Forget about an Army trained guy, just a normal security guard is enough for most of these luccha lafangas. Tell me how many times have you seen bottom pinching or things like that in a store in Connaught Place which has guards - just the presence is a deterrent. Is it going to stop all rape and harassment against women? Obviously not, but it's a decent first step towards the solution, IMO.
Next time you visit Delhi/Gurgaon ,please see the condition of some Guards.Once I saw an old man 5 feet tall in security guard dress in a mall and I told my brother do you think any situation this guard will be useful. BTW here is my conversation with security Guard s which used to sit in my neighbourhood kothi Guard --salute Me kahan ke rahane waale ho guard -- Bihar Me-- kal yahan kuchch hungama ho raha thaa guard-- main duty pe nahi thaa Me-- Problem kya hai koyi jhagra hai Guard-- haan Ek NRI lady hai aur yahan kaa local aadmi , dono mein is ghar ko lekar jhagra hai local aadmi is pe kabza karna chahta hai Me-- agli baar aayengi to kya karog guard---main bhaag jaaonga aur colony Guards ko khabar karoonga :hysterical: me-- kyon , tumhe training nahi milti guard -usme bhi yehi sikhaate hain ki pahale apni jaan bachao hum kahan se larenge hamare paas kkya hathiyar hai :hysterical: I was seeing fear in his eyes , basically that type of guard is just common man with a dress who may shout or inform the authorities but could hardly protect
^ Yaar to tum 6'2'' tall, Jatt Sikh boyzzzz aa jao security guard banne! Instead of chewing at the crux of the argument, keep driveling!
:facepalm: Who told you I am Jatt sikh ? :hysterical:
It was generic comment to exemplify the fact that the height, build, and race of a person does not matter while working as a security guard in a bus as long as he undergoes some basic training. Hope you get the argument now?
Well if cutting out MC / BC from lingo is the best solution we can come up with followed by Sushil Kumar's insightful analysis' date=' we are in trouble[/quote'] +1 lets not trivalize the real issues (even though reducing MC/BC defnitely has benefit)
It was generic comment to exemplify the fact that the height, build, and race of a person does not matter while working as a security guard in a bus as long as he undergoes some basic training. Hope you get the argument now?
Nowhere I said race of a person does matter.Height build of course that is why Police and army give preference to tall people and short people are not even allowed to join .And yes training does matter but problem is company don't provide it.The above conversation was not the only which I have with guards I had several "ek ne 15 minute poore sanskrit ke shlok sunaa daale" par training kaa naam nahi liya. And the salary these guards get is 8000 for 12 hours ,many guards are doing doing double duty for 16000 and in all that they don't get even a shed .All they do is sleep on floors wth no bathroom .Company charge rs. 24000 from customers.Well trained gurads are going to cost more If the rule of guard is implemented then most bus operator will do is find the cheapest lad make him wear uniform and sit in bus while rasing the ticket price by 50-70% .This is the way businesses are done in India.Intellectuals suggest a rule , govt implement , businessmen half heartidly implement it and common man end up paying for it.Govt happy, Businessmen happy only the aam aadmi become more looser

I am sure whatever I suggest has been thought of, recommended and beaten to death many times but it is still worth taking each and any step that can reduce the risk. Its hardly prodcutive to dismiss every action plan just because it will not solve the problem completely. There has to be a dose of realism that when you have complex infrastructure problems, cultural aspects, corruption, lack of resources etc etc the risk of such incidents remains but we need to see decline in these. Despite best efforts psychopaths, specially those who have nothing to lose even if you imprison them for life, will commit evil things- shocking tragic incidents happen everywhere but society takes comfort from the fact that these are exceptions rather than expected out come if one dare breaks the strictest of safety rules (not going out, not boarding a bus etc etc) At the least lessons learned from an incident in any city should be integrated and implemented ASAP e.g. from this incident itself: Prevention - The article that some one wrote on increasing visibility to license plates, registration for the vehicles ( tags are hardly visible on big buses) makes a lot of sense to me. - Educating ppl to ensure that someone is informed on the vehicle no.s etc when travelling (specially women) & making sure that the driver knows that fact is important. As I reflect back I only can admire the wisdom my dad showed when he enforced this rule in our family. It seemed so unneccessary and annoying at the time but I guess he knew Delhi better than us. Look you cannot change the mentality of the strangers that you are depending upon but the fact that they know they can be tracked can serve as a deterrent ( not saying in this case which was alcohol influenced) - Background checks for hiring: A guy nicknamed "mental" because of his temper & having criminal history was driving schoolkids around!!! That itself is a huge risk - Messaging and public education targeted at men- I am not talking about nice philosophical messages on asking them to be nice but rather hard messages on punishments for any harassment & crime - Better regulation of private transport and controls around who has access to such vehicles: As frustrating as might be for commuters to wait for transportation stricter rules are needed on who can or cannot operate & there should be clear transparency that a vehicle is "off-duty" so absolutely should not be boarded. How was a driver able to use a vehicle owned by someone else for the "joyride"? The owners need to be accountable for taking the keys back. - No tinted glasses: I remmeber this used to be rule in Delhi- why was this changed?? Enforcement All of the above is useless without enforcement- like i said earlier idiots will still try to do something wrong; by making sure that examples are set through prosecution when caught you can only hope that atleast some criminals are eliminated from committing these crimes Besides the criminals, cops siding with these criminals/neglecting their duties need to be held accountable too otherwise the menace only gets punished when there is a public outcry. These are just some small practical suggestions that I can think of post this particular incident- of course the bigger picture of gender bias, chauvinistic attitude, lack of resources etc is very complex and needs a lot more

