Sidhoni Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 Source Cape Town - Celebrated commentator Robin Jackman, 67, is to undergo seven weeks of daily radiotherapy following two operations to remove malignant tumours from his vocal cord. This treatment will be followed by four weeks rest as his voice recovers and he expects to be back on the air in the New Year. ŪtÃÔ not the prettiest, but I got it early and IÃÎ confident IÃÃl be fine, said the indefatigable Jackman. Ū wonÃÕ be in Australia, but I sure will be rooting for the Proteas. Meanwhile, former Australian international Tom Moody will join SuperSport's HD Ackerman, Mpumelelo Mbangwa, Mike Haysman and Kepler Wessels in the commentary booth for the duration of the Proteas stay Down Under. The Proteas start the first of their three Tests against Australia on Friday morning (02:00 SA time). :sad: Another cricketer going through this horrible disease!
Forever Indian Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 What's with so many cricketers getting cancer? :nervous:
Sean Bradley Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 Man this is getting scary now, hard training regimes and constant travel to different countries, different food, different water, different weather, is taking a serious toll on their bodies i am guessing. Is cricket the only sport which demands so much of travel constantly and constant compeitions at highest level?? Football, umm stationery, since a player doesnt need to travel to different counties once he signs up with a club or league. Formula 1 i beleive comes closest to cricket in terms of travelling but its not as gruelling as cricket since they end the affair in 2 days through qualifiers and the race day.
Forever Indian Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 Vocal cord cancer may be due to excessive smoking. Don't know if Robin is/was a chain smoker. Can't blame this cancer to travel, rather to habits.
Sidhoni Posted November 6, 2012 Author Posted November 6, 2012 Man this is getting scary now, hard training regimes and constant travel to different countries, different food, different water, different weather, is taking a serious toll on their bodies i am guessing. Is cricket the only sport which demands so much of travel constantly and constant compeitions at highest level?? Football, umm stationery, since a player doesnt need to travel to different counties once he signs up with a club or league. Formula 1 i beleive comes closest to cricket in terms of travelling but its not as gruelling as cricket since they end the affair in 2 days through qualifiers and the race day. But even footballers constantly travel for away matches. And at times diff countries for away matches in UCL. Add to that international duty. This might be just a coincidence between cricket and cancer. Or maybe cancer has something to do with cricketer's lifestyle. We can only assume, we do not know the exact reason.
namasteji1 Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 Formula 1 is one of the most gruelling sports as a racer loses few kilos after every race and does more than 50 neck exercises.
SLICKR392 Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 ^ They lose a heavy amount of sweat in few KM. And they don't stay more than a week or 2 in a country.
Forever Indian Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 But even footballers constantly travel for away matches. And at times diff countries for away matches in UCL. Add to that international duty. This might be just a coincidence between cricket and cancer. Or maybe cancer has something to do with cricketer's lifestyle. We can only assume, we do not know the exact reason. Both Tony and Robin must be cos of excessive smoking. Both these types of cancer are mainly due to smoking although could be due to other reasons. In those days smoking was allowed even in the ground and there were no filters in cigarettes, so there is a higher incidence of developing cancer in the lungs or vocal chords.
Sean Bradley Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 But even footballers constantly travel for away matches. And at times diff countries for away matches in UCL. Add to that international duty. This might be just a coincidence between cricket and cancer. Or maybe cancer has something to do with cricketer's lifestyle. We can only assume, we do not know the exact reason. not to the extent of cricket, cricket demands constant travel more than any other sport according to me, nothing compared to cricket.
namasteji1 Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 But it doesn't mean that everyone will get cancer. I think it could be because of supplements that they are taking or were taking.
Sean Bradley Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 ^^ I am not saying that it will invite cancer to everyone, but some bodies are a sure shot susceptible's.
Crookbond Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 Man this is getting scary now' date=' hard training regimes and constant travel to different countries, different food, different water, different weather, is taking a serious toll on their bodies [b']i am guessing. Is cricket the only sport which demands so much of travel constantly and constant compeitions at highest level?? Football, umm stationery, since a player doesnt need to travel to different counties once he signs up with a club or league. Formula 1 i beleive comes closest to cricket in terms of travelling but its not as gruelling as cricket since they end the affair in 2 days through qualifiers and the race day. That is all that we can do.
Sidhoni Posted November 6, 2012 Author Posted November 6, 2012 That is all that we can do. True. We aren't cancer specialists.
Tendulkar_Bhai Posted November 6, 2012 Posted November 6, 2012 Think about it yaar, its not just cricketers who get cancer but 1 in 5 people some time in their life will get some form of cancer, it happens in ALL sports im just surprised we dont see more cases. Maybe stress in general speeds it up but its certainly not just due to lack of fitness/excercise. Top of my head Lance Armstrong, Navratilova, Arnold Parmer, John Harston, Paul Merson (UK football players lol)