The Abrahamic religions in particular are very self-contradictory. The Bible says everyone is made in God's image but if a person is a homo-sexual, all of a sudden, they are outcasts and sinners and what not. Polygamy, a concept that blatantly degrades women, is permitted by Islam. The story of Noah's ark just paints God as being a murderous egomaniac. Lots of other details and teachings in the Holy books that simply contradict each other. The fact that religion is a cause of violence among people even today, and the fact that religious clerics are amongst biggest hypocrites/frauds in the world is what initially turned me against the concept of religion and still does. Personally, I don't have a problem with people practicing religion. If it gives them a sense of fulfillment, then by all means, go ahead. As I've said, to each his own. What I absolutely hate is when some douchebag comes and tells me that I will go to hell because I don't believe in so-and-so things and God will do so-and-so to me for being a non-believer. Umm....ok....whatever....thanks but no thanks....now kindly :finger:.....
bhai lets not even get into Abrahamics. Their idea of God i know very well. We all do, if we opened our eyes. Its a 6 year old smart kid who thinks he is king daddy of the world and will do anything to get what he wants- including getting other adults in trouble if he/she can. Most of us have either come across these kids- either as our own or of friends & family. That is your Jehovah, Allah, right there. Egomaniac, temperamental, contradictory, prone to hissy fits, lavish rewards & threats. But you gotto understand their problem. Their BS is the most basic kind of BS. A permanent God who has no beginning but is all powerful right from the start. That is infinite complexity in literally no time. Why such a huge logic fail ? Well you gotto understand that their religion is very harsh on questions. You are supposed to follow, not ask questions or criticize. Cannot say ' i disagree with the bible/koran because of XYZ reasons'. Carries penalties such as burning at the stakes, beheadings, stonings, etc. So they are fecked. Most basic BS propagated by classic fearmongering & phobias of 'dont ask questions, just follow' mentality. Unsophisticated BS like Judeo-Christianity & Islam require this sort of social mentality to prevail, really. They cannot stand up to scrutiny. But those who made their religions werent stupid- they knew their BS is flimsier than yesterday's noodles so therefore came up with the most obvious way of propagating their BS: dont ask questions or massive consequences follow.