The Outsider Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Sachin will rise again pretty soon.. and you will be back here eating your words. This I can promise you. Of course he will "rise soon" given India are playing at home for the next two years after being a b!tch to Anderson, Broad, and Siddle away from home. Really hurts to say that Tendulkar has brought his career to the point where the saying apne ghar mein kutta bhi sher hota hai applies to him.
saket123 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Of course he will "rise soon" given India are playing at home for the next two years after being a b!tch to Anderson' date=' Broad, and Siddle away from home. Really hurts to say that Tendulkar has brought his career to the point where the saying [i']apne ghar mein kutta bhi sher hota hai applies to him. Hey our next tournament is in Bangladesh... That is not "apna ghar". :haha:
Raghav_12 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Of course he will "rise soon" given India are playing at home for the next two years after being a b!tch to Anderson' date=' Broad, and Siddle away from home. Really hurts to say that Tendulkar has brought his career to the point where the saying [i']apne ghar mein kutta bhi sher hota hai applies to him. Your claim is really justified agaist someone whose career average for the matches played in Aus, Eng and SA is mere 52. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/35320.html?class=1;filter=advanced;home_or_away=2;opposition=1;opposition=2;opposition=3;orderby=default;template=results;type=allround
The Outsider Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Your claim is really justified agaist someone whose career average for the matches played in Aus, Eng and SA is mere 52. http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/35320.html?class=1;filter=advanced;home_or_away=2;opposition=1;opposition=2;opposition=3;orderby=default;template=results;type=allround Is it fashionable to counter a point which is not being made anyways? Tendulkar has been a master of most conditions in the world - the key is "has been". He has lost it now and can't score in tough away conditions anymore.
GautiMaan Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 People who say Sachin is being selfish by prolonging his career to get his 100th Ton really must have never followed Sachin in his career. I've followed him since the time he started playing in Shivaji park mumbai.. and when he first took his stance against Pakistan in 1989. It simply hurts me when people pass such comments about Sachin. Truly shameful and such a pity... Don't you know what kind of a person Sachin is? True that Sachin didn't score any big runs lately.. but no one can say that Sachin has struggled to connect bat to ball. On the contrary, he has looked in prime touch when others have struggled to connect. Sachin will rise again pretty soon.. and you will be back here eating your words. This I can promise you. U miss the point,even if he does become our top scorer.what will he achieve that he he hasn't already achieved.Is it not better to play a Uthappa or Rahane who might play an important part in the future. India needed sachin to show up in the tests.Asia cup can be won without him.
saket123 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 U miss the point,even if he does become our top scorer.what will he achieve that he he hasn't already achieved.Is it not better to play a Uthappa or Rahane who might play an important part in the future. India needed sachin to show up in the tests.Asia cup can be won without him. yea but you can't remove someone just because you think they are old. Uthappa or Rahane can easily replace Raina on a rational basis. Sachin is still a pretty solid bet as an opener over Rahane or Uthappa. I think we need to retain our top players.. and leave a slot in the middle for rotational players. Uthappa serves best in that position anyway.
saket123 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Is it fashionable to counter a point which is not being made anyways? He has lost it now and can't score in tough away conditions anymore. Okay.. you WILL eat your words.. remember what you've said here... with special emphasis on CAN'T.. and ANYMORE.. :) You will be proven wrong (by the master himself).. very very soon. I don't think Sachin has had that long a dearth of runs to really justify that. I stand corrected: His average has been 27 in ODIs since his last half century against Pakistan in Mohali. I agree it looks bad.. but since India's nonchalant performance in England.. I've always thought.. indians weren't ready to play any new matches after their world cup win for at least 6-8 months!.. they just didn't seem interested since March 2011.. and up until a few weeks ago.
Raghav_12 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Is it fashionable to counter a point which is not being made anyways? Tendulkar has been a master of most conditions in the world - the key is "has been". He has lost it now and can't score in tough away conditions anymore. Point I find annoying is that critics drag Tendulkar's whole career when they should be criticizing only last 11 months (which unfortunately had two very important series). People went on to the extent that Sachin was kept in team for first 3-4 years so that he can get exposure. In your post, you seem to be suggesting that people can/should make "ghar ka sher" comment against Sachin. I think it would take many more than just two series before "real" cricket fan would even think in that direction.
Number Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 One can understand the loyalty of fans who saw sachin single handedly winning matches for india in the 90's. :agree:
Lurker Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 One can understand the loyalty of fans who saw sachin single handedly winning matches for india in the 90's. But really all good things must come to an end and Sachin's decision to play in the Asia cup does seem selfish. I hope thats how you follow cricket only, and not neccessarily make financial investments. :beee:
The Outsider Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Point I find annoying is that critics drag Tendulkar's whole career when they should be criticizing only last 11 months (which unfortunately had two very important series). People went on to the extent that Sachin was kept in team for first 3-4 years so that he can get exposure. In your post, you seem to be suggesting that people can/should make "ghar ka sher" comment against Sachin. I think it would take many more than just two series before "real" cricket fan would even think in that direction. Why are you quoting my post to make some point against "people". My post clearly says that Tendulkar's career has reached a point where he will be a ghar ka sher because he has lost his ability to score in tough conditions. It said nothing about his overall performances in these countries and yet you are quoting his career average in these countries to somehow counter my point? Makes no sense.
