I'm visiting Delhi (from London) with my parents in mid-March for 2-3 months, and trying to figure out where to stay. My extended family originally hail and still live in New Rajindra Nagar. Since my father is wheelchair bound i'm looking for a rental in this neighborhood so that interaction with family may be convenient. 1. What's this neighborhood like? It seems most foreign visitors shoot for South Delhi, why is that? If that is truly the place to be I might even consider a place of my own there. I'm guessing a trip between the two is a short ride on the metro? 2. Does anyone have any leads for a 2/3 bed apartment in New Rajinder Nagar and/or a 1 bed apartment in South Delhi? 3. How much can I expect to pay for above? Do rentals come with maid service? 4. Any opinions on choosing between Virgin, British Airways, Jet Airways? Thanks folks!

tbh its not going to be easy as most building are not designed with ramps. What is the purpose of the trip and how many people wold be going ? South Delhi is considered clean, upscale and less crowded although delhi is crowded no matter where you go. As for Metro, I think they have lifts and seats for disabled but if I were in your place I would avoid it. It might be ok for you to take it but not with your father. Its best that you rent a car when you need it, its like Rs 800 for 8 hours which is like $2 an hour.

The purpose of the trip is for my elderly parents to experience the city while they're still healthy enough to do so. My parents will be spending most of their time in their chosen accommodation so i would like it to be a modern apartment with outside space and pleasant neighborhood, and easy for relatives to visit them on a regular basis without trekking halfway through Delhi. This in turn should make it easier for me to do my own thing i.e. bars, clubs, restaurants, workout. It sounds like i should aim for a place in Rajindra Nagar in the first instance and take it from there. It would be nice to have my own retreat too.

Its best that you rent a car when you need it' date=' its like Rs 800 for 8 hours which is like $2 an hour.[/quote'] Thanks man!
The purpose of the trip is for my elderly parents to experience the city while they're still healthy enough to do so. My parents will be spending most of their time in their chosen accommodation so i would like it to be a modern apartment with outside space and pleasant neighborhood' date=' and easy for relatives to visit them on a regular basis without trekking halfway through Delhi. This in turn should make it easier for me to do my own thing i.e. bars, clubs, restaurants, workout. It sounds like i should aim for a place in Rajindra Nagar in the first instance and take it from there. It would be nice to have my own retreat too.[/quote'] Around race course area would be best for you. Its closer to Rajinder nagar and it meets all your requirements. However, I dont know how easy it will be for you to find a furnished apartment for a few months

Rajendra Nagar, hmm. South Delhi will be too far, and I think you can get a better place nearby. I'd recommend getting a place in central Delhi.. say near CP (Connaught Place). Maybe near Barakhamba Road or Mandi House if you can. The metro will go directly to the Rajendra Place station, so you can use it if you want. I travelled the whole of delhi last time with my wife and her gori friend in the metro and it was very safe and comfy. There are quite a few places in CP that you can hang out at, for food, nightlife and such. I think they have a fitness first in CP if you wanna keep your workout going. I used to live near Mandi house, and they've got a good theatre and art scene going around the area (check out Kamani audi, or siri fort audi -- a little further out). I studied at Barakhamba road which is at a walkable distance from Mandi house, and it's also a nice area, and has a couple of decent museums, but it can get quite commercial and business centric as you get closer to CP. India Gate, the Parliament, National museum, and other popular governmental buildings are also close enough to this area. Generally, if you're close to Rajiv Chowk (i.e. CP) you can see a lot more of Delhi via the metro or just by car.

Yo Varun, thanks man, totally appreciate the help. I've been searching the web for serviced apartments and most seem to be in South Delhi, but Rajendra Nagar not so much so will defo look at CP and those places you mention. I found a site called www.airbnb.com which seems pretty good, lots of apartment owners looking to host. This one in Malviya Nagar looks nice http://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/178093. Would you say this was average spec for Delhi?

Yo Varun' date=' thanks man, totally appreciate the help. I've been searching the web for serviced apartments and most seem to be in South Delhi, but Rajendra Nagar not so much so will defo look at CP and those places you mention. I found a site called [url']www.airbnb.com which seems pretty good, lots of apartment owners looking to host. This one in Malviya Nagar looks nice http://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/178093. Would you say this was average spec for Delhi?
I grew up in a suburb near Malviya nagar. I dont think you'll enjoy the mohalla. Let me know the exact location and I can help BTW Malviya nagar is in south delhi, dont go by google maps when checking out the distances as in Delhi the traffic moves verry slow and there are certain areas which are always busy

oh just had a look but can you tell me the address of the place. In one of the pictures I can see APJ school in the background (i guess) if thats the case then be careful as that is next to shamshaan ghat so it can be depressing and smelly. Yes .. they have a school next to cremation ground without any high fences

Yo Varun' date=' thanks man, totally appreciate the help. I've been searching the web for serviced apartments and most seem to be in South Delhi, but Rajendra Nagar not so much so will defo look at CP and those places you mention. I found a site called [url']www.airbnb.com which seems pretty good, lots of apartment owners looking to host. This one in Malviya Nagar looks nice http://www.airbnb.co.uk/rooms/178093. Would you say this was average spec for Delhi?
I'd say that's a good price for what you're getting. Of course the problem is that pictures don't tell the whole story. Ideally you'd want to see the streets and areas around the place, but I don't think Google has street-mapped the Delhi streets yet (Damn government restrictions !) Like desi says, location is very important in Delhi, especially if you're planning to stay for long. My cuz stays in Malviya Nagar, and it's a bit of a patchy neighbourhood, i.e. there are some shady areas interspersed in between good areas. The good thing is that it's close to Delhi's biggest malls (Saket malls), and of course the Malviya Nagar metro station is close by. The road in front of the Saket malls grinds to a halt at rush hour, so be careful of that. If it's all too confusing, I'd suggest putting up in a nice reputable hotel for a few days while you physically go to your shortlisted places and select one.

Thanks Varun and Desi Cartman. You guys know what is meant by a 'Buidler Floor Apartment'? Rents displayed (e.g. 1 lac) are per month right?