NeutralCat Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 We need to make a stand against the BCCI and the Indian sports federations, I am sick of seeing politicians, their families, relatives and associated goons destroying Indian sport in general. I am sick of seeing these fat, corrupt *****s not giving a damn about us the fans or about the state on sports in our country, I am sick of seeing them fill their pockets and coming up with disgusting comments. We need to make a stand against these corrupt people, it's about time we the fans take back sports in the country, these people who run the sport federations like their own little kingdoms. These people are to blame for the way they have destroyed sports in our country, we will never compete on the world stage as long as we have corruption and nepotism in politics and sports admin. We have to dismantle the BCCI and have an independent commission look into all the ills, we need to start now, but I fear it is already too late. I am disgusted to hear what the president of the BCCI has said, he does not give a **** none of them do and it is now very obvious they don't care about anything but themselves and their cushy jobs. I am angry, very angry I live in Australia and I went to the MCG, I have watched this Indian team get humiliated in ever game they have played, we the fans are to blame for this as well, we like to rest of past glories and we accept mediocrity, enough is enough. I am sorry for this rant, but I am hurting and I don't think any of our "superstars" are hurting at all, they seem to not care, they have the IPL and $$$$$$ why should they care representing India? Representing us. I want to hear your thoughts, because of us the fans the BCCI is the richest board in the world, it's time we demand answers and not some bullshit, we have heard the same excuses for decades now, the time has come to honesty and brutal truths.
Nova Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 No one cares enough to protest as test cricket is not important for India. The IPL generation likes instant gratification. These people jump up and down to see the mediocrity on display. Just suck it up and move on.
NeutralCat Posted January 17, 2012 Author Posted January 17, 2012 I care and so do a lot of other people, ODI's, T20 are nothing, Test cricket is the gold standard this is the reason we will never be any good. Australia, SA, England, NZ etc all take Test matches seriously we are a joke, a laughing stock.
Old guy Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 i hear ya buddy but nothing is gonna change some new talent will come would win us few matches and all will be forgotten. also i think we arent this bad we jsut need to retire these oldies we will perform much better after they go but with this corrupt system.. we will never dominate
India-KXIP fan Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 No one cares enough to protest as test cricket is not important for India. The IPL generation likes instant gratification. These people jump up and down to see the mediocrity on display. Just suck it up and move on. This. Sadly.
prashsenga Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 even i was thinking on the same lines... its high time we as the game's biggest stakeholder rise and protest... i individually cannot do it.. but can we do it as a group... I had these thoughts.. why dont we take a resolution that we would cut down watching on cricket and exhort other fans to also do the same.. why dont we create a app in facebook where we share our cricket reduction stats and ask other people to also reduce it.. it could get viral and most of the younger generation would also jump in.. and we can get some media coverage and issue could get blown over.. i know it sounds far fetched.. but when kolaveri can become a hit, i think cricket fans have better chance of getting more coverage.. like we have calorie counter app, we can have apps in android which talk about the reduction in viewership. for instance i can take resolution like a) will not buy tickets for any IPL match in Chennai b) will watch a maximum of 7 matches in IPL c) Will avoid watching all India-NZ tests irrespective of how they perform and then you can keep updating status'es on twitter and facebook if you have missed a match and it shows your resoluteness percentage..B->B-> i know it sounds fancy.. buy why not??
NeutralCat Posted January 17, 2012 Author Posted January 17, 2012 prash, great post mate, I will love something like this to gain momentum, we are the young India and we need to make our own mark on this country. Even though I live in Australia and love Australia I am still Indian and it hurts my heart and soul to see the way these corrupt have and are destroying my country.
bulbul Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 Do you guys really cant understand changing environment in world...as time changes people move on... Now the most hottest cricket is T20 and franchise based cricket is the future.. You agree or not T20 is here to stay...thats the only format of game where most of the teams starts in equal before match...
prashsenga Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 but its better to fail after trying rather than failing without trying.. at least we tried to bring a change.. who knows we can catch the eyes of the sponsors who might demand better accountability or if we can even cause a small blip in the tv ratings who knows... the arrogance of BCCI can come up a notch... i have observed that young kids these days are more socially conscious.. just see the amount of green brigade and kids not bursting crackers... thats a change and people want accountability not what the sheenigans of BCCI are doing.. who knows we might strike a chord amongst every indian.. with corruption and inflation touching a raw nerve on majarority of indians prolly we are overestimating the chaltha hai attitude of india too much... i think we have all the talent and we deserve better.. just because a few crooks run the show doesnt mean we cant stop em.. i know my post sounds jingoistic and mebbe bordering on unreality but i am sure as pi$$ed off as any other genuine cricket fan... tests may be passe but the pride of India is something which is still burning and we cant allow the nincoomps of BCCI to sell it.. before i get more laughs for this unreal post lemme stop.. :((:((... Lets try...
