Cricketics Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 A brilliant career for him. I think probably the most respected among the big guys of India. Well done Sir.
Lurker Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Ratan Tata grew up on me. Initially I had my reservations, thinking of him as a blue eyed boy who probably got where he was due to his last name and his proximity to JRD. That coupled with his initial fiascos made me a bit of critic of him but the way he handled Tata Sons, revived TISCO and also ventured out in an open economy was fantastic. Inspite of all quality criticism, he did manage to make the first Indian car in true sense, and thus far they have competed pretty well. Hope he gets to stay in Mainstream Indian decison making in some capacity.
ToughCookie Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 The poster boy of Indian corporate world, while Ambanis are seen as selfish, Tatas are seen as giving back something to the society.. but my grievance against Tatas is this..why he didn't name the Minister who asked for a bribe when he wanted to start an Airlines, and why no investigation was done to find who bribed Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda for the mining scam..it is well known that Tatas have leased many mines in Jharkhand, so if Koda was bribed then who was the beneficiary?? The finger points to Tatas but everyone including the media was silent on that.
ToughCookie Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 And also the Singur land deal, where he got land at cheap price from the West Bengal govt..doesnt show Tatas in a good light. Also he got land at very cheap rate from NaMo for his Nano..but is it the govts right to give public resources to corporates at cheap prices? Particularly if it does not generate enough employment in the region??
Lurker Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 The poster boy of Indian corporate world' date= while Ambanis are seen as selfish, Tatas are seen as giving back something to the society.. but my grievance against Tatas is this..why he didn't name the Minister who asked for a bribe when he wanted to start an Airlines, and why no investigation was done to find who bribed Jharkhand CM Madhu Koda for the mining scam..it is well known that Tatas have leased many mines in Jharkhand, so if Koda was bribed then who was the beneficiary?? The finger points to Tatas but everyone including the media was silent on that. Ambanis are seen as selfish because the Grandaddy of them all Dhirubhai was famous for encouraging corruption so long as it made money for the shareholders. In many ways he was the modern day Wall Street in India. You can not compare Ambanis with Tatas. For example, Tatas have built many a landmark. A quick example Hotel Taj in Bombay. Remind me what Ambanis have built again?
ToughCookie Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Ambanis are seen as selfish because the Grandaddy of them all Dhirubhai was famous for encouraging corruption so long as it made money for the shareholders. In many ways he was the modern day Wall Street in India. You can not compare Ambanis with Tatas. For example, Tatas have built many a landmark. A quick example Hotel Taj in Bombay. Remind me what Ambanis have built again? I wasn't being sarcastic..Ambanis havent given back a lot to the country, if anything they have used their connections to make more profits. Tatas have done much more for the community and involved in philanthropy..but Tatas are not so spot clean..and the reasons I mentioned in the above posts.
surajmal Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Dhirubhai was a product of his times. For him to rise to the ranks that he did in a hard core socialist India is a remarkable feat. He was corrupt (which was/is a requirement in India) but as far as being self made goes, his career is unparalleled in modern Indian history. Rata Tata took over a 120 year old empire... Big whoop. Edit: But for India as a whole TATA>>>>>>>>>Ambanis no doubt.
Lurker Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 I wasn't being sarcastic..Ambanis havent given back a lot to the country' date=' if anything they have used their connections to make more profits. Tatas have done much more for the community and involved in philanthropy..but Tatas are not so spot clean..and the reasons I mentioned in the above posts.[/quote'] Yep there have been a few instances, specially recently, where the integrity of Tata have been questioned, and rightly so. All things considered I think TATAs are the best entreprenuer group we have had. They have made money, built Indian industry at home and quite capable to match with the best in the world.
punjabi_khota Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Bhai jis desh mein gas/bijli connection lene ke liye rishwat deni padti hai, vahaan coal mines bina rishwat ke kaise milenge. Dhirubhai Ambani of course was the greatest desi enterpreneur of independent India, but Ratan uncle did a great job too. TATA has had a better PR machine, and goodwill, but no one would so foolish to believe that they never did anything under the table.
Anonymous Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Tatas might not be spotless clean, but still light years ahead of any industrial conglomerates in philanthropy and patriotism. Having studied at a university in the UK that serves as an R&D center for Tata motors, I can tell you first hand that the respect for Ratan Tata is immense, especially after the turnaround of JLR the image of Indian conglomerates has got an amazing positive spin across the spectrum.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Tata HAs the goodwill Prestige and reputation Ambanis wont get in 10 births.Tata is a global brand Ambani isnt.
1983-2011 Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 How much is he worth and what will happen to his wealth when he dies as he has no partner or any offspring?
ganeshran Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Ambani was a first generation entrepreneur, a virtual nobody in those times. During license raj there was no other way to do business other than by giving suitcases of cash to politicians and bureaucrats. Tatas on the other hand had a lot of influence which helped them in their dealings with the government. Though its almost certain that they also would have had to pay off politicians, government servants couldnt demand bribes with impunity given their family history, as they would have done with Dhirubhai
ToughCookie Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Government servants dont demand bribes from these biggies.. they are the ones who fund the major parties, they deal with the leadership not with government servants.. It is a myth that the govt represents public who vote them, govt actually represent the corporates who fund them...whether Tata, Birla or Ambanis.
ganeshran Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Government servants dont demand bribes from these biggies.. they are the ones who fund the major parties' date=' they deal with the leadership not with government servants.. It is a myth that the govt represents public who vote them, govt actually represent the corporates who fund them...whether Tata, Birla or Ambanis.[/quote'] Dhirubhai was not a biggie back in the late 60s and early 70s. He was just another mid level businessman trying to make it big and would have had to pay the government servants as well as politicians. Tatas had the luxury of dealing with upper rungs of the party, not Ambanis.
ToughCookie Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Oh OK. Didn't get your earlier post. Agreed.
Lurker Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 I would be interested in hearing from folks who have worked in a TATA, or any other leading group, of India and how has their experience been typically. My guess is those who have worked at TATA are generally very appreciative of their employer. Generally speaking TATA has done an extremely good balancing act between providing benefits and services to their own employees and making money at the same time. Many of the other leading conglomerate have focussed more on making money and less on welfare of their own people, just my personal impression of course. Would be interesting to hear from those who may have actually worked for one of these companies.
ToughCookie Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Work experience with Tata varies according to the sector. The experience in TCS will be very different from Tata Motors or Tata Steel. The benefits and job security varies with how stable and profitable that sector is.
Lurker Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 Work experience with Tata varies according to the sector. The experience in TCS will be very different from Tata Motors or Tata Steel. The benefits and job security varies with how stable and profitable that sector is. And yet the core philosphies would remain the same. For example, I can not say I have heard a lot of goodwill from Reliance workers. Reliance shareholders yes but not the employees. But I have heard goodwill galore from employees of TISCO, TCS, Tata tea you name it. Heck tomorrow if you asked people, workers and Indian citizens, if Air India should be given back to TATA, most people would agree to it. Doubt any other company enjoys that goodwill, again both from employee and people at large.
Swing_n_Speed Posted December 28, 2012 Posted December 28, 2012 And also the Singur land deal' date=' where he got land at cheap price from the West Bengal govt..doesnt show Tatas in a good light. Also he got land at very cheap rate from NaMo for his Nano..but is it the govts right to give public resources to corporates at cheap prices? Particularly if it does not generate enough employment in the region??[/quote'] Don't forget about Nira Radia. Apparently Ratan Tata had her on a retainer fee.