What are India's spinning options after Bhajji, Ashwin and Ojha?

mastana

What are India's spinning options after Bhajji, Ashwin and Ojha? Ojha is good but Ashwin and Bhajji? Can't rely on them. Ashwin is useless outside subcontinent. :((

Bhajji is a no go except for ODI/T20 tightness-but here Ashwin excels him too. For tests, Ojha is number one but problem is it lengthens our tail. I would try Bhargav Bhatt, Chawla, Rahul Sharma. Too early to write off Ashwin, he is a quick learner and I do back him to come back strong. But the msg must be clear, tried and tested failures should never come back unless they prove themselves. Bhajji must not play again unless he shows ridiculously strong domestic form. I would rather try a rookie instead.

Bhai kaunsa chawla? Golgappa Piyush Chawla? :blink:
What are India's spinning options after Bhajji, Ashwin and Ojha? Ojha is good but Ashwin and Bhajji? Can't rely on them. Ashwin is useless outside subcontinent. :((
Options are Harmeet Singh, Shahbaz Nadeem, Akshay Darekar and Iqbal Abdullah. All are SLAs. No off-spinner in the horizon, so Ashwin's spot is fixed. Golgappa Chawla and Amit Mishra are your leggies. Rahul Sharma does zilch in the 4/5 day format.
:facepalm: Yeh toh Official Panauti hai bhai.
Bhai kaunsa chawla? Golgappa Piyush Chawla? :blink:
I remember his poor early test match v England. But he does have the ingredients to bowl well in test cricket. What I am saying is the time has come to give chances to players who are not given a run.
Harmeet singh is crap. Mishra is a fat waste of space who bowls no bowls and slow through the air. Easy to play. Shame because he can bat as well. Apart from 5 for v Aus he has been poor.

Ashwin is only 26 and this is his first big test series at home. He has only played 8 tests before this and he earlier only played against West Indies and New Zealand at home. Sometimes, there is pressure on bowlers to take wickets in a low scoring game. So he could have off days and sometimes the batsmen play really well and one has to accept that. I think he will learn from this and become better.

I think lack of quality replacements for Kumble and Bhaji of 2001-2004 is a real worry for Ind. I was a huge Kumble fan and to me that man was cornerstone of your near perfect home record in last 20 years. Cracks have been appearing in last coupe of years. It was class of VVS or India would have lost couple of series at home since Kumble retired.

Ojha has really been good ever since he's come back to the side. Ashwin has been on and off. Hes the quickest spinner to 50 wickets, so he cant be that bad? Harbhajan is done imo. Others, I think lot of SLA are coming through. Mishy, Piyush and Rahul Sharma should stay far away from test team though.

He is mentioned in Post # 4. :winky:
ah :D we have some good left arm spinners coming up but we need proper leg spinner still lets see how these guys do tomorrow and in coming games will still give ashwin and ojha few more chances but bhajji should stay on 99 ...forever!
I think lack of quality replacements for Kumble and Bhaji of 2001-2004 is a real worry for Ind. I was a huge Kumble fan and to me that man was cornerstone of your near perfect home record in last 20 years. Cracks have been appearing in last coupe of years. It was class of VVS or India would have lost couple of series at home since Kumble retired.
Good post but i also think Sehwag and Sachin played their part (for a spell Gambhir did too).

This is jumping the gun ,Ashwin and ojha are good spinners they had a bad test but you have ti keep in mind that this pitch is not there type,Its for darters and these are bowlers who flight the ball rather than dart.We got to stick to them.