BeautifulGame Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 Do you guys really cant understand changing environment in world...as time changes people move on... Now the most hottest cricket is T20 and franchise based cricket is the future.. You agree or not T20 is here to stay...thats the only format of game where most of the teams starts in equal before match... Exactly.Its not younger generations fault if older generation are stuck in the past. I seriously wonder how many complaining about IPL here in this forum actually live in India.
NeutralCat Posted January 17, 2012 Author Posted January 17, 2012 Prash, you should never stop it's people like you who will make the difference, all it takes is one person to start something new, 1 idea no matter how small, you obviously care about cricket and Test cricket. We need to start a spark and the fire will spread, everyone no matter how poor or how rich and make a difference.
prashsenga Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 Exactly.Its not younger generations fault if older generation are stuck in the past. I seriously wonder how many complaining about IPL here in this forum actually live in India. chennai.. add me to the list..
kruiser Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 if armchair protests could change anything, we would not be living in the India that we have today! I agree that Indian cricket needs to make a lot of changes and adjustments, but will your not watching a T20 or home test series change that? NO. The stakeholders in cricket are well aware that if India continues to loose abroad, they will loose currency and who knows, maybe even soccer will upstage cricket! Before this tour started, everyone agreed that this is the best team selection possible. Now all of a sudden we hate the big3, the captain and everything about the team. Loosing 7 matches in a row can do that to you. Simple answer - Indian team was not able to put up any fight. There were no demons in pitch, the bowling was consistent but not exceptional. Only thing lacking was the will to win or at least put up a fight. And, no, this is not going to change if you stop watching matches.
BeautifulGame Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 chennai.. add me to the list.. Good.Now that u care so much about test matches do u regularly added Ranji matches? How many people in Chennai have u seen moan about IPL and care very much about test cricket similar to u? Because i havent anyone in TN with similar thought process. P.S.Whats ur age?
prashsenga Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 How about demanding some accountability.. i know nothing changes.. but what if there are say a few thousands who care and we might get some change.. for instance, a) More A tours b) a solid second line of team comprising of 15 members who are groomed to take spots of the current 11 c) Change in Ranji points format d) Change in pitches e) do away with zonal quota f) revert to scouts h) Get IPL teams to invest in domestic teams and academies i agree this was the best team, but why did we not have others. its because there was no planning, no grooming, no infrastructure in place. we need a complete overhaul of the system.. we are not questioning the players. we are questioning the system.. i am not blaming IPL for the mess. i just believe IPL might kill cricket in india in long term considering we will start losing ODIs and tests on a constant basis.. this is the only game we do decently well and we have nothing really to cheer in our country run by depressed politicians barring cricket and i dont wnat these goons to rob me off the few good moments that i get in a year:nervous::nervous:..
prashsenga Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 Good.Now that u care so much about test matches do u regularly added Ranji matches? How many people in Chennai have u seen moan about IPL and care very much about test cricket similar to u? Because i havent anyone in TN with similar thought process. P.S.Whats ur age? i defly follow em.. i have gone to the matches as a youngster but not now.. btw i am 29:--D
BeautifulGame Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 i defly follow em.. i have gone to the matches as a youngster but not now.. btw i am 29:--D Well good to see there are few who really care about TN ranji team.Honestly i have met fans caring about Ranji mostly in this forum. Couple of weeks ago i went to TN Ranji QF and the crowd was in single digits. Thats were the problem is not in IPL.IPL is one of the best things happened to fans in India.IPL is the best way for cricket fans living in India to go to stadium and watch cricket.Take Chennai for example.Before IPL we had at best 3-4 ODIS in last 10 years in chennai which has a population of more than 1 core.And most of the tickets are given to friends and affiliated clubs by BCCI administrators .And we arent even talking about Tamil nadu the state which has 6 crore population. How many do u think get a chance to watch international cricket in those years.IPL is first time many fans in India get a chance to go to stadium and enjoy cricket and see Sachin and Dravid bat.If not for IPL most would never have an opportunity to watch these guys play apart from TV. Thats why regardless of few test fans moaning most in India love IPL its not just because its T20.Thats why IPL is best thing happened in Indian cricket from a fans perspective. And i have yet to met a single fan outside forums who hate IPL frankly.
NeutralCat Posted January 17, 2012 Author Posted January 17, 2012 So much needs to improve in India, so much it seems so impossible.
bharat297 Posted January 17, 2012 Posted January 17, 2012 Former players such as Ganguly, Kapil Dev, Kumble, Gavaskar, etc. need to collectively come together to protest against the BCCI int he media. Only then will the media turn on the heat against the BCCI. Then it may be obliged to do something.