achilles Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Just before our batting, these were the words I told my friend - "Dude, we are chasing 217 in 32 overs and Sachin needs to play. Maybe we are set for a Tendulkar special choke". 11 balls later, prophecy came true :hatsoff:
Texy Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Unless Sehwag's exclusion is automatic' date=' how is SRT playing in his place blocking the place of a youngster?[/quote'] how else will he continue making the payments for his 100 crore home insurance cover? Let the man make his paycheck....who gives a sh!t abt some youngster
Magneto Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 :facepalm: Rahane in place of Sachin in the 15, gives the captain an option to play him as an opener when Sehwag doesnt play. BTW why don't you try answering the question what will Sachin gain by playing in these ODIs after missing everything since the WC? Rahane is a farji opener. He's gotten saved not playing here.
saneindian Posted February 5, 2012 Author Posted February 5, 2012 Worry about the rest of the team and don't question the place of the greatest batsman in the modern era. He can play anytime, any position. If Ponting/Hussey is playing, why can't Tendulkar? Tendulkar is one of the best ODI players in the world. It is not about having achieved everythiing, if he has desire to play, he should. If Ponting/Hussey had played IPL and opted out/asked to be rested from an Aus series, even they would have been questioned. As great a batsman as Sachin is, he isn't bigger than the game to pick and chose when he wants to play and when he doesn't.
achilles Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 As for Rahane playing ODIs in place of Sachin, not sure if Rahane has the temperament of playing the Aussies in Australia. The man couldn't control himself against a bunch of wussies of the second-rate English side. Australia would be hunting like wolves. We could however pick anyone among Sachin or Rahane. Both are going to underperform anyway. The kid has something to gain though. Sachin is well, playing for his 100th 100 anyway.
ganeshran Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 :facepalm: Rahane in place of Sachin in the 15, gives the captain an option to play him as an opener when Sehwag doesnt play. BTW why don't you try answering the question what will Sachin gain by playing in these ODIs after missing everything since the WC? You are missing the point. Rahane wont be chosen over Sehwag in the playing 11. IIRC he isnt an opener as well. SRT is chosen over Sehwag to play to accommodate both Kohli and RG Sharma in the lineup. There is no question of gaining or losing here. its his prerogative to make himself available for the series. Playing at home, youngsters need to be given chances so he rested himself. In England he was injured so he missed the ODIs. If selectors dont consider him good enough then drop him.
Dravid_TheWall Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 If Ponting/Hussey had played IPL and opted out/asked to be rested from an Aus series' date=' even they would have been questioned. As great a batsman as Sachin is, he isn't bigger than the game to pick and chose when he wants to play and when he doesn't.[/quote'] Bak bak ban karo. Our lineup is full of youngsters, odd experience is good. They will learn from playing with the master. He still fields better than a lot of our players. He is a very good ODI bat and so should play. Simple as. We already have planned for future due to inclusion of youth e.t.c
Magneto Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 As for Rahane playing ODIs in place of Sachin, not sure if Rahane has the temperament of playing the Aussies in Australia. The man couldn't control himself against a bunch of wussies of the second-rate English side. Australia would be hunting like wolves. We could however pick anyone among Sachin or Rahane. Both are going to underperform anyway. The kid has something to gain though. Sachin is well, playing for his 100th 100 anyway. Rahane wouldn't have played any which way. He would have simply carried drinks like the last 2-3 months.
ganeshran Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 There is no dearth of youth in this side. We failed because we played poorly. Kohli, RG Sharma, Rahul Sharma, Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Raina, PK, Jadeja all are yougsters. The only relativily senior players are Gambhir and Dhoni and only veteran is SRT
achilles Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Bak bak ban karo. Our lineup is full of youngsters' date=' odd experience is good. They will learn from playing with the master. He still fields better than a lot of our players. He is a very good ODI bat and so should play. Simple as. We already have planned for future due to inclusion of youth e.t.c[/quote'] I don't agree with the way you've phrased this reply. But yes, there are 2 ways of simplistically looking at this- 1. Sachin will atleast get a respectable choke than Rahane. 2. Rahane would've gained something by playing there, whereas Sachin is clearly running behind we know what.
achilles Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Rahane wouldn't have played any which way. He would have simply carried drinks like the last 2-3 months. It would've been bold to keep him in the squad and maybe give him an odd game or 2. I know he wouldn't do well but then its also his first tour and he could learn a thing or two.
