The Narendra Modi thread  

6 members have voted

Yes - both are impractical and I personally do not recommend either in entirety. The problem with any kind of disadvantaged schemes is people crying foul when they aren't at the receiving end of it. For example, you will see eons of cyber space wasted on Food Security schemes but very less (or no) discussion on tax subsidies to jewellery traders. This example highlights the typical mindset - apna kaam chalta toh bhaad mein jaaye junta. IMO, the only way a society progresses is to be "one" - the moment the demagoguery of "us" versus "them" takes the centre stage you know we are in regression.
Agreed. The problem is the "us" vs "them" mentality. No Indian looks at a news report saying an Indian broke the law and goes "All Indians are like that". No Hindu looks at a news report which reports something wrong another Hindu did and says "All Hindus are like this".. and so on and so forth. Generalizations are far too easy to make when people you are talking about are not your own.
Yes - both are impractical and I personally do not recommend either in entirety. The problem with any kind of disadvantaged schemes is people crying foul when they aren't at the receiving end of it. For example, you will see eons of cyber space wasted on Food Security schemes but very less (or no) discussion on tax subsidies to jewellery traders. This example highlights the typical mindset - apna kaam chalta toh bhaad mein jaaye junta. IMO, the only way a society progresses is to be "one" - the moment the demagoguery of "us" versus "them" takes the centre stage you know we are in regression.
Señor, if the govt planned to dole out $23 billion worth of material to jewelers annually, you would have made some sense. A tax subsidy for them, although unwarranted, isn't exactly a dole, its a smaller tax which most likely is temporary. I'll agree on the amount of nonsense that has been put forward though; for instance comparing programs like Medicare & Social Security to this bill by the seculars.

BTW Ayn Rand was a despicable human being who actually depended on govt handouts towards her later years despite her obsession against them. Make what you want of the fact that Dr Kalam was a big fan of Atlas Shrugged & its central character, John Galt. I know quite a few generous and patriotic folks who love that book, including a very senior batchmate who also left greener pastures and returned to the homeland and now collaborates with CERN while at a leading university. Reading her book doesn't make one a psychopath like her. There's the other book that was/is quite popular: Mein Kampf. This must mean upper class Indians are all antisemitic fascists*. *That does make sense with their support for Modi.

There's the other book that was/is quite popular: Mein Kampf. This must mean upper class Indians are all antisemitic fascists*.
Hitler is indeed quite popular with the Indian middle class. They personally might not be anti Semitic but the eagerness with which they flock to authoritarian figures and demagogues gifted in the skill of oratory is quite worrying. His conviction is seen as a virtue, and the fact that he presided over the gassing of millions is merely a footnote.
Hitler popular with the middle class?
Señor' date=' if the govt planned to dole out $23 billion worth of material to jewelers annually, you would have made some sense. A tax subsidy for them, although unwarranted, isn't exactly a dole,[b'] its a smaller tax which most likely is temporary. I'll agree on the amount of nonsense that has been put forward though; for instance comparing programs like Medicare & Social Security to this bill by the seculars.
It's not - it has gone on for 3 years in continuum IIRC (almost the same amount for food security). Now, I don't mean to say FSB is good - all I want is some consistency. It was not about the book but the "us" versus "them" mentality and the attempt to turn every bit of discourse to rubbish. JFTR - all sides are equally responsible for this.
Guevara's is more popular with his t-shirts and insignia and there's hardly any criticism of him in any form of media because of his commie roots. Sounds weird, considering he'd be a naxalite terrorist if he was an Indian, thus being India's number one security concern.

^lol.. Hitler is not popular because of what he did,its because of his leadership style.His books is recomended for leadrship skills.In many organizations they show his speeches as a example during trainings.

"For Congress, the youth are just voters but for us they are power. Our priority is to empower the youth to make India strong. This is our dream," he said.
:hatsoff:
It's not - it has gone on for 3 years in continuum IIRC (almost the same amount for food security). Now' date=' I don't mean to say FSB is good - all I want is some consistency. It was not about the book but the "us" versus "them" mentality and the attempt to turn every bit of discourse to rubbish. JFTR - all sides are equally responsible for this.[/quote'] I hope you also understand the difference in magnitude between the FSB & whatever tax benefit is provided to a certain industry. The latter can be revoked, the former is a white elephant and like reservations will continue to suck us dry. I'd beg to differ on the last bit as well since one particular side has played a primary role in governing the country for most of our independent history and deserves to be sent to cold storage for a decade or two.
Chief minister Omar Abdullah on Sunday accused People’s Democratic Party (PDP) patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed of secretly trying to forge an alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ahead of the 2014 general elections. “Hidden meetings of Mufti Mohammad Sayeed with the close associates of Lal Krishna Advani and his close contact with Narendra Modi has come to the fore, exposing the ideology of the PDP,” said Abdullah during his speech at south Kashmir’s Kellar area
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/politics-and-nation/secret-parleys-between-pdp-narendra-modi-omar-abdullah/articleshow/25954306.cms :hysterical:
I hope you also understand the difference in magnitude between the FSB & whatever tax benefit is provided to a certain industry. The latter can be revoked' date=' the former is a white elephant and like reservations will continue to suck us dry.[/quote'] And I hope you get my point that the tax benefit did not even receive 1% of the same criticism/discussion etc. that the FSB did. There are other such examples too and it reflects in our society. This is NOT ABOUT FSB or tax benefits - this is about mentality (which is a horizontal) and cuts through across various domains including but not limited to politics.
There is a myth that IT is for rich people only. Technological intervention can change the life of poor and more and more technology can be used to upgrade the life of poor people," Modi said. Modi, also the prime ministerial candidate for BJP, cited the example of his home state, saying computerisation of the PDS system is yielding better service to the poor people. He also mentioned about his 'Swagat' online programme in which any person from anywhere in Gujarat can complain to the chief minister regarding the grievances faced by them. "Prime Minister may be able to remove corruption or not, but you can do it," Modi told the young IT experts of TCS. He said the Gujarat check-post at the border with Maharashtra is earning Rs 400 crore more per year than the one in the neighbouring state despite the fact that same number of vehicles pass through both the check posts. "We have technological supervision of our check-posts and they do not have it. Government sitting in Gandhiangar, can monitor flow of vehicles and tax collected so the collection on our side is high. This is not done by any chief minister but has been made possible by young IT professionals,' Modi said. Developed in over 25.5 acres of land with a built-up area of 1.6 million square feet, the Garmia park is the latest addition to the company's global network of software development and delivery centres, he said. " This will go a long way in dispelling the myth that in Gujarat IT industries are not developed," Modi said.
http://articles.economictimes.indiatimes.com/2013-11-16/news/44138209_1_narendra-modi-gandhiangar-swagat
Guevara's is more popular with his t-shirts and insignia and there's hardly any criticism of him in any form of media because of his commie roots. Sounds weird' date=' considering he'd be a naxalite terrorist if he was an Indian, thus being India's number one security concern.[/quote'] People don't read Guevara's books last time I checked. They wear his tshirts without a lot of people even knowing who Anyways I posted before that the middle class does not share Hitler's anti semitism. It is the authoritarian style of leadership along with good public speaking which is admired. The middle class loves demagogues who speak with conviction, even if their speeches are comprised of hollow rhetoric
And I hope you get my point that the tax benefit did not even receive 1% of the same criticism/discussion etc. that the FSB did. There are other such examples too and it reflects in our society. This is NOT ABOUT FSB or tax benefits - this is about mentality (which is a horizontal) and cuts through across various domains including but not limited to politics.
They are job creators so deserve the benefits :dontmentionit: God forbid, the government gives the poor moochers money to buy food.

^ But Govt provides poor moochers depending on their religion :dontknow:

Bengaluru: From November 1, Muslim brides from families with annual income less than Rs 1.5 lakh can claim financial support of Rs 50,000 either in cash, gold or house hold articles from the state government. The project launched by the Department of Minority Welfare will give the bride a voice and set aside an initial sum of Rs 10 crore with the aim of supporting atleast 2,000 marriages by the end of this financial year. According to sources at the state directorate of minorities, the project was launched last Monday without any fanfare. In a bold move, the state insists that marriages will only be supported if the bride is over 18 years of age and the groom, 21.
http://www.deccanchronicle.com/131027/news-current-affairs/article/karnataka-give-funding-poor-muslim-brides