The rule is still the same but is a classic example on failure of law enforcement. Remove tinted glasses on vehicles or face action: SC warns police
On July 22, the Supreme court had expressed its dissatisfaction over tardy implementation of its directions banning the use of tinted films on car windows, beyond a permissible limit, in Delhi. The bench had said that the roads of the national capital still had numerous cars with heavily tinted windows and windscreens and that the users or owners of such vehicles, often involved in accidents, go scot-free. The court had also noted that most of these vehicles were being used by VIPs enjoying Z-category security. The bench had observed that the VIPs, who were permitted to use tinted film on their vehicles but only as per due procedure, were exploiting the relaxation granted to them.
http://www.indianexpress.com/news/remove-tinted-glasses-on-vehicles-or-face-action-sc-warns-police/983268
Bhaisaab aap din dihade peene lage ho ?
:cantstop: Lurker aapko Desi ki aadat lag gayi kya..... peeney ki! :cheers:
Having a security guard on each bus can get rid of a lot of the problem - not talking about the extreme and bizarre case in Delhi' date=' but from the general perspective of reducing harassment and eve teasing, and just giving the public a general sense of comfort.[/quote'] Reminds me of in-flight security guards, of Israeli airlines. Same logic, but really works.

Another change that needs to happen is for clearly distinguishing having conersvative opinions and following them yourselves/with family vs. justifying a criminal act or acts of violence that contradict this conservative view that make these criminals feel like they are not doing anything wrong I am sure if in this incident the girl and her friend were coming back from a pub or bar there already would have been comments that the girl was bringing it upon herself. Even now I expect some stupid minister will come out with things like "such small incidents end up happening in big cities". Public messaging should be very clear that debate forums are the right way to express your conservative or cultural opinions but the mentality that it is ok to mistreat someone (even harassment) because you think she is a "loose" girl is a punishable crime The problem remains that when the majority of cops themselves feel that rape is invited or does not truly exist etc how will this be possible

encourage families to engage in female foeticide so future generations of indian women are spared the trouble of having to live their lives in fear of being raped. no women, no problem. the ones that currently exist can live under quarantine in their own homes. they can be let out once a month to get a breath of fresh air, but only for 1 hour, and only in areas that are under surveillance and designated as 'rape free' zones. another alternative is to send all these women to other countries. this will also address the population problem, and you would be killing (or raping? lol) two birds with one iron rod.

And then all men will turn gay coz there are no women left in the country. Men will start raping men... :nervous:... but you like it in the behind, don't you!
How about making Prostitution legal in some states...regulate it...might also help with Aids prevention,etc Atleast it might reduce a lot of sxually opressed despos
Wrong, according to profile study, most r@p!sts are people who already have/had multiple partners. They are also mostly married and have regular sex at home. BTW, prostitutes are still easily available in most parts of India if you are really sex starved. So no, r@p!sts are not sex starved teenagers or virgins as you seem to imagine http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mumbai/Rapists-not-mentally-ill-but-criminals-who-feel-they-can-get-away-experts-feel/articleshow/17683632.cms
"It is important to make a point that rape is an act of violence, intentional and the intention is to humiliate, hurt, put down or get back or teach a lesson to a girl/woman.'' (Note-So rape is more about violence and less about sex) Profile of rapists from various scientific studies in South Africa and North America: 1. Exposure to trauma and violence in childhood 2. Patriarchy and popular ideas about masculinity give men an expectation of power both over women and within a broader social context (Note-A means to show power over women) 3. Men from relatively wealthier backgrounds as well as those with a higher social status, were more likely to rape (Note- So not the usual excuse of poor migrants here) 4. Rape was linked to men having more sexual partners, being physically violent towards partners and having transactional sex (paying for sex). This is rooted in men viewing women as sexual objects
So contrary to what you say, paying for sex increases a chance of a man just looking at women as objects and then assaulting another woman