The Narendra Modi thread

1983-2011

The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

Clever ploy by Nitish Kumar and JDU to deflect attention from a land scam which can have serious implications on Nitish' image. http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2012-06-11/patna/32174002_1_mahadalit-land-reforms-raniganj-block A few other scams like irregularities in AC/DC bills sub mission, enrollment scam have also been swept under the carpet but may comeback to haunt Nitish Kumar. Add to that his failure in handling the woeful power problem in the state. For how long can he continue to convince electorate by showing them the bogey of Lalu's return.

For all the idiotic bravado of BJP & NaMo, the fact remains is that the NDA now only comprises of 4-5 alliance partners. Out of that JDU is already planning to jump the boat. SS is temperamental and a true city party (not even regional). If BJP wishes to be again the principal opposition party in 2014, then go for tha 'man in hurry' NaMo in central role. In the end only 2 members will remain in NDA, BJP & SS. :phehehe: Chaddidhari idiots...
:phehehe: Arre I could have told you a decade back. Apni Jawaani bekaar kar diya aapne :hmmm:

Clever ploy by Nitish Kumar and JDU to deflect attention from a land scam which can have serious implications on Nitish' image. http://articles.timesofindia.indiatimes.com/2012-06-11/patna/32174002_1_mahadalit-land-reforms-raniganj-block A few other scams like irregularities in AC/DC bills sub mission, enrollment scam have also been swept under the carpet but may comeback to haunt Nitish Kumar. Add to that his failure in handling the woeful power problem in the state. For how long can he continue to convince electorate by showing them the bogey of Lalu's return.
I think he can use lalu image for a long time.sab chor hain par kuch kum kuch bahut jada.

Modi might have done mistakes during Godhra. But that guy is bloody brilliant. Hats off to him to make Gujarat what it is today.
^actually agree partly' date=' When he took over Gujarat had gone through deadly earthquake. Plus its not only industry, the agricultural growth is best in entire India..You need to give him credit for that for sure.[/quote'] http://www.rediff.com/money/column/can-gujarats-growth-story-be-attributed-to-modi-column/20120725.htm

As expected, there are tons of people who are ever ready to take away any credit from Modi and link him with many other groups/terms/ideologies. Fundamentally incorrect. Sad politics and even worse media ethics.
Blanket statements don't quite make sense, do they? :dontknow: The numbers speak for themselves. If you have a better theory why not put it up by posting some facts? It would make more sense for me to believe you. Also note what the article says - to put the economic reforms credit just to Modi is based on spurious facts. Please enlighten why you think otherwise - It's quite extensive research mind you especially if you cared to open up the PDF files in the article.

The writers of the article have selectively edited their own data for their article. Just look at the PDF file of growth rates starting from 2002 - the first year of N. Modi's government. http://www.rediff.com/news/2012/jul/25gujarat-growth-rate-after-modi-compared-with-peer-large-states.pdf . Gujarat has outperformed all states as an aggregate over last 10 years. The difference is much, much more stark regarding growth in agricultural sector, which the writers have neglected to mention.

:blink: There's a clear column After Economic Reforms with Modi [02-03 to 11-12] in the table. I don't see any selective editing. :dontknow: Also lets talk numbers/facts while speaking about agricultural reforms.

All their effort in the article is to "explain away" the better performance of Gujarat under N. Modi. Of course they have selectively edited the data. To show Maharashtra growth as better, they chose to focus only on a subset of years in which it fared better. By the way the whole premise of the article is wrong - the leadership in a state definitely matters in the economic growth, you can have horrible CMs (Lalu, Rabri etc) who can stifle growth through their policies/inaction and similarly you can have good administrators who encourage growth and development.

As expected, there are tons of people who are ever ready to take away any credit from Modi and link him with many other groups/terms/ideologies. Fundamentally incorrect. Sad politics and even worse media ethics.
Nope, its the other way around. People are ready to give Modi credit for everything and anything in Gujrat. Can you tell me what exactly are his amazing tactics which caused Gujrat prosperity? Can you enlighten me?

All their effort in the article is to "explain away" the better performance of Gujarat under N. Modi. Of course they have selectively edited the data. To show Maharashtra growth as better, they chose to focus only on a subset of years in which it fared better. By the way the whole premise of the article is wrong - the leadership in a state definitely matters in the economic growth, you can have horrible CMs (Lalu, Rabri etc) who can stifle growth through their policies/inaction and similarly you can have good administrators who encourage growth and development.
Phirse Seedhi. What you mention is just an opinion. The article authors argue with numbers. There is ZERO premise in the article. The article starts with "Lets us check out the numbers before concluding...". Also, the article concludes with data. Leadership matters yes obviously but without economic reforms leadership can't do much. So, once discredit the article by using numbers and reading into the data. What's wrong in their analysis? Put it concretely not A mere "I think ...." It reduces just to an opinion.

:hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: "Encouraging" people is Modi's policy - seriously? I mean wow what a brilliant idea - NO minister before or after Modi would have such a genius thought. Not to forget the ONLY thing I find in that blog is Modi praising. I don't see a single critical article. Here are the titles While others are busy in ‘Power Struggle’, NaMo is busy providing ‘Power to Poor’ ! Narendra Modi’s miracle in Gujarat ! Picture comparison with Singapore ! Yes - Modi is the next person to Jesus Christ, we get it!

Nope' date=' its the other way around. People are ready to give Modi credit for everything and anything in Gujrat. Can you tell me what exactly are his amazing tactics which caused Gujrat prosperity? Can you enlighten me?[/quote'] Precisely MTC. It's not significant at all! But, people will never come up with data, only some opinions.

Phirse Seedhi. What you mention is just an opinion. The article authors argue with numbers. There is ZERO premise in the article. The article starts with "Lets us check out the numbers before concluding...". Also' date= the article concludes with data.This is supposed to be an unbiased article right? Bad leadership can completely ruin a state - example Bihar, West Bengal etc. In India there are very few leaders who have no corruption charges against them, have a mass base and have shown commitment to economic reforms with a proven track record. Just look at the power sector growth in Gujarat - there is power surplus - probably the only large state in the country to have a power surplus.
Really. This bit that they write is an argument with numbers? :

Precisely MTC. It's not significant at all! But' date=' people will never come up with data, only some opinions.[/quote'] And before you remove the cigar and say something, Surat Ahmedabad and Vadodara big cities were not having good status as far as electricity is concerned before 2002. Jyotigram was initiated by Modi and now Central gov wants to include it in 12th Five Year Plan. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Amid-gloom-Gujarat-sets-an-example/articleshow/15299794.cms AHMEDABAD: A power surplus state with near 24 hour electricity supply not just in cities like Ahmedabad and Vadodara but in all the 18,000 villages. Now, the Gujarat government plans to further sharply increase power generation from 13,500 MW now to 18,000 MW by the end of the current year. The Narendra Modi government was able to ensure almost 24 hour electricity supply, especially in villages, by implementing the Jyoti Gram project. Even the Government of India has accepted this as a flagship scheme for the 12th Five-Year plan (2012-17) for supplying round-the-clock, high-quality, three-phase power to all villages. Commissioned in 2006, Jyoti Gram provides for a separate electric feeder for domestic use and a limited agricultural supply of nearly eight hours a day, continuous and of constant voltage. A recently released Planning Commission document, "Faster, Sustainable and More Inclusive Growth : An Approach to the 12th Five Year Plan", says "the separation of agricultural feeders" in the country will enable villages to get "24 X 7 three-phased power for domestic uses, schools, hospitals and village industries". As for the farm pumpsets, which require more power, they can obtain "eight hours or more of quality power on a pre-announced schedule." The document underlines, "The programme of feeder separation has to be carried through across the country. Gujarat has achieved very good results by combining feeder separation with an extensive watershed programme for groundwater recharge. Punjab, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh have also moved forward in this direction. Feeder separation needs to be extended to all states, especially where groundwater is extensively used." The Gujarat government spent Rs 1,200 crore to implement Jyoti Gram by separating 12,000 agricultural feeders from domestic feeders. It brought down transmission and distribution losses from 35 per cent five years ago to 15-19 per cent this year. Already a power surplus state, Gujarat sold 5,105.43 million units (MUs) to other states last year earning a profit of Rs 1,888.53crore. Last year, the state had sold 5,105 million units to states like Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, Delhi and Maharashtra. This was approximately seven per cent of total power produced in the state 68,710 MUs. According to minister of state for power, Saurabh Patel the government sold power at Rs 8.51 per unit to Rajasthan, at Rs 7.70 per unit to Maharashtra and 9.52 per unit to Delhi. By selling these surplus power, the government was giving Rs 3,000 crore as subsidy to farmers. With new plants planned to come up, the situation would further improve. And, Gujarat is not just planning to have more imported coal and gas based power plants, but is also negotiating with the Government of India for a second ultra mega power plant (UMPP). There has been no looking back since 2004 when the state successfully unbundled the loss-making Gujarat Electricity Board (GEB) into smaller power utilities. Smaller set-ups improved efficiency - cutting T&D losses and better plant load factor - helping the firms to make profits Now put the Cigar back.

Really. This bit that they write is an argument with numbers? : This is supposed to be an unbiased article right? Bad leadership can completely ruin a state - example Bihar, West Bengal etc. In India there are very few leaders who have no corruption charges against them, have a mass base and have shown commitment to economic reforms with a proven track record. Just look at the power sector growth in Gujarat - there is power surplus - probably the only large state in the country to have a power surplus.
Seedhi honestly didn't expect this from you. How about highlighting the correct parts?
Instead it is being used to promote a fascist ideology as if the two, Hindutva and Modi, are a necessary condition for superior economic performance of the sort seen in Gujarat.
Here - seems much better now. Still not seeing any numbers from you - only conspiracy theories. And who's talking about bad leadership? Of course, it's important! BUT (and this is a big BUT) good leadership without economic reforms will give you Sifar. This is true for any system or a team. A good leader may punch above the weight than an average one but will still be a failure without good policies.