Delhi Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport has been named the world’s second best airport

Delhi has the best infrastructure in India. This should not be even a topic of discussion, it's so blatantly obvious. Not that the competition is tough, but places like Bangalore, Calcutta, Bombay, Madras are so crappy from an infrastructure point of view that it doesn't take much to beat them by quite a distance.

Delhi has the best infrastructure in India. This should not be even a topic of discussion' date= it's so blatantly obvious. Not that the competition is tough, but places like Bangalore, Calcutta, Bombay, Madras are so crappy from an infrastructure point of view that it doesn't take much to beat them by quite a distance.
Anyone who disagrees with that part is purely blind. The topic of discussion was "pollution in Delhi" and not "infrastructure".
And yes - Mumbai trains are sh!t if that makes you want to jack off to that but in that same standard Delhi autos/taxis are sh!t. Please FFS stop turning this into a South vs North argument - it is NOT.
LOL! What? Bambai mein Mercedes chalti hain kya taxis mein? . :hysterical:
Delhi has the best infrastructure in India. This should not be even a topic of discussion' date=' it's so blatantly obvious. Not that the competition is tough, but places like Bangalore, Calcutta, Bombay, Madras are so crappy from an infrastructure point of view that it doesn't take much to beat them by quite a distance.[/quote'] Exactly what I was alluding to. Delhi has good infrastructure compared to the other Indian cities but than again, their overall quality is so poor that it doesn't take much to beat them anyway.
LOL! What? Bambai mein Mercedes chalti hain kya taxis mein? . :hysterical:
Meter se toh chalte hai? There are many auto/taxi options if you want to go out. You don't have to deal with goons as well. That makes it better. Similarly, the bus conductors/drivers are well behaved unlike the typical jatt buddhis here. Finding a taxi in Delhi is like finding a batsman in Pakistan - you don't agree, come and live here & we shall see.
Meter se toh chalte hai? There are many auto/taxi options if you want to go out. You don't have to deal with goons as well. That makes it better. Similarly' date=' the bus conductors/drivers are well behaved unlike the typical jatt buddhis here. Finding a taxi in Delhi is like finding a batsman in Pakistan - you don't agree, come and live here & we shall see.[/quote'] Don't know what zamaana you are talking about. Cabs were a problem in Delhi ages back but with the advent of private operators its not an issue anymore. Also autos have always been abundant and generally go by the meter.
Don't know what zamaana you are talking about. Cabs were a problem in Delhi ages back but with the advent of private operators its not an issue anymore. Also autos have always been abundant and generally go by the meter.
I am talking about this zamaana not the zamaana you used to stay/visit in Delhi. We are talking about public transport and not private cabs - you can find plenty of those in Bangalore and other cities too. In terms of government cabs/autos/buses, haven't seen another place like Mumbai. The trains are over crowded and sh!t. And NO, autos do not generally go by meter - I travel almost every 3rd day and live in Delhi so I am in a better position to judge. Just yesterday itself I boarded an auto in Delhi (Nehru Place FFS) and he wasn't ready to go via meter. The same problem in Bangalore as well; the auto walas are goons.

How can other cities compete with showcase city delhi when it gets lions share of central funding in all the infrastructure projects? It is not a fair comparison.

I am talking about this zamaana not the zamaana you used to stay/visit in Delhi. We are talking about public transport and not private cabs - you can find plenty of those in Bangalore and other cities too. In terms of government cabs/autos/buses' date=' haven't seen another place like Mumbai. The trains are over crowded and sh!t. And NO, autos do not generally go by meter - I travel almost every 3rd day and live in Delhi so I am in a better position to judge. Just yesterday itself I boarded an auto in Delhi (Nehru Place FFS) and he wasn't ready to go via meter. The same problem in Bangalore as well; the auto walas are goons.[/quote'] Hain? How does it matter from the customer's point of view whether the cab is sarkaari or private? On unusual routes, yeah they won't go by meter but on regular routes 90% of the time they go by meter. Not as good as Bombay where they would go by meter 99% of the time, but not bad in general. PS: I visit Delhi at least once a year, so am well versed with the latest zamaana.
Hain? How does it matter from the customer's point of view whether the cab is sarkaari or private? On unusual routes, yeah they won't go by meter but on regular routes 90% of the time they go by meter. Not as good as Bombay where they would go by meter 99% of the time, but not bad in general. PS: I visit Delhi at least once a year, so am well versed with the latest zamaana.
It matters because you can't just "hop on" to a private cab, you need to book via phone wait for it to arrive and there's some pre-booking time. In a public cab, you see them plying around - you hop on and get to your destination - ZERO fuss. What unusual routes are you talking about? A route from Nehru Place to Connaught Place is not unusual route. I am taking all those factors into account including a big city etc. etc. Just in case, I live 365 days a year and so I am in better judge of the public transport in Delhi than you - I hope you give that to me at least. That said, the DMRC is categorically *THE BEST* train system in India. PS - Next time you visit Delhi give me a buzz though I may visit NJ before you. :good:
:hysterical: how much ghoos did sheila give to whoever gave this 2nd best ranking? :hehe:
the airport is actually very good. May not be 2nd best in the world but its certainly among the top 5.
Something's not right here. They spend 2.6 billion dollars for a single terminal and they couldn't get the drainage right?
Given their reputation for embezzling funds, I am not surprised.