achilles Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 Good evening friends. I keep reading a lot about the Middle East on the internet. There is a lot of conflicting reports that I keep reading. Some write, it is a great place to live, great economy, good people. But others write the exact opposite. I'm thinking about moving to Bahrain or Kuwait. Constantly reading conflicting reports about the riots in Bahrain and the instability of the economy there is not helping. I've read that it is difficult to be a non-Muslim living in Kuwait. Can someone please apprise me about these 2 countries, Bahrain in particular? PS- Any advice on how to approach them for jobs would be nice too, as they don't revert back to emails much.
achilles Posted April 4, 2012 Author Posted April 4, 2012 Mallu's are awesome people, bawa. I think they are like the Punjabi's of South India. Cool people, get along with everyone
Ramzz Posted April 4, 2012 Posted April 4, 2012 I live in Oman and absolutely love it here. Peaceful life, oil is cheap, good money, great infrastructure, standard of living is not too expensive and people are friendly. I have lived in Dubai for 5 years as well and its a nice city. Dunno about Bahrain and Kuwait but I have a few friends settle there and they are doing well.
achilles Posted April 4, 2012 Author Posted April 4, 2012 I live in Oman and absolutely love it here. Peaceful life, oil is cheap, good money, great infrastructure, standard of living is not too expensive and people are friendly. I have lived in Dubai for 5 years as well and its a nice city. Dunno about Bahrain and Kuwait but I have a few friends settle there and they are doing well. How do I apply for jobs in Oman?
CG Posted April 5, 2012 Posted April 5, 2012 bhai you are in paradise on earth,you will not get a better place than india.I had my uncle you worked in libya as a doctor ,He used to say its so lonely out there.
jind Posted April 5, 2012 Posted April 5, 2012 anything apart from Saudi....that place is hell from what i hear. no rights whatsoever
GautiMaan Posted April 5, 2012 Posted April 5, 2012 I grew up in Oman,generally it is a quiet idyllic life.Cheap cost of living and you can make good money too.Of course if ur looking for parties,nightlife etc then the middle-east other than dubai does'nt have many options.If you've got kids then its better to leave them in India,as the locals don't mingle too much with expats.
EnterTheVoid Posted April 6, 2012 Posted April 6, 2012 Lived in Oman for 10 years, totally chilled out place. I don´t recommend you settle there tho, settle somewhere in the US/Canada/Australia etc
achilles Posted April 9, 2012 Author Posted April 9, 2012 bhai you are in paradise on earth' date='you will not get a better place than india.I had my uncle you worked in libya as a doctor ,He used to say its so lonely out there.[/quote'] Yaar, people are paid sheet salaries here, made to do things which are not their responsibilities and exploited. Maybe I would like to come back to India in a few years, but starting your career in India is a risky thing. Ya. I've heard bad things. I'm not even considering it. You have an idea about things in Bahrain, Kuwait or Oman?
achilles Posted April 9, 2012 Author Posted April 9, 2012 I grew up in Oman' date='generally it is a quiet idyllic life.Cheap cost of living and you can make good money too.Of course if ur looking for parties,nightlife etc then the middle-east other than dubai does'nt have many options.If you've got kids then its better to leave them in India,as the locals don't mingle too much with expats.[/quote'] You grew up in Oman? Thats great. The description of the country fits my requirement. How would you recommend me to go getting a job there? Hmmm. Sree, the problem with US and to a certain extent Australia is the strict visa regimes they're putting in place. Or is Australia still welcome to us? What about Canada?
GautiMaan Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 You grew up in Oman? Thats great. The description of the country fits my requirement. How would you recommend me to go getting a job there? Hmm..the recruitment for most companies is done by private agencies which have offices in India.What is ur field of work?i might be able to give u a better idea.Keep in mind that most expats can't buy properties in oman,so settling there is not an option
Ramzz Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 How do I apply for jobs in Oman? There are sites like Monster gulf, Naukri gulf and the like...maybe a bit of research online might shed some light. Usually the practice is that a prospective job seeker travels to Oman on a visit visa (valid for 3 months) and then looks for a job while here. Classifieds sections might help too...timesofoman, muscatdaily, omanobserver, oman tribune are some of the local dailies. You can also try out an online forum where there is some interaction between members of the expat community in Oman ... www.omanforum.com Just a heads up, Oman has recently increased its Omanization drive...so companies are forced to hire more locals...my firm recently got a notice to have at a minimum a 65% Omani workforce
Ramzz Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 bhai you are in paradise on earth' date='you will not get a better place than india.I had my uncle you worked in libya as a doctor ,He used to say its so lonely out there.[/quote'] Libya is not the in the Middle East
GautiMaan Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 Just a heads up, Oman has recently increased its Omanization drive...so companies are forced to hire more locals...my firm recently got a notice to have at a minimum a 65% Omani workforce They will not be as qualified,u will be expected to teach them most things.Be prepared to:banghead:
Ramzz Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 They will not be as qualified' date='u will be expected to teach them most things.Be prepared to:banghead:[/quote'] I Know man, totally dreading it...our delivery schedule is ****** up due to the local drivers already. Never show up on time and are always complaining about something or the other...even after we pay them much higher than the minimum wage for this job.
EnterTheVoid Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 I spent my childhood in Oman, lived in Seeb and studied at the Al Ghubra Indian School. Left the Middle East for the West - better opportunities, lifestyle, freedom etc
Ramzz Posted April 9, 2012 Posted April 9, 2012 I spent my childhood in Oman, lived in Seeb and studied at the Al Ghubra Indian School. Left the Middle East for the West - better opportunities, lifestyle, freedom etc Absodamnlutely, I wanted and had the chance to move to...but instead joined the family business. Not too many regrets...but yea...to live life to the fullest...has to be India or the west.
achilles Posted April 9, 2012 Author Posted April 9, 2012 Hmm..the recruitment for most companies is done by private agencies which have offices in India.What is ur field of work?i might be able to give u a better idea.Keep in mind that most expats can't buy properties in oman' date='so settling there is not an option[/quote'] I'm on the verge of completing my MBA. My specialization is Marketing. I'll check those websites out. Btw, is it safe to get a visit visa and come look for a job there? Or is it advisable to go when invited for an interview by a company?
achilles Posted April 9, 2012 Author Posted April 9, 2012 They will not be as qualified' date='u will be expected to teach them most things.Be prepared to:banghead:[/quote']