"In a bizarre move, the Rajasthan Government has decided to bestow State Government’s sports awards only to those sportspersons who have no link with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) or the Jamaat-e-Islami Hind. According to reports, weightlifter Vishal Singh received a State sport award of Rs 2 lakh from the Ashok Gehlot Government only after he signed an undertaking which said that he had ‘nothing to do with the RSS or Jamaat-e-Islami’. “They made me sign an affidavit that said that I didn’t have any connections with the RSS or Jamaat-e-Islami. They said that if I didn’t, I wouldn’t get the money,†wrestler Vishal Singh said. Meanwhile, condemning the incident, the RSS has accused the Congress Government of political vendetta. “We strongly condemn this vindictive attitude of the Rajasthan Government and the Congress. The Congress should not bring its politics and personal vendetta in the field of sports,†the RSS said. “RSS is not a terrorist organisation, but is devoted to the service of the nation. Had the affidavit been restricted to communal organisation, it would have been ok, but associating it with RSS is a wrong move which will not be digested. We demand immediate withdrawal of it,†Kailash Nath Bhatt, BJP spokesman for state, said. The Rajasthan State Sports Council and the sports department are blaming each other over the issue. The RSSC claims that it has followed long standing orders from the sports department since 1986, while sports department maintains that it is the RSSC which decides the norms. “The norms are continuing since 1986 and we are towing with it. We have not introduced it,†state sports minister Mangilal Garasia said. Countering this, former sports minister Younis Khan said the order was withdrawn by the BJP Government during his tenure. PCC chief Chandrabhan said, “Players should be judged on sports merit aloneâ€. Another leader of BJP, Satish Poonia, said it was wrong to create a divide among sportsmen on the basis of religion. “We would not tolerate it. It is against the constitutional rights. The government is trying to divide the sportsmen which is not fair,†he said. The RSSC distributed more than Rs 2 crore to sportspersons who had achieved success in various sports at national as well as international level. Athlete Ghamanda Ram was the recipient of the biggest amount of Rs 3.5 lakh." http://www.niticentral.com/2013/04/13/rajasthan-government-makes-sportsmen-sign-no-links-with-rss-affidavit-65327.html :hatsoff: