Dada's thoughts on Irfan Pathan's comeback

saneindian

Where I give stats of a bowler. I do not believe in stats first. First I see the talent or potential some one has even if he does not have great stats. I do not say I only go for pace, but it is an allround package I talk about. A bowler do not need to be express all the time, but to be successful in every conditions, there are some ingredients that a bowler must have and I had posted all those in my fast bowler specific thread 2-3 months ago. Yaar if only stat is the criteria then there are many bowlers who should have played ahead Yadav and Aaron, but they are picked on potential. We will rarely get a readymade fast bowler from our domestic circuit. They will always be raw because of the standard and lac of structured grooming like in England or Australia. That is the reason I always talk about ingredients for a fast bowler to have and we need to pick them based on those ingredients and potential. After that it is the job of team management including head and bowling coach how to refine and improve that genuine talent like Yadav, Aaron, Nechim, Shukla, Anwar Khan, etc. or it is BCCI'sjob to groom these guys. I rarely talk about stats but when I then I talk about bowlers who I do not seem to have much of a potential for future like Pathan. He was very good in 2004, but since he has lost his original action and runup, he has been in and out of the team. He comes in after some good performances in FC but does not perform well and then again is left out. Ryan Harris has an average of 30 in FC cricket. Michael Clark when debuted in tests had an average around 35 in FC cricket. I think talent should be judged at different specs and not by stats. I talk about them to pick early because we do not have a proper grooming system for fast bowlers.
completely agree :hatsoff:

Ganguly said exactly what he thought of him. Don't see an issue here. On current form, Dinda has been far more effective than Pathan. Definitely deserved an opportunity ahead of Mithooon and Koooomar.

Where I give stats of a bowler. I do not believe in stats first. First I see the talent or potential some one has even if he does not have great stats. I do not say I only go for pace, but it is an allround package I talk about. A bowler do not need to be express all the time, but to be successful in every conditions, there are some ingredients that a bowler must have and I had posted all those in my fast bowler specific thread 2-3 months ago. Yaar if only stat is the criteria then there are many bowlers who should have played ahead Yadav and Aaron, but they are picked on potential. We will rarely get a readymade fast bowler from our domestic circuit. They will always be raw because of the standard and lac of structured grooming like in England or Australia. That is the reason I always talk about ingredients for a fast bowler to have and we need to pick them based on those ingredients and potential. After that it is the job of team management including head and bowling coach how to refine and improve that genuine talent like Yadav, Aaron, Nechim, Shukla, Anwar Khan, etc. or it is BCCI'sjob to groom these guys. I rarely talk about stats but when I then I talk about bowlers who I do not seem to have much of a potential for future like Pathan. He was very good in 2004, but since he has lost his original action and runup, he has been in and out of the team. He comes in after some good performances in FC but does not perform well and then again is left out. Ryan Harris has an average of 30 in FC cricket. Michael Clark when debuted in tests had an average around 35 in FC cricket. I think talent should be judged at different specs and not by stats. I talk about them to pick early because we do not have a proper grooming system for fast bowlers.