saneindian Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 The ODI squad is in England and when the cameras zoomed on Pathan and a few others, Ian Chappel asked Ganguly what he thought of Pathan's bowling having faced him in domestic cricket recently? Dada's reply was "He has taken wickets but the zip is not yet there in his bowling. Needed to do lot more in domestic cricket." Stopped short of saying he doesn't deserve to be in Team India on current form especially his bowling. Remains to be seen how Irfan does and whether he is able to prove the detractors wrong.
1983-2011 Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 The ODI squad is in England and when the cameras zoomed on Pathan and a few others' date=' Ian Chappel asked Ganguly what he thought of Pathan's bowling having faced him in domestic cricket recently? Dada's reply was "He has taken wickets but the zip is not yet there in his bowling. Needed to do lot more in domestic cricket."[b'] Stopped short of saying he doesn't deserve to be in Team India on current form especially his bowling. Remains to be seen how Irfan does and whether he is able to prove the detractors wrong. but he was in form in the ranji trophy and did well in a match against windies so why would he say that "he doesn't deserve to be in Team India on current form"
vvvslaxman Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 Ganguly still feels Irfan is not ready yet to get back in the side based on his batting against him couple of weeks back. If it is upto him he would select Dinda, Manoj Tiwary, Rahul bose, Lakshmi ratan shukla
Number Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 iirc , Pathan didn't get wickets against Bengal , in the game Dada played so may be he felt like that.
India-KXIP fan Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 if praveen fails give Pathan a chance in tests. Both slow but good swing bowlers.
vvvslaxman Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 if praveen fails give Pathan a chance in tests. Both slow but good swing bowlers. Either of them can't get worse than Ishant.
CG Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 The ODI squad is in England and when the cameras zoomed on Pathan and a few others' date=' Ian Chappel asked Ganguly what he thought of Pathan's bowling having faced him in domestic cricket recently? Dada's reply was "[b']He has taken wickets but the zip is not yet there in his bowling. Needed to do lot more in domestic cricket." Stopped short of saying he doesn't deserve to be in Team India on current form especially his bowling. Remains to be seen how Irfan does and whether he is able to prove the detractors wrong. Did he say that? What i heard was Ganguly said looking at stats on screen i was there when he got the hundred versus pakistan,But his bowling was the problem,Ian chappel -Yes as his batting improved his bowling lost the zip ,ganguly i played against him and got a century before a hamstring injury,If he fires lot of indias problem will be solved.
J P K Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 send ashok dinda as replacement dada will be pleased
pensionplan Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 Ganguly still feels Irfan is not ready yet to get back in the side based on his batting against him couple of weeks back. If it is upto him he would select Dinda' date=' Manoj Tiwary, Rahul bose, Lakshmi ratan shukla[/quote']LOL....The kind of quota candidate he himself was very early in his career before 1996 if it was upto him he sure would pitcher for all the mediocrity from Bengal. Based on Tinda's one decent season in Ranji he wanted him in the Indian team. Wonder why?
saneindian Posted January 26, 2012 Author Posted January 26, 2012 Did he say that? What i heard was Ganguly said looking at stats on screen i was there when he got the hundred versus pakistan,But his bowling was the problem,Ian chappel -Yes as his batting improved his bowling lost the zip ,ganguly i played against him and got a century before a hamstring injury,If he fires lot of indias problem will be solved. You were 5 minutes late.
MCcricket Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 What Ganguly said was right, I have seen Irfan bowling his swing and action looks good now but pace is still not around 130 to 135 range, which is required to be successful.I feel Ganguly has fine acumen and is a honest guy, he wants the good of Indian team, hopefully when he goes back the technical commitee will reccommend certain things and BCCI will make some changes.
Chaos Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 What Ganguly said was right' date=' I have seen Irfan bowling his swing and action looks good now but pace is still not around 130 to 135 range, which is required to be successful.I feel Ganguly has fine acumen and is a honest guy, he wants the good of Indian team, hopefully when he goes back the technical commitee will reccommend certain things and BCCI will make some changes.[/quote'] I only respect him as a player, but as a commie he is a joker...
Sarkar Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 Lately i m seeing Ganguly with loads of Anti Indian stuff and Anti Indian player statements.
Shunya Posted January 26, 2012 Posted January 26, 2012 I only respect him as a player' date=' but as a commie he is a joker...[/quote'] +1 me too...lot of respct as a player.. commie/analyst/critic- he is complete ****
Ultimate_Game Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 Lately i m seeing Ganguly with loads of Anti Indian stuff and Anti Indian player statements. After watching India's performances over the last year, especially against Eng and Aus, anyone would become anti_indian players. I mean you only have to see the reaction on ICF to gauge the sentiments of Indian fans
rkt.india Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 The ODI squad is in England and when the cameras zoomed on Pathan and a few others' date=' Ian Chappel asked Ganguly what he thought of Pathan's bowling having faced him in domestic cricket recently? Dada's reply was "[b']He has taken wickets but the zip is not yet there in his bowling. Needed to do lot more in domestic cricket." Stopped short of saying he doesn't deserve to be in Team India on current form especially his bowling. Remains to be seen how Irfan does and whether he is able to prove the detractors wrong. Yaa I saw how Gomez and Soni Cheruvathur thrashed him in DY Patil T20.
saneindian Posted January 27, 2012 Author Posted January 27, 2012 RKT I find it funny that when you have to run down a bowler you use the stats from domestic matches. But when someone says ABu Nechim hasn't done well or Rahul Shukla hasn't done well, you give all sorts of reasons like flat wickets, one man attack, lack of motivation etc. Why this double standard?
rkt.india Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 RKT I find it funny that when you have to run down a bowler you use the stats from domestic matches. But when someone says ABu Nechim hasn't done well or Rahul Shukla hasn't done well, you give all sorts of reasons like flat wickets, one man attack, lack of motivation etc. Why this double standard? Where I give stats of a bowler. I do not believe in stats first. First I see the talent or potential some one has even if he does not have great stats. I do not say I only go for pace, but it is an allround package I talk about. A bowler do not need to be express all the time, but to be successful in every conditions, there are some ingredients that a bowler must have and I had posted all those in my fast bowler specific thread 2-3 months ago. Yaar if only stat is the criteria then there are many bowlers who should have played ahead Yadav and Aaron, but they are picked on potential. We will rarely get a readymade fast bowler from our domestic circuit. They will always be raw because of the standard and lac of structured grooming like in England or Australia. That is the reason I always talk about ingredients for a fast bowler to have and we need to pick them based on those ingredients and potential. After that it is the job of team management including head and bowling coach how to refine and improve that genuine talent like Yadav, Aaron, Nechim, Shukla, Anwar Khan, etc. or it is BCCI'sjob to groom these guys. I rarely talk about stats but when I then I talk about bowlers who I do not seem to have much of a potential for future like Pathan. He was very good in 2004, but since he has lost his original action and runup, he has been in and out of the team. He comes in after some good performances in FC but does not perform well and then again is left out. Ryan Harris has an average of 30 in FC cricket. Michael Clark when debuted in tests had an average around 35 in FC cricket. I think talent should be judged at different specs and not by stats. I talk about them to pick early because we do not have a proper grooming system for fast bowlers.
Cricket Tragic Posted January 27, 2012 Posted January 27, 2012 Pathan is a clown at test level. Picking him will be a joke. The best that he can hope for is playing ODIs.