The Outsider Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Okay.. you WILL eat your words.. remember what you've said here... with special emphasis on CAN'T.. and ANYMORE.. :) You will be proven wrong (by the master himself).. very very soon. I don't think Sachin has had that long a dearth of runs to really justify that. I stand corrected: His average has been 27 in ODIs since his last half century against Pakistan in Mohali. I agree it looks bad.. but since India's nonchalant performance in England.. I've always thought.. indians weren't ready to play any new matches after their world cup win for at least 6-8 months!.. they just didn't seem interested since March 2011.. and up until a few weeks ago. Chalo yaar dekh lenge - I won't be disappointed at being proven wrong. If someone is scoring runs in tough conditions for India I will be elated. And from a pure cricketing perspective I would enjoy watching someone score in tough conditions even if he was not an Indian.
Raghav_12 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Why are you quoting my post to make some point against "people". My post clearly says that Tendulkar's career has reached a point where he will be a ghar ka sher because he has lost his ability to score in tough conditions. It said nothing about his overall performances in these countries and yet you are quoting his career average in these countries to somehow counter my point? Makes no sense. Those were some additional points I made other than commenting on your post and these additional points happened to be related to the argument that you are making. You may have a point if you say Tendulkar has been "become" like one ghar ka sher. But your statement that "ghar ka sher" applies to Sachin, would be taken in context of his whole career as default or if you haven't stated other qualifiers very clearly. Anyways, like you I would also have liked if Tendulkar had a chance to redeem whatever he lost in last two series. But unfortunately we have only home series lined up which would not help his cause.
GautiMaan Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 I hope thats how you follow cricket only' date=' and not neccessarily make financial investments. :beee:[/quote'] Lurks,we as Indians do let sentiments get the better of us:sad: But u cant deny the man his accomplishments.If only he had retired after the world cup...
Lurker Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Lurks,we as Indians do let sentiments get the better of us:sad: But u cant deny the man his accomplishments.If only he had retired after the world cup... Why would I deny his accomplishments? We should all be proud of it rather than deny it surely. Sunny-Kapil-Sachin would be the holy trinity for any Indian cricket fans for a long time to come. But yes he should have hung his boot long time back. As the saying goes - Better to die a hero than to live long enough and see yourself become a villain. Happens to everyone actually.
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Of course he will "rise soon" given India are playing at home for the next two years after being a b!tch to Anderson' date=' Broad, and Siddle away from home. Really hurts to say that Tendulkar has brought his career to the point where the saying [i']apne ghar mein kutta bhi sher hota hai applies to him. I would assume you agreed with the part of saket's post you edited out. If not, please do comment on that. here it is for your conveneince People who say Sachin is being selfish by prolonging his career to get his 100th Ton really must have never followed Sachin in his career. I've followed him since the time he started playing in Shivaji park mumbai.. and when he first took his stance against Pakistan in 1989. It simply hurts me when people pass such comments about Sachin. Truly shameful and such a pity... Don't you know what kind of a person Sachin is? True that Sachin didn't score any big runs lately.. but no one can say that Sachin has struggled to connect bat to ball. On the contrary, he has looked in prime touch when others have struggled to connect.
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 U miss the point' date='[b']even if he does become our top scorer.what will he achieve that he he hasn't already achieved.Is it not better to play a Uthappa or Rahane who might play an important part in the future. India needed sachin to show up in the tests.Asia cup can be won without him. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: with that logic, he should have retired 3-4 years back. Good sportsmen are capable to chase milestones and many of them do, all time greatest ones create new ones for others to follow - and almost always it happens by sheer passion for the sport, and not some glory hunting - not as it is portrayed by media.
Tiger80 Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Point I find annoying is that critics drag Tendulkar's whole career when they should be criticizing only last 11 months (which unfortunately had two very important series). People went on to the extent that Sachin was kept in team for first 3-4 years so that he can get exposure. In your post, you seem to be suggesting that people can/should make "ghar ka sher" comment against Sachin. I think it would take many more than just two series before "real" cricket fan would even think in that direction. btw - what Cook/Pieterson/Bell/Ponting/Clarke/Warner did in last 1 year also comes under category of "ghar ka sher".. half of them failed in alien conditions, rest half we will see.
akshayxyz Posted March 2, 2012 Posted March 2, 2012 Why would I deny his accomplishments? We should all be proud of it rather than deny it surely. Sunny-Kapil-Sachin would be the holy trinity for any Indian cricket fans for a long time to come. But yes he should have hung his boot long time back. As the saying goes - Better to die a hero than to live long enough and see yourself become a villain. Happens to everyone actually. btw - retirement is more analogous to "suicide" than "die". What SRT is doing by continuing playing ( despite a bit of slump) would count as a Hero's death :).. btw, check it out - Saaar Don ji came back to play international cricket of highest class at an age of about 38, and played until 40... with better medical science, and technology I guess SRT can afford and manage to be fitter at similar age. Unless of course you think level of international cricket in Don ji's time was a bit inferior.