Magneto Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 It would've been bold to keep him in the squad and maybe give him an odd game or 2. I know he wouldn't do well but then its also his first tour and he could learn a thing or two. Coaching class kholke rakha hai kya? He has a lifetime to learn. Let's get serious about the cricket now. He has not crossed 50 in his last ten innings and you want him to poke and edge and learn a few things.
Needforspeed Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Zak in Fatwin out. Pathan in $2 Million Jaddu out. Yadav in P.Kumar out. Then we stand a chance. Stupid to play 3 spinners on Aussie pitches. Lankans anyway wont be impressed with our spinners.
achilles Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Coaching class kholke rakha hai kya? He has a lifetime to learn. Let's get serious about the cricket now. He has not crossed 50 in his last ten innings and you want him to poke and edge and learn a few things. Maybe when he has 11 Aussies and the media barking in his ears, he will understand the virtue of "not getting excited". The kid threw away his chances in England. And thats why he's not in the XI. My point is, among Sachin and Rahane, there is not much to choose. Sachin will do marginally better, while Rahane could maybe take this as a learning lesson. Remember, it took Virat 3 tests to score a 100 down under. So persisting with Rahane or atleast having him in the squad would've kept an option open.
rkt.india Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 playing three spinners on these pitches...real foolishness first up..play four seamers plus Rahul Sharma lone spinner...Aussie struggles against spinners but when there is turn or pitch is slow, not on a track like ar MCG
Magneto Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Maybe when he has 11 Aussies and the media barking in his ears, he will understand the virtue of "not getting excited". The kid threw away his chances in England. And thats why he's not in the XI. My point is, among Sachin and Rahane, there is not much to choose. Sachin will do marginally better, while Rahane could maybe take this as a learning lesson. Remember, it took Virat 3 tests to score a 100 down under. So persisting with Rahane or atleast having him in the squad would've kept an option open. Why would you even keep Rahane in the squad ahead of Tiwary?
CG Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Maybe when he has 11 Aussies and the media barking in his ears, he will understand the virtue of "not getting excited". The kid threw away his chances in England. And thats why he's not in the XI. My point is, among Sachin and Rahane, there is not much to choose. Sachin will do marginally better, while Rahane could maybe take this as a learning lesson. Remember, it took Virat 3 tests to score a 100 down under. So persisting with Rahane or atleast having him in the squad would've kept an option open. He Batted well in england ,Everybody was impressed,Did not have a good odis series agiant eng at home but scored 90 in the last match .
CG Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Why would you even keep Rahane in the squad ahead of Tiwary? Because tiwary cannot score runs against the short ball.He will be found out in these conditions. Have you seen him hanging on the back foot when playing quicks yes he got a century last time in india,But he will find it very hard here.
Magneto Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 Because tiwary cannot score runs against the short ball.He will be found out in these conditions. Have you seen him hanging on the back foot when playing quicks yes he got a century last time in india,But he will find it very hard here. Rahane has not crossed 20 (15, 0, 3) even after playing three innings in tour matches. Scored once in out of five matches against England at home. Scored a duck against WI. God knows how he'll buy a run. Tiwary would surely score many more given the same opportunities.
bulbul Posted February 5, 2012 Posted February 5, 2012 :facepalm: Rahane in place of Sachin in the 15, gives the captain an option to play him as an opener when Sehwag doesnt play. BTW why don't you try answering the question what will Sachin gain by playing in these ODIs after missing everything since the WC? hey Hater :hitler: