some strong message should be given to Ishant - by dropping or somehow. If not now, it will be too late for him to improve - and he might end up like another Sreesanth. Dhoni needs to be rested. I am not saying drop him from test side forever. But he needs big time rest, and someone else needs to be tried out. Dinesh Karthik would be first choice, with Gambhir as a captain - I feel Gambhir thrives with responsibility on his shoulders. I am really impressed with Clarke's commitment towards Test cricket ( no t20s BS). In the hindsight, it looks like a masterstroke by CA, if it was planned that way. For us too, ideal situation would be, we need to find 1-2 good batsmen with leadership qualities, who are willing to commit his career for test cricket. Gambhir is first option, but don't know how you convince him to drop T20s - as ideally it is supposed to be individual's free will. Some motivating talk could do good.
ganeshran Posted January 6, 2012 Author Posted January 6, 2012 Dinesh Karthik is a horrible keeper even though his batting on such tracks might be slightly better than Dhoni. We need to get in Saha or someone young. Khaleel is 29 but he could be given a run too.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 @Ganesh you forgot to add the most important option in poll - Tamasha Kirkut ko band karo :hitler:
akshayxyz Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 @Ganesh you forgot to add the most important option in poll - Tamasha Kirkut ko band karo :hitler: someone was among top scorers in WC (ODIS), IPL, and now in this series. why should it be difficult to adjust for others. Even look at Dravid, except for this series, he played IPL, and then performed in WI, England, WI(home)..
tothepoint Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Besides Ishant,dravid,vvs retiring and sacking coaches. Sehwag should come down the order i.e change the order(top heavy). Rahane should open. And if Pujara is not fit,Yuvraj should get some more chances.
Sachin=GOD Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 someone was among top scorers in WC (ODIS)' date=' IPL, and now in this series. [b']why should it be difficult to adjust for others. Even look at Dravid, except for this series, he played IPL, and then performed in WI, England, WI(home).. players don't get enough rest and get more injuries and more and more youngsters want to concentrate on the shorter version of the game - overall it has had a very bad effect whether people accept it or not.
BeautifulGame Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 I would like Dhoni removed from test captaincy but who do we have as replacement.Only one atm is Zaheer but can we really afford to appoint him as captain.We already have enough confusion before every series with fitness but imagine the chaos figuring out speculations of whether our captain is fit or will our captain last a full series before every series.Simply unrealisitic unfortunately. Sehwag needs to be removed as opener.He neither has the technique nor has the application nowadays for an opener.He should drop down to no.4 in the line up as a senior batsman. Laxman should retire after the series.Sachin and Dravid should after the england series.If not then all 3 of them should be dropped.Yes they are great legends but even legends should know when to retire. Gambhir should be retained.He has the technique for overseas just struggling for confidence.The next time we embark on a series away from sub continent he will arguably be our most important player.Hopefully this innings can help him regain his form. Ishant will either way be dropped from team as we only play 2 seamers.We should just rotate Ishant Praveen and Aaron against weaker teams.As he will still be useful atleast as a back up seamer (4th or 5th) in overseas conditions.umesh and Zaheer should be first choice seamers. I dont see any point in sacking Fletcher.Its not fletcher who bats or bowls or captain's in the middle.I dont mind sacking him but we shouldnt make him scapegoat.We would have played the same way even if Kristen was the coach because fault lies with our players IMO. The only reason coaches should be sacked is if they dont get on with captain and try to dictate.Because coaches are overrated and often used as scapegoat for players in my view.
1983-2011 Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Sack the selectors Sack Dhoni from Test Captaincy Make Sehwag the Test Captain Drop Gambhir from the Test Team Drop Ishant Sharma VVS Laxman should retire Dravid Mukund Rahane Tendulkar Sehwag © Rohit Dhoni (WK) (he will perform with the bat if he is relived from the captaincy) Ashwin Zaheer Yadav Ojha/Pace Bowler
BeautifulGame Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Sack the selectors Sack Dhoni from Test Captaincy Make Sehwag the Test Captain Drop Gambhir from the Test Team Drop Ishant Sharma VVS Laxman should retire Make Sehwag captain? He is the 2nd worst international batsmen (not just India) away from sub continent in last 3 years.Even WK batsmen like K Akmal and Boucher have a better average than him.Dhoni averages 10+ runs more than Sehwag in our last 4 series away from sub continet.His highest score in that period of 3 years is 67 with just 50+ score from 20 innings.Pathetic for an opener. U want him opener.He should first try to cement his place in the team.Even talking him of as Captain is a joke.
1983-2011 Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Make Sehwag captain? He is the 2nd worst international batsmen (not just India) away from sub continent in last 3 years.Even WK batsmen like K Akmal and Boucher have a better average than him.Dhoni averages 10+ runs more than Sehwag in our last 4 series away from sub continet.His highest score in that period of 3 years is 67 with just 50+ score from 20 innings.Pathetic for an opener. U want him opener.He should first try to cement his place in the team.Even talking him of as Captain is a joke. I have put Sehwag at 5 in